We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Save
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (17)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good23%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“botanic gardens”(64 reviews)
“great location”(99 reviews)
“the main house”(34 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
645
194
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
645
194
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanic gardensgreat locationthe main houseold housetram stopcity centrehagley parkguest houseb and bcanterbury museumnew zealandwalking distanceart galleryvictoria streetbreakfast was excellentstudio apartmentfirst floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 851 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This is a great little B&B. close enough to the centre of town without being too noisy, big comfy beds, big spacious rooms, beautifully furnished, friendly staff, great breakfast. I would definitely recommend this spot

Thank katemilnes
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Very impressed on ALL levels and will return whenever I am in Christchurch. A delightful historical place to stay with a very convenient location; beautiful rooms - decor to die for; clean, warm and comfortable; fantastic welcoming staff; great breakfast. Thanks!

Thank Bev H
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & MotelResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Grange.

Reviewed July 24, 2017

We had a very nice time at this B&B. The owner was very helpful, the room was really nice, the bathroom was spacious, and the breakfast was good. We only regret not having had more time to spend here. It was also well located and...More

Thank JennyPeri
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & MotelResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Grange.

Reviewed July 23, 2017

We stayed in a double motel room for one night at the end of our NZ trip. The room was exactly what we needed - spacious, huge bed, big shower/bathroom and heating! Easy parking facilities, lovely staff. Not much to complain about except the pillows...More

Thank hatclaire
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & MotelResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Grange.

Reviewed July 19, 2017

We were greeted and looked after as if we were family. All the staff were exceptional. In the city center within walking distance of most things. The motel was warm and inviting. Shuttle service was organised without any hickups.

Thank Sellies32
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & MotelResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Grange.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Donna W
September 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse | Property representative |
Hi Donna, sorry for the late answer, hopefully is on time. Unfortunately we didn't receive a notification of this question and just seen it. Normally the booking sites would advertise rooms using the lowest rate that the... More
0
Votes
rdwentland
December 14, 2015|
Answer
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse | Property representative |
Hi there, Cancellation or amendments need to be made 3 days before arrival. Cancellation fee is 100% of the stay. Best Regards, Eva.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We stayed in the motel room, very quiet."
Read review
"Motel Units are at the back of the building so away from main road"
Read review
"We didn't see any other rooms, but all should be quiet and comfortable."
Read review
"I think upstairs would be quieter than by the front door. There are also motel rooms at the back which looked..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing