We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,592: English reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

The Good Handy location in CBD, flat walk to everything. Good breakfast buffet and nicely done rooms. Reasonable price for the whole package. The Bad Possibly located on the windiest corner of the city. Not the hotels fault. But if there's any wind blowing you will know about it at Rydges. Hard to stand up sometimes as you exit. Top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ham M
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. We're happy to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay at Rydges. It does get fairly windy on the Featherston and Whitmore corner, we hope this wasn't too much of an issue but as you said, there's not much we can do about it unfortunately! We like to...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2015

I was impressed by the friendly and professional staff - I arrived without my suitcase and everyone was sympathetic and tried to help. Special thanks to Phil Shearer, Chief Concierge, who went out of his way to help me sort things out, including contacting the airline on my behalf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U9497UKhelenh
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our service exemplary, though not so great about the lost suitcase! We hope you and Phil were able to track it down, and I will pass on your thanks to him personally. We hope to see you again...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Stay here regularly. Good amenities with adequate gym and pool. Excellent bar and restaurant. Rooms perfect. Even got to short sheet the boss and set his alarm to 4am lol. Central to hospitality precinct which is an easy walk away. Plenty to do in Wgtn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilBSpy
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thanks so much for the 5/5 star review - short and sweet, we like it! We're very happy that you continue to enjoy your stays with us, and play the odd prank on the boss! Thank you for your support of Rydges - looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, ^CH

Auckland
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

There is barely any parking outside this hotel, we arrived in a taxi with quite a bit of luggage, a sleeping infant & rainy weather. The hotel staff did not come out to help (even though 2 were available). My husband went & got a luggage trolley while the double parked taxi driver dumped our luggage on the sidewalk. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank miafatdog
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, though we are very sorry to hear of the troubles you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately being in such a central location, parking is quite limited outside the hotel and taxis aren't able to stick around too long. We do help with bags whenever we can, but sometimes our staff are occupied with...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We arrived at the hotel after a bit of a difficult journey rather tired. We were greeted at reception by very helpful staff who make registering easy. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room and contacted the desk. Within a few minutes a member of staff appeared to help. After a while the problem had improved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thank you very much for the positive review! It's so great to hear that after a difficult journey, that we were able to give you an easy and relaxing stay. We apologise for the problems with the air conditioner - but we're glad we could offer you another room, but even better that you didn't have to move...

Reviewed 6 December 2015

I booked a Superior Double room with a kitchenette with the intention of cooking at least 2 meals for a family of 4 staying 3 nights. Checked in ok got to the room noted the 2 hotplates cook top, microwave and overhead fan - good start. Then checked the kitchen cupboards to find no plates, utensils, pots, pans, teaspoons. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Karen, We are very sorry to hear of the trouble you had regarding cooking equipment. We don't usually store cooking equipment in rooms, as many guests do not use it and this would create unnecessary work for our Housekeeping department. Our solution is having Guests ring down for equipment which should be speedily brought up, but it is apparent...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

First and foremost, Jade at reception both checked us in and checked us out - she was the most pleasant, helpful and genuine concierge attendant I've come across, such a great first and last impression, nothing was too much trouble and she is certainly an asset. The hotel is in a great location, minutes walk to the stunning water front...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Antonz83
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for the lovely review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to Jade who was very pleased to read them! We're also happy to hear that you were able to dine at Portlander - they've recently won the 'Best Restaurant' award at the NZ...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Booked in advance, on a busy weekend, got a kingsize suite room. Up front, reception was helpful; note- they have limited parking, cannot be booked, so first in gets the park at $30/night, cheaper across the road at $25 for 24 hours though; Bar and restaurant was OK. The suite was a mild shock, poorly lit in the kitchen/lounge, large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbsteraged
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hello, We are very sorry to hear that you found your recent stay with us less than satisfactory. We aim to provide every guest with an amazing stay, so it is very disappointing for us to hear that this was not the case for you. Please do accept our apologies for the problems you experienced. You will be pleased to...

St Albans
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

The location is superb but I would be hard pushed to think of a hotel I have stayed in that is busier. Constant, frenetic activity everywhere gives the impression of staying in an underground station. There are plenty of restaurants all around and we did have a very nice meal at the hotel's own restaurant, Portlander, on the first night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodltraveller
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that overall you had a good experience here at Rydges. While we of course view being busy as a positive thing, we do understand that not everyone enjoys the hustle and bustle, so we sincerely hope that this did not adversely impact your stay too much!...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Not the two nights and days that I would have expected. Supposed top a the range room, no welcome bottles of water or a box of tissues in the room, which is the norm in the good quality hotels we are used to! Food was good and the table staff were keen and helpful. Which the same could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greyloxley
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, but we are disappointed to read that you found your stay less than satisfactory. Please accept our apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay. We are very sorry that our restaurant Duty Manager came across in a negative manner, but I can ensure you this was not at...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,256 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,946 reviews
1.3 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $161 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Wellington staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Brevard, North Carolina
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Auckland, New Zealand
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a harbour view room if available”
 of 5 bubbles 915ryans, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“nice to pay extra for their buffet breakfast.we were on floor 14 and found our room to very quite”
 of 5 bubbles smithNewZealand, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Harbour rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles jillbA4198DV, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You do not need a car around Wellington. A good walkable City.”
 of 5 bubbles 956alan, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Double Double is only good for 2 pax at max.”
 of 5 bubbles AshishNichani, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay