We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,751: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We booked the Rydges having stayed at the Rydges at Christchurch and Auckland, as a stop over having travelled Northern Explorer from Auckland to Wellington.The reception was busy but we were processed promptly and helpfully. We got to our room which we were very happy with. The room was not square shaped but quite roomy. A great bathroom which seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for the positive review! We're pleased to hear that you're a frequent Rydges guest, and it's great that you can now add Wellington to the list! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and made the most of our convenient proximity to the Railway Station. Looking forward to your next visit to Wellington! Kind regards, Catherine H

Perth
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, nice location very close to the dockside and within easy walking distance of a number of resturants and bars along it. The hotel has a nice reception area to meet in, a well stocked bar and attached resturant. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. I had a suit on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryWPerth
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington this winter and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Catherine Hearn

Lower Hutt
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Excellent hotel and the rooms are comfortable with plenty of space,It also has one of the best buffet breakfasts in Wellington.The hotel is close to transport and the sports stadiums as well as government buildings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington this winter, in particular our breakfast buffet and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Catherine Hearn

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Had a very bad experience with a pony tailed breakfast or banquet manager seemed to think he was still playing bass at a local pub dressed in a somewhat casual manner.Rude obstinate and unfortunate as the other staff were good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viisk
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed a few nights when travelling around the north island on a holiday. The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The location of this hotel is basically in the middle of town so you are in walking distance of some great restaurants etc... We had a positive experience at the hotel and would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lost_in_Utensils
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Jem_LIU, Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington this winter and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Catherine Hearn

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Rydges managed to make my husband and I feel cared about and important to them, which I believe should be the goal of any organisation providing customer service. They achieved this with style. From the warm and friendly greeting we received upon arrival to the helpful information provided, we enjoyed all staff interactions. We were generously granted a 3 hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_SkyWalker
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Mrs_SkyWalker, Thank you so much for such a lovely review, plus a 5/5 score! We're very happy you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Exceptional customer service is something we pride ourselves on, so we were very pleased indeed to read your kind feedback regarding your staff interactions! Thanks again - looking forward to having you back sometime! Kind regards,...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean as only thing was size of double beds BUT we still had a great rest and our kids loooovvveeeddd their time in your hotel! The pool was a highlight too so good to swim during winter in a Windy City haha! The staff were so good to us thank you for taking care of us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Pat! Thank you for such a lovely review and for the 5/5 score! We're so glad you and your kids enjoyed your stay, we love putting smiles on kids faces and find that kinder surprises definitely do the trick! :) It's also great to hear you made the most of the pool, it's certainly nice being able to swim...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 22 July. Wonderful room. Bed was divine and one you sink in and conk out in. Bathroom was well set out with ample space to put your toilet bag on the vanity. Carpet was lush and just enough furniture in the room to make it cosy but not crowded. Only drawback is no parking. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki I
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Nikki, Thank you for the positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, in particular our comfy beds. We do offer a valet parking service, but unfortunately being such a big hotel we can't cater to everyone - as much as we wish we could! We hope this did not negatively impact your stay too much, and we hope...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Family package room was quite small with the two double beds in it. The photo makes the room look a lot bigger than it really is. VERY COMFORTABLE beds, just the best! The bathroom lighting was terrible though, way too dark. Pool was great use for our family. Valet parking at $30 per day, was expensive and a pain to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alena844
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi alena844, Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. It's great to hear you made the most of our Family Therapy package, and that you loved our super comfy beds and handy pool area. However we're disappointed to hear that you found the valet parking a pain to use, as usually guests...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We were there on July 2016 on our honeymoon, we spent one night and everything was quite good. Good location, in the middle of the city. It is a very modern and full-equipped hotel, with good offer of restaurants and private parking (not free)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EduBaura
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi EduBaura, Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad you enjoyed your stay for your honeymoon, and we're thrilled you chose to celebrate part of such a special occasion at Rydges! Congratulations from the whole team here! Kind regards, Catherine H

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,360 reviews
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
1.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $166 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Wellington staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
Brevard, North Carolina
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors have a view over the harbour”
gillianb575, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea views are sensational”
EmgeeNZ, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for seaside view”
483norberts, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good view from harbour view even if part was obscured. very quiet for being in middle of city.”
89lynettep, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher up you are, the quieter it will be.”
monn53, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5