We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St Clair

Show Prices
#26 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel St Clair
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St Clair
 Click to rate
Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we did not book to stay at the hotel we did take advantage of evening meals at the restaurant on a couple of occasions during our stay at Dunedin. We did not need to pre book. The staff were friendly, the menu was varied and the food was well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
xx
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The St Clair is a great hotel, right on the sea front at Dunedin, with fantastic ocean views. We received a warm friendly welcome. The room was a good size, although the shower room seemed rather squeezed in to the generously sized room. Location is, of course, everything. Sadly, this particular piece of sea front is also the location chosen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDonkin
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach front views but also disappointed that your stay was disrupted due to outside noises. We have a huge university in Dunedin and unfortunately your stay did coincide with the week the students returned to the city, which is...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The views are awesome across St Clair bay and the room was very comfy and clean The staff were helpful and we enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant. Walking distance to lots of other little bars and cafes. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianehQ1708SF
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and your experience in our restaurant. We wish you all the best in future travels, and would love to welcome you back the next time you are in Dunedin. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This is the 2nd time we stayed here and both times because of the stunning location right on the beach. The first time we only stayed one night and left very early so didn't encounter the housekeeping issue. We left our rooms at around 9.30 and had a 3 hour walk on the beach. When we got back the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive review. We sincerely apologize that the level of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Of course we take these issues seriously, and therefore have spoken to the Housekeepers that were on duty. As a stay over room, the Housekeepers had made the beds, restocked amenities, replaced towels and did the dishes. They do wipe tables,...

Penrith, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Only stayed a couple of nights but would have loved to stay longer, great hotel, friendly staff, directly across from the beach & within walking distance to many restaurants. Rooms were clean & comfortable & room service was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 700Gaby
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Gaby Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are definitely lucky to have such a great location next to the beach and the surrounding restaurants. We would happily welcome you back in the future if you return. Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 25 December 2016

All great except the breakfast. Burned eggs, sent back. Second time, okay but not great. Restaurant has great reputation otherwise. Room and location far exceeded our expectations. Concern about traffic noise was unfounded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phototravelers2016
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant, we do like to maintain high quality food, so I am sorry if this wasn't the case for you. I am glad to hear the rest of your stay went smoothly and you enjoyed the location, we are very lucky to have such a great location on...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Great location with a fantastic view. You can smell the sea air when you open your balcony door.The bathroom was divine with an amazing bath tub. Good underground car parking. Reception staff lovely upon check in and helpful with directions etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieandrews2016
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Julie Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to help you. If you return to Dunedin in the future we would gladly welcome you back. Kind regards Hotel St Clair Staff

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were travelling to various parts of New Zealand for the first time. I contacted the St Clair and asked various questions, such as whether any restaurants were within walking distance, was there laundry facilities on site etc. There was also the unfortunate issue of the Kaikoura earthquake, so I did wonder whether there was any damage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Adrian, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We certainly appreciate your kind words toward our staff, and we are so pleased we were able to be of assistance and provide you with an informative and relaxing stay. We wish you all the best for future travels, and we hope to welcome you back should you be down in Dunedin in...

Palmerston, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This is our 3rd time staying here and due to being a graduation weekend options were limited so ended up in one of the premium room. The room had the most amazing sea views from every room, very comfortable and restful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3115ELpeters
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are definitely lucky to have such wonderful views of the beach. We would gladly welcome you back if you ever return. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This is a quiet, affordable property with huge modern appointed rooms with bright sunny outlooks to the sea right across the road. The front desk service was excellent when we checked. Very, very friendly and helpful. Good underground secure parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fayo400
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we are certainly lucky to have such wonderful views of the beach. Hope to see you again in the future if you return. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.5 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
694 reviews
12.2 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
576 reviews
3.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
320 reviews
5.2 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
265 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - In house Restaurant (Pier 24) - Room service - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St Clair

Address: 24 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly St Clair Beach Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $197 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Clair 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St Clair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Beach Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St Clair staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St Clair staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the ocean for amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles 700Gaby, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles phototravelers2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request and pay a little extra for an ocean view room...you won't be disappointed!!!”
 of 5 bubbles fayo400, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room with a sea view is worth the little bit extra.”
 of 5 bubbles 302christinem, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Select an ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles beagle123, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5