We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Countryhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Countryhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had booked one of the main buildings in this backpackers as there was a group of us staying here while in town for a wedding we were there for 5 nights. After the wedding on returning to Christchurch after traveling around the South Island we tried to book one nights accommodation before everyone flew out the next day. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mai-tai4life
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Our office does close at 8pm for our staff to go home to thier families and you were several hours away by car so it would have been very late for them to get home and finnish for the day. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us while you were staying and...

Reviewed 25 February 2014

The place is perfectly acceptable but they were very formal from the minute we arrived, checking IDs and making clear the many rules. When I tried to get the key deposit back the night before, I was told I'd have to provide a credit card scan in case I lost the key while I was asleep. I could understand their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt J
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the subject of ID's we have a simple rule at this hostel, "No ID no bed" and with this rule we have no problems with any dodgy guest trying to get in as we feel we do our best to look after both yourselves and all our younger guest who are away from home...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Passed through this fine place on my way around the world and they have a garden... A nice garden with space to stop and chat... With my fellow travellers in a city... Still a little stunned as I never had this before but then I never stayed at a backpackers before. So maybe they are all excellent or I just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack H
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I really liked the atmosphere at this backpackers! Feels like home. You easily get in touch with other really nice people. It is a bit far to walk to the city centre, but I would really recommend this hostel if you want to spend some relaxed days in Christchurch in good company! :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aGermanGirl
Whangamata, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here in December and found the hostel to be fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was spottlessly clean. There is a laovely large garden with lots of seats. All the other travellers were friendly and the atmospere there is laid back and chilled out, which is what I wanted after travelling in busy Indonesia....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Werner H
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights and must say it was superb. The girls at reception are knowledgeble and helpful, the dog is adorable and the hostel is well presented. There are three villas with a number of different rooms. I stayed in a 5 bed dorm and it was great as there was plenty of space to put my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marissa W
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Charlotte, her hospitality and great customer service helped us book our accommodations so that we could take the TranzAlpine rail line, with bus transfers, to include hotel. She also booked our hike to the Milford Track, the World's Finest Walk and made sure we had a transportation to the train station. I can surely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheeHawaiian
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for a whole week and loved it. The whole place is really clean, safe and secure and most importantly comfortable. The staff who work there are mainly backpackers and they are all really nice and friendly. The only issue with the place was the wifi, or should I say lack of it. Firstly, you only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwhizza
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wouldn't stay again. We found it to be noisy and the double room which we payed $90 for was not much larger than the double bed it contained. We found that the single power point was frustrating given that we needed to charge multiple devices and there wasn't a bedside light which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-yeti
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. It is dissapointing to hear you had problems with noise in your bedroom, all our rooms are fully insulated which does help to supress the noise of others. However I'm sure our reception team would have happily accomodated a room change if there were issues with the location of your room....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We only stayed at this place for one night. We had a private room with a bathroom. The vibe is pretty chilled, courtyard is nice, the bed is comfortable and the place is clean. However the room is very tiny and there is zero amenities. We don't require much but for the money we paid, an electric water kettle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegoldenapple
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere here, and the general facilities. We are sorry that you found your room too small, we will definately consider adding some small amentities in to the rooms as you have suggested. We hope you still had a great time here in Christchurch! Best Wishes...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
1,385 reviews
1.7 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
883 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
219 reviews
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 111 in Christchurch
104 reviews
2.2 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $33 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great atmosphere and staff - very pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelChapRotorua, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask them, they will give you a corresponding offer”
 of 5 bubbles sannchen2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check booking.com for good deals on the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leeuw605, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice place, a little outside town”
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“if you arrive after 8pm, pick a private room”
 of 5 bubbles carinas90, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5