We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Wellington

Traveller (447)
Room & Suite (250)
Storyboard
Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from Rydges Wellington
Offers & Announcements:15% Off This Summer
About
Description
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close More distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
,
Family
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Business
,
Family
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
280
Price range
US$119 - US$316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
,
Holiday Inn Wellington
,
Wellington Holiday Inn
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 nearby hotels
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
332 reviews
.09 km away
Quest on Johnston
195 reviews
.23 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
290 reviews
.32 km away
Sofitel Wellington
364 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,079 nearby restaurants
Americanos Breakfast Restaurant
279 reviews
.18 km away
Portlander Bar & Grill
603 reviews
.01 km away
The Old Bailey
189 reviews
.21 km away
La Cloche Central
34 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 396 nearby attractions
Northern Explorer Train
482 reviews
.24 km away
Wellington Railway Station
152 reviews
.17 km away
Old Government Buildings
111 reviews
.17 km away
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferries
557 reviews
.28 km away
Reviews & more
2,192Reviews
534Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 868
  • 915
  • 306
  • 78
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Its a lovely hotel, but the nightly rate, can be quite pricey. If you are looking for a little bit of luxury, its definitely the hotel to pick. Staff are very friendly and professional. As expected the accommodation is very good.
Read more
Response from Ryan C, General Manager at Rydges Wellington
Responded yesterday
Thank you Trail15993354353 for your fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Warm regards, Ryan Crocker Hotel Manager Rydges Wellington
Read more
Lovely hotel located right in the Wellington city center and close to waterfront

Room and bed was fantastic, overall service very good - thank you

The 4 rating is only because of lack of free parking however ample of paid parking available around the hotel
Read more
Response from Ryan C, General Manager at Rydges Wellington
Responded yesterday
Dear 216manojb, Thank you for you review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and were able to take advantage of our location. We have valet car parking available for $30 a night or alternatively street parking is available but the council charges $2.20 an hour. We hope to welcome you back again to Rydges next time you are in Wellington. Warm regards, Ryan Crocker Hotel Manager Rydges Wellington
Read more
We stayed overnight at found :

Positive :
1. Location
2. Friendly staff
3. Parking plenty at the road side (4.50 dollar per hour from 8 am to 6pm weekeday and 2.50 per hour at weekend 8 am to 6pm) - valet parking is 30 dollar per day
4. Request to extent check out time - 2 hours
Read more
Response from Ryan C, General Manager at Rydges Wellington
Responded 2 days ago
Dear ChristopherTraveller, Thank you for your great review. We certainly appreciate your clear pros and cons of the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you welcoming you back again next time. Warm regards, Ryan Crocker Hotel Manager Rydges Wellington
Read more
We spent 1 night at this hotel during a 4 week visit to NZ. The hotel is well located and our bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. It has an excellent view over the harbour but unfortunately is adjacent to a multi storey building that is presently undergoing extensive refur
Read more
Response from Ryan C, General Manager at Rydges Wellington
Responded 2 days ago
Dear George, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Rydges Wellington. All feedback allows us to review our product and services. I can assure you that Rydges Wellington does not suffer hot water issues at peak time times, please accept my aplogises for the issues you have highlighted as these are far not the standards of Rydges Wellington. We trust the remainder of your travels were safe and hope you have the opportunity to visit again another time. Warm regards, Ryan Crocker Hotel Manager Rydges Wellington
Read more
This is second time we stayed here. Overall decor feels tired from lobby to the room. Especially carpet in room looks dirty, and desperately needs update.

Didn’t eat at hotel restaurant this time, but recall from last year it had decent burgers
Read more
Response from Ryan C, General Manager at Rydges Wellington
Responded 4 days ago
Dear travel-the-world-33, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Rydges Wellington. I am sorry to hear your stay this time was not as memorable as your last. All comments both good and bad allow us to review our product and services. I hope you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay. Kind regards, Ryan Crocker Hotel Manager Rydges Wellington
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
My room on the top floor.
My room on the top floor.
View of the Parliament buildings from my room.
My delightfully comfortable double/king-sized bed, with a welcome kit on the bed.
My room on the top floor.
Previous
how far is Wespac Stadium from hotel? waiking distance?
5-10 minute walk or a $5 Uber ride- (I paid $3.60 from Rydges to westpac)
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, What are the transport options from the airport to Rydges if you have a baby? Thanks
Rydges Hotel Staff had arranged for a bus shuttle for us. There are taxi stand near the hotel. You won't have a problem getting to the airport.
0 votes
Show all answers
Does this hotel offer transportation from the Railway station?
I'm not sure but the railway station is literally a block away. Maybe a two/three minute walk.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, Is there car parking on site and what is the cost?
I think it was about 30-45 NZ a night from memory when we stayed in November.. it was underground and the staff valet it for you :)
1 vote
Show all answers
What is the best room to choose to have a better view of the harbor? I am booked here in April with family.
Just give them a call the staff are very good and will I am sure give you what you wont
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"The higher floors have excellent views."
"Higher the better for quietness."
"Rooms are sound proofed so not problem where. I had a corner room overlooking the Beehive (Parliament) so curtains on both sides."
"Perhaps a viewing before you commit to it would be a help. Soundproofing was also inadequate."
"If you have a sunny room it pays to keep the filter curtains pulled as rooms can become very hot with floor to ceiling windows."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing