We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (23)
Video

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Chardonnay Motor Lodge is a modern, 4-star motel complex set in spacious grounds with spectacular gardens. Close to Christchurch airport [8km - 8 mins] and only 15 minutes from Christchurch City Centre, Chardonnay Motor Lodge is an idyllic location for your Christchurch vacation. Relax in the tranquil gardens and visit the adjacent Groynes reserve with many walkways, lakes and children's playground to enjoy. During your stay visit the neighbouring Rosebank Winery for delicious food and wine tasting. Chardonnay Motor Lodge offers FREE pick up and drop off at the Christchurch Airport every day as well as a FREE casino shuttle (bookings required). With rooms to suit couples or families, Chardonnay Motor Lodge is a peaceful haven for your next visit to Christchurch.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
62Reviews
47Photos
1Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 26
  • 10
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
An unexpected delight Well appointed room with a table - chairs in the front to soak up the afternoon sun Good bed and bath linen Quiet Close to Papanui, Airport Great range of tea and coffees and some lovely biscuits Great evening walks into the Groynes
Read more
Response from ChardonnayMotorLodge, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Responded Nov. 14, 2018
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are semi rural, we are still close to tourist attractions, shops, restaurants, airport and SH1 for getting in and out of the city. Since the new motorway has been completed we get very little traffic noise. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the teas, coffees and biscuits. The Groynes, next door to us is a great place for walks or relaxing. We hope to see you again sometime when you are next in Christchurch.
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed here last month while in the Christchurch. Hosts were very accommodating for my early check in (as wedding started prior to normal check in). Handy location to airport too as had a 7am flight. Did very little but sleep in the hotel, but it was clean and tidy. I would stay
Read more
Response from Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Responded Mar. 22, 2018
Thank you for giving us a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when you are next in ChCh.
Read more
I want to commend Gerald and his wife for a wonderful time at his motel the weekend of our wedding. We booked some time in advance as it was Labour Weekend, and Gerald was extremely accommodating with changes in numbers, and requests for rooms as we got closer to the wedding
Read more
Response from ChardonnayMotorLodge, General Manager at Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Responded Nov. 7, 2018
Thank you Fiona for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you and your group enjoyed staying with us, you also had the perfect weather for your wedding. Rosebank is right next door to us, perfect if you are having a wedding or function there. Yes we have found that we get very little traffic noise from the new motorway and Johns Road, even less now that they have put down the new quiet road seal. We are only 8 minutes from the airport and we provide a free shuttle service during the day. We might see you again sometime.
Read more
My wife and I stayed here as our first stop after a long flight and at the start of our two week vacation. The location was convenient, although due to construction on the main highway it was harder to find coming from the airport than we had anticipated. The hosts were very
Read more
Response from Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Responded Nov. 6, 2017
Thank you for your review. Coming from the airport you now take the Rosebank/ Belfast exit before you get onto the Motorway. Our entrance is on Groynes Drive which that exit takes you directly to. There is a lock on the main door, the doors have to be able to be opened from the inside without a key in case of an emergency such as a fire. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and we hope to see you again sometime.
Read more
We booked through flybuys for 1 night and feel 700 fly buy points totally wasted. The cleanliness was fair. Missing handles on the wardrobe, dirty sinktop in the bathroom. Broken flush button on the toilet. The join between carpet and lino very poor and had a tack or sharp
Read more
Response from Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Responded Oct. 27, 2017
We will look into the little issues you raised. The outside light can be turned off, instructions in compedium. With the dirty sinktop we leave the window on saftey latch so dust may had blown in from outside, sorry we should of checked it. We are always on site and if there are any issues you can raise and discuss them with us. We can then try to rectify them. I'm disappointed that you were unable to do that. We are looking into installing either a blind or curtain over the front doors.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementChardonnay Motor Lodge
Studio - Bed
Double Bed, large 50" tv, loads of towels and kitchenette.
Colourful, clean and well lit entrance.
Cute little bathroom
PreviousNext
12345
Hi we do now offer a free shuttle to the airport. Hours of operation are 9.00am to 10pm.
0 votes
"if booking through flybuys ask to pay a little more and get an upgrade"
"I stayed in both unit 4 and 1, 1 is more modern and only has 1 neighbouring unit."
"Room 8 has wheelchair access."
"Ask the owner for a quiet room, away from the highway and any construction noise."
"As stated the town house is ideal for either a large family or a couple of families!"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing