We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
 Click to rate
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very nice, and that's about it. The whole place was worn out, dirty and smelly everywhere. We had to buy a bottle of desinfectant before we dared to sleep a night in the provided double-bed room. They provide free breakfast & dinner (DIY pancakes in the morning & a dinner voucher in the evening), which we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psx-guru
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review, Awesome to see you enjoyed our staffs hospitality and the free meals we offer every night you stay. If you addressed your problem with your room to our reception staff we would of moved you baring in mind our availability this is not the standard we go by....

Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If I could give a zero for staff, I would. I stayed here twice, purely because the second time I had to due to our bus tour company organising our accommodation. Both times I stayed, the staff were shockingly rude. Except for one pleasant English girl. My friend left shoes and a hoody on the bus by accident, and she...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WeeSpud
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Apologizes for your experience here we do not lower ourselves to that standard I will be calling a meeting with my reception staff. We do only take lost property from in house guests not from a bus company as it was not found on our property. We do...

Kaikoura
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nomads is centrally located in the hub of Wellington city, close to all attractions, activities and Cuba Street. We had a triple room with ensuite, the room was clean and convenient. The staff is very friendly. Free breakfast (pancakes) and dinner are a real bonus. The hostel is dry (no alcohol) which is great; next doors bar offers reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marietvanvierzen
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Being in the CBD is a bonus for all our guests as most activities are walking distance from our location. I am pleased to hear about your enjoyable stay and glad to see how helpful our staff are here at Nomads Capital. Every night you stay here with...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Noisy beds you can't move without waking up you roomates. Door is so loud when you open or close impossible to not wake up all neighbourhood. Late drunk crowd coming and keeps partying without trouble. Besides front desk staff is rude and is doing the minimum to help you. Will not come back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aurelien F
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay this is not feed back we usually get I will ensure this is brought up in our next staff meeting to ensure this does not happen again. It is unfortunate when staying in the bigger dorms how often...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 17 January 2017

+ the next door Bar + was rather quiet + the double/ensuite was very clean + the staff was helpful and friendly + free pancake dough for breakfast - staff needs practise on pancake dough - WiFi speed was not good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helge K
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I will in form the staff about the pancake dough and hopefully that will improve. Thank you for bringing up our wifi issues we will discuss further with GX2. We are happy to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Cheers Nancy

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

This is quite a well situated hostel, within walking distance of the main hubs of Courtenay street, parliament and the waterfront. A dry hostel but a solid and cheap bar attached. 4 person share dorms w/bathroom are reasonable too. Will always deduct a star for charging extra for internet access to travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank igipopa
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write us a review, If you fill out our welcome pack form that you are given on check in we do offer free internet. Being in the CBD is a bonus for our guests as most activities in Wellington are walking distance from our location, glad to see you enjoyed our beautiful...

Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a private three bed room. The room and the toilet were clean and big enough. Okay beds. The hostel is situated in the centre of town and the staff will help you to arrange ferry shuttle etc. The negative things: no free internet and a lot of noices during the evening/night that made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, We do offer free internet if you fill out our welcome pack that we give on check in. Really sorry that noise effected your sleep, the bar next door is really considerate and will turn down the music if you had brought this to the attention of our reception team. Similarly we would always try to move you to...

Reviewed 15 December 2016

Overal I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The location is great, just a short walk to the harbor, Te Papa Museum and Cuba Street. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfy. The free breakfast and (small) dinner were awesome, and the bar next door is a great place to hang out in at night, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iriswieris
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We pride ourselves on having a clean and comfortable hostel. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the 2...

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Do not go here. Typical city chain hostel, they offer you a dorm for overprize with no free wifi, and if you have any complaints they will not care. I accidently booked 2 nights with Stray and I wanted to change it to 1 night because my friends went to another place. There was absolutely no chance for refund 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik L
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The price which you paid for your dorm was heavily discounted due to the fact that you were traveling with a tour bus company. We do indeed care about our guests and their complaints. We take these matters very seriously. However we are a business and you had...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Nomads is a nice hostel in a really good location in the city. The dorms are really clean and secure. Only negatives were the wifi (have to pay and still not good quality) and the kitchen is tiny. You do get a free dinner in the bar next door which is decent and has good drinks promos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiernan D
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness and its awesome to it appreciated. Our kitchen is a tad small...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
624 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
0.0 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
419 reviews
0.5 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $30 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double/ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for the smaller female dorms over the stinky 10-bed mixed ones”
 of 5 bubbles MMurdoch13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We got a private room (double or twin) and it worked out to be about 50 a night with own bathroom, really great value!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on third floor which was probably good”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the lowest floors are too close to the bar and are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles s0cium, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5