We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Garden Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 22 November 2014

This is an older style basic motel with poor insulation (we had to keep the heater on whenever we were in the unit) and no double glazing, so noise was the major issue for us. Not only were we surprised by the amount of traffic noise (as we were in a unit at the back, well away from the road),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank girlonadventure
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you found your stay with us unpleasant. No other guests have complained about the plumbing, noise and the unit being cold and small. We pride ourselves on our units being clean, user friendly and warm. We are a 3plus star motel so maybe a four or five would suit your needs better.

singapore
Reviewed 19 October 2014

When we (3 couples from the Lion City) arrived at Dunedin, we headed straight to George Street, where we knew lots of motels could be found. We went into some, and they were either full or they do not have 3 rooms. There were some with car parks on slopes. That made it hard to load and unload baggages. Some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank magbillSingapore
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. we hope you will stay with us next time you are in Dunedin. We pride ourselves on clean units and friendly service and there is so much to do within a 20min walk of the motel

Christchurch
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Stayed with a sports team for 3 nights. Was perfectly adequate. Was clean and tidy. Free wifi was certainly appreciated. Price was fair. Location is handy enough to the town or the stadium. No complaints here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a lot of sports teams at the motel so we are now well set up for them.We hope you will stay with us next time you are in Dunedin.

Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

A small and cosy place but with big hearted and caring hosts. The unit was quite nice and clean and warm and had all the things that a solo person can ask for. The staff was also quite friendly and helped out in recommending the sight seeings. The vibes and layout of the place were quite homely like and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gurdipNZ
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. we hope to host you again when next your are in dunedin.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I can't give this place enough praises. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with everything and allowed us to view and choose out of three different rooms on arrival. The room we chose was an excellent size and very clean and tidy. Great location which is close to town but not in with the hustle,bustle and noise of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemz2102
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. we hope to host your again soon.

Reviewed 20 September 2014

Very nice place to stay good location nice host and couldet ask for enymore than that!!!! But the only thing was the price was a bit pricey for the 5 days we stayed but highly recommended otherwise thank you to the lady in the office she was very helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travlerman6789
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review of our motel. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to hosting you when next you are in Dunedin.

Oamaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently stayed at Garden Motel when visiting a family member in hospital in Dunedin. They allowed us to check in earlier then their standard time since our room was ready, free wifi was offered on check in which was great to help let family know how things were going. The unit had lots of space (2 bedroom unit) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tane B
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back when next you need to stay in Dunedin.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are very unsatisfied and disappointed with the service and facilities of this motel. We originally booked a room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed. However, we were given a room with only 1 single bed and 1 double bed. In addition to that, the owners were rude and unhelpful when we informed them that there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelkitty1688
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our motel was your worst experience. You booked through booking .com and when you book through an agent your booking automatically selects the type of room you want -so we had no input into the unit you were put in by Booking.com. As we had no vacancies we could not change your unit - so...

Riverton, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife booked us a small studio as we were just staying one night. The unit had everything we needed, was clean and comfortable and nice and warm. It was a little noisy in the morning when the bin men came but that's not the motel's fault - nor was the noise our neighbours made when they left in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prisonerfan
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I don't know why the bin people need to clear bins so early in an area with travellers. Sorry about the guests next door to you who left early and were noisy - some people have no consideration for others - most of our early leaving...

Worongary, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in the 1bedroom apartment with the queen bed in the living room.It was quite cramped with two adults and two children steping over suitcases in the lounge . The service was fantastic and so helpful with guiding us to family friendly restaurants and local attractions The motel was a long walking distance from the city but still enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Than you for your review. We are pleased you found us helpful. Yes with a lot of luggage the rooms can be cramped. Next time try a two bedroom unit - there is a lot more room and cupboard to store your luggage in.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 km away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#37 of 58 in Dunedin
109 reviews
0.8 km away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.3 km away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 58 in Dunedin
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#50 of 58 in Dunedin
65 reviews
1.4 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
271 reviews
2.0 km away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garden Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet, out of the hub of the city, close to gardens, the leith valley, northern exit of dunedin, perfect for people with disabillities”
 of 5 bubbles violetlilyinv8, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ground floors have easy and disabled access”
 of 5 bubbles PhillipK976, 17 Feb 2014 | Read review
“The owners give good local advice.”
 of 5 bubbles journeyman02, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“ask for one off the main road - it may be slightly more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles derek1313, 4 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Ask for discount price before booking if stay 2D”
  • Garden Motel
 of 5 bubbles 2011simon, 28 Apr 2011 | Read review
5 of 5