We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northcote Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northcote Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Northcote Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night when we came to Chch to pick a car up as it was located close by, we stayed at another much more expensive hotel the next 2 nights and was really disappointed we left... the Owners were very friendly, helpful and accommodating, the motel itself was clean, spacious, comfortable bed, and despite being next to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yessiryousir
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I was fortunate enough to stay at this motel for 4 nights in January and cannot praise Morag, Dave and the team enough for the quality of both the accommodation and service I received. From the moment I arrived the hospitality I received was at a very high standard and the whole team were lovely to deal with I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgibbs2015
Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We had to overnight in Christchurch with two doggies so I had to find pet friendly accommodation. Well, I don't think I could have chosen better! We stayed in a standard studio apartment which was very roomy and very clean. The bonus was that this studio (and the others in the same block) had a back door which led straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzette d
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

This is a very conveniently located hotel, and although on the older side has everything you need for a great stay in Christchurch. Our unit was spacious, the facilities great (with kitchen provided) and the owners are lovely and very accommodating. Unfortunately I can't give this review 5 stars as the bed was the worst I've slept in in ages,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelDreamerx3
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Northcote. Check in was standard parking is high. We only had a Camry and if the hotel was full would have found it difficult to park. Room was clean and had a small kitchenette with enough to cook with. Room was clean and the beds good. The outlook was onto suburbia, petrol station one side homes to the other. Supermarkets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollyAust
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while up in christchurch for a concert. I picked Northcote as it was pet friendly and I wanted to take my dog. I phoned to make my booking as I wanted to just ensure "Stella" would be okay coming to stay with them. Morag was great and told me where would be a good place to park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargotLove12
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Northcote Motor Lodge is a great example of a classic New Zealand motel - for all the right reasons. We were a group of two couples and booked a one night stay here prior to taking an long haul flight from Christchurch International Airport. The lady (manager/owner I think?) that checked us in was friendly and helpful and provided us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swignz
Marlborough
Reviewed 8 September 2014

attracted by the price but had misgivings about quite due to location of Caltex next door an it being right on the main drag. therefore very surprised to experience a couple of very quiet and peaceful nights. Bed was fine for me though a tad hard for the other half. room was very clean and well presented and cleaning staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zeddef
Nelson
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting Christchurch for a funeral and were there just one night. The unit was clean and tidy, and we were welcomed by a woman standing-in for the owners. The big disappointment was the bed - definitely past its use by date, and it would have benefited from a mattress topper if management not able to replace the mattress....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nzcaygills
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your stay with us. We try to accommodate everyone but tastes are different and most responses were favourable of the beds so didnt realise they could be hard. However, we have purchased some mattress toppers now and have them on some beds. I hope the rest of your...

Christchurch
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My mother and I stayed here in april last year, and were not only impressed with the price of the studio room, but the quality and cleanliness of the room we had. The room smelt fresh, the beds were extremely comfy and the sky tv had a fantastic movie on that night which was good for us. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 80sgirlChristchurch

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy our comfortable, warm and very quiet units. We have 16 rooms with something to suit all budgets. There is a mix of Standard or Deluxe 1 bedroom units and Studios. We also have a large spacious 2 bedroom unit which can cater for a max of 5-6 guests. Some Deluxe Units are upstairs and one of the Deluxe Studios has a spa bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northcote Motor Lodge

Address: 309 Main North Road | Redwood, Christchurch 8015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northcote Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northcote Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northcote Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are close to the trampoline and swings”
shannonc933, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were good”
davidandjudith37, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 is handicap accessible”
DanG61, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs if you want a view.”
JonathanPickup, 5 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms bit drafty and being open plan takes a while to heat up - close all the bedroom & bathroom doors as soon as you get into room. Almost resorted to putting a towel down as a draft stop by the kitchen, but heater eventually worked.”
ThinkRight, 29 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5