We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 578: English reviews
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Recently had a conference at the Mercure Leisure Lodge and was very happy with the experience. The accomodation was excellent and the food was rated highly by the participants. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Located handy to the city which was great for partners. Would recommend for a conference.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karenp0908
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our conference service and facilities. The Events Team were delighted with your feedback and given you consider the conference a success, are proud to have been associated with delivering a professional event. We appreciate your comments.

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

Very happy with room amenities and car parking. Place is at the very north end of town and CBD is a fairly long walk, although the botanic gardens are right across the road. Our bathroom had a bath with shower. Room had external door to car park which you could leave through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing to us about your experience at our hotel. It seems we were able to provide a pleasant experience and our team here is very satisfied with that. For those reading this review with a view to staying, the hotel is located across the road from the Botanic Gardens (the oldest in NZ) and we are 3-4...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst on tour of New Zealand of all the hotels we have stayed in this has been the second one to serve poor food. Starting with breakfast the bacon looks as if it has been boiled and not appetising at all the service at dinner has been very slow and food luke warm. The area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickley22
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy our hotel or the city during your New Zealand tour. The hotel team does try very hard to make the stay for each guest enjoyable but it appears we were unsuccessful on this occasion. I have passed your comments to the Restaurant Team for evaluation and improvement. We appreciate the...

New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2014

My wife and I stay in this hotel every time we go to Dunedin to visit our son at Uni. Parking is complimentary with complimentary 1 hour wifi each day. Rooms are spotless and well serviced. It's a convenient North Dunedin location close to student halls of residence, stores, cafes etc. Its pretty much the first hotel you come across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willisfromnz
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

We are gratified to receive your feedback and learn you have returned to stay with us on more than one occasion. We set standards for what we'd like to achieve for our guests and it's always a delight to hear when we've got it right. Thanks very much from all the staff here at the hotel.

Reviewed 29 October 2014

Back In Motion Physiotherapy & Pilates hired the McGavin Room at the Leisure Lodge for Member's information evening where Guest speakers presented to our Membership group. Emma & Michelle were both fabulous in their correspondence and willingness to answer questions and give guidance as to our needs for the evening. The Room was all was set up and ready to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BackInMotion
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Our functions team were delighted to receive your feedback and were proud to deliver a high quality event on your behalf . They were particularly pleased you felt the event was professionally managed throughout and that the food surpassed your expectations. We appreciate this feedback and will endeavour to maintain this standard going forward.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross S
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Clean and tidy, we looked out on the courtyard which was surprisingly quiet. Compared to another motel we looked at this room was far nicer, cleaner and better equipped. We would stay here again, would like the option of a single queen room to be cheaper than a double queen, but that doesn't seem to be the way! Also, would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CanNZ
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your experience in our hotel. We are delighted that overall, we seemed to have met most of your needs. That is very satisfying for all the staff here, from housekeeping to front of house. Regarding hotel room setup up, rooms are configured to make the most use of available resources so...

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This stay was part of a SAGA trip of North and South islands in New Zealand .No safe in rooms .Bar staff not very competent with confusion over time of "happy hour" 5-00 to 6-30 .Dinner at 7-30 ! The first night dinner experience was not a good one with tables in the dining room so close together that anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
MercureLeisureLodge, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for detailing your experience at our hotel. It seems we were unable to meet all of your needs during your stay which of course is always a disappointment for us. I have passed your comments on to the appropriate departments for evaluation regarding knowledge of bar staff and seating arrangements within the restaurant for large groups like...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Our room was good value for money. Clean and tidy. Nicely serviced each day. The restaurant was a bit it and miss. Ate there several times during our stay and meals looked and tasted different on consecutive nights. Breakfast was great. The staff were really friendly however we all agreed that they would really benefit from some training. While the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3PW
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review of the hotel and the description of your experience whilst here. We try very hard to meet the expectations of guests and while you felt there were a few "hits" and "misses", your feedback does help us to gauge how to improve services going forward. Your comments regarding staff training have been passed to...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Despite it's lovely setting beside Dunedin's botanic gardens, this hotel is not exceptional but what you would expect from the Mercure chain. For the price, it is average - the rooms are standard hotel rooms with comfortable beds, ensuites with showers, and writing desks, sky TV etc. However, wifi is an additional charge and there is no elevator (and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 405Sally
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

We are disappointed you didn't seem to enjoy your stay here at the Mercure but we do appreciate the time you have taken in describing your experience. Feedback is important as it helps us to improve our services and guest experience. We do provide 1 hour free wifi per room per day which seems to meet the needs of most...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.8 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.6 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.6 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
702 reviews
2.4 km away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $142 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If there's a function on ask for a room at the other end of this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasB941, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden facing and on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles nirvikary, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are quieter (away from the busy roads) as well as a very pleasant outlook.”
  • Clean and functional bathroom with good walk-in shower
  • Superior King Room
  • Spacious ground floor superior king room
 of 5 bubbles Sydneysider01, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with garden access the best”
 of 5 bubbles jonathangC667VW, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the gardens lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles penguin666, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5