We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nomads is a nice hostel in a really good location in the city. The dorms are really clean and secure. Only negatives were the wifi (have to pay and still not good quality) and the kitchen is tiny. You do get a free dinner in the bar next door which is decent and has good drinks promos.

Helpful?
Thank Tiernan D
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness and its awesome to it appreciated. Our kitchen is a tad small... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the outset, this hostel was not worth the money or the hassle of staying there. There is no free wifi (unlike Wellington YHA that has amazing wifi), the kitchen is incredibly small (I mean tiny), and even after asking the front desk I couldn't get the sink and shower cleaned in my room (the girls who were in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMurdoch13
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. It is disappointing to see that you did not enjoy your stay. We would the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you would like to email us at info@nomadscapital.com. Saoirse, General Manager More 

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Meaux, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was really unhelpful the room was not cleaned for at least one week, piles of garbage were in the floor the smell made it impossible to rest. The window had to be open and the fan on so it made the air breathable, making the room crazy cold. The beds where crazy uncomfortable with broken springs in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoanaFVAlves
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Joana, cheers for the review, we are very glad to be given the opportunity to respond. I am very confused as you stayed with us for 2 nights but state that the room had not been cleaned in 1 week. After your complaint to reception that the 10 bed dorm was too full , we spoke to the other... More 

Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The good: location The bad: I booked in to a dorm and barely slept the 2 nights I was there. There is a bar next door or underneath the rooms that thumps music until 4 am. It was obnoxiously disruptive. The staff at checkin seemed very impatient and appeared visibly annoyed with every question. The kitchen is far to small... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryanoetting
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We ares sorry to hear that the bar kept you awake. We do have free ear plugs available at reception, and the bar will lower the volume if requested to do... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a 10 bed room for one night (should've been 2 but my plans changed). The room itself was really spacious and clean and the shared facilities were also really well looked after. Cleanliness and the ability to sleep is all I look for when I'm staying somewhere and Nomads definitely had both of those! It was a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slt1234
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are super stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you back in the near future. Saoirse, General Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleased with the location in the city centre. Room ok, thought en suite bathroom was good for the price. Then was disappointed to find crumbs and hairs on our beds. Issues with electricity in the room, reception helpful and new the problem and gave me a solution to fix it. Advertised as offering free pancakes between 7-9am. Pancake mix and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLJ87
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. We are indeed very lucky to be as centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer as we are. It is disappointing to hear that your room was unclean this is normally not a complaint we have. I can see that you were in a dorm, it appears... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I can't recommend this place high enough. The staff were great - Rachael in particular who was an incredible help via email around advising my options on getting from the airport to the hostel as well as getting from the hostel to a local hire car company in the other side of town. Also one small thing she did demonstrated... More 

Helpful?
Thank hotdevittydog
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for the review. We are stoked to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. We think Rachael is pretty awesome too. Sorry to hear about the noise from our fires safety equipment, we have asked out fire monitoring company to come in and see if they can make it quieter. Thank you for... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Had a room with en-suite, double bed and a single. The bed was comfortable, room was big enough, en-suite was ok although the shower was so compact one's anatomy connected with the cold wet curtain repeatedly. There was a TV with limited stations available, and a fan heater on the wall (which we did not need). There was no noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank ringthebells2
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. It is awesome to see that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into ways to improve the showering experience in our double rooms. Thank you for letting us know. we are indeed very lucky to be so central to all that Wellington has to offer. We hope to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Great people Friendly n Helpful staff 24/7 could not fault this place 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 very close to public transport n Wellington Bay n Pub next door. A free Dinner meal n Free pancakes every Morning☕🍳🍯 The people that y meet will b friends for life n i love how this Hostel Caters for all ages from kids to the older folk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denielle M
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi lady, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. We hope your adventures down south are amazing. We look forward to having you back up in the capital. See you soon, Saoirse, General Manager. More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
596 reviews
0.2 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
644 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $30 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Opt for the smaller female dorms over the stinky 10-bed mixed ones”
 of 5 bubbles MMurdoch13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We got a private room (double or twin) and it worked out to be about 50 a night with own bathroom, really great value!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on third floor which was probably good”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the lowest floors are too close to the bar and are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles s0cium, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If it is winter and the windows are closed then you don't hear so much on the street side. Rooms on the other side might have been quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles BlackCatDesigns, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay