We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Highbrae Guesthouse

    376 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (14)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent72%
    • Very good26%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “high street” (11 reviews)
    “old victorian” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Fitness centre
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (53)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 45 reviews

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Three couples spent the night at High brae in their wonderful, characterful, spacious and luxurious house. Amazing friendly and helpful hosts. A great breakfast. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Dunedin.

    Thank Brian P
    Response from StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae GuesthouseResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for the great review folks; it was a pleasure to host you all once again. Till next time......

    Reviewed 14 June 2017

    My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay at Highbrae this week. We booked a delux double room, which was a lovely large room with shared bathroom and a balcony located at the front of the old Victorian style guesthouse, with views overlooking the...More

    Thank Glen T
    Response from StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae GuesthouseResponded 16 June 2017

    Thank you Glen and Maryanne for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you both to stay, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

    Reviewed 9 May 2017

    We travelled as a family with two boys. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in highbrae. We booked a suite and a queen bedroom for kids. Views were great from every room . Breakfast was excellent . The hosts were lovely people and Mr Stephen took...More

    Thank Tringortho
    Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

    My husband and I were lucky to have found this wonderful place to stay in Dunedin. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Feinie and were immediately charmed by both the warmth of our hosts and their beautiful Victorian home. Stephen gave us a tour...More

    Thank yukiKauai
    Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

    Lovely old house. Very warm quaint . Excellent breakfast too, hosts very good helpful friendly . Much better value than an hotel but it is a little walk to town, so if not happy to walk/taxi/drive maybe not but otherwise highly recommended. Will use again...More

    Thank chitake
    Response from StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae GuesthouseResponded 24 June 2016

    Thank you Chitake for your kind and thoughtful review. We were privileged to have you stay with us, and look forward to meeting you again soon.

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$70 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Highbrae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Dunedin
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (14)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (6)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby HotelsSee all 61 hotels in Dunedin
    Amross Motel
    299 reviews
    2.37 km away
     
    Bluestone on George
    751 reviews
    2.15 km away
     
    Distinction Dunedin Hotel
    343 reviews
    .78 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Speight's Alehouse
    893 reviews
    .73 km away
    Zucchini Bros
    193 reviews
    .76 km away
    The Perc Exchange Limited
    61 reviews
    .82 km away
    Vanguard
    64 reviews
    .69 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Toitu Otago Settlers Museum
    1,549 reviews
    1.14 km away
    Speight’s Brewery
    601 reviews
    .72 km away
    First Church of Otago
    213 reviews
    1.11 km away
    Dunedin Chinese Garden
    377 reviews
    1.03 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Highbrae Guesthouse staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "All rooms have good views"
    Read review
    "All the rooms have good views - the front room is probably best."
    Read review
    "All rooms are good. If possible, book the suite which is very spacious with kitchenware and has own in-room..."
    Read review
    "The room at the back of the house, top of the stairs, has an incredible view. (so might the others; we only..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing