We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Balmoral Lodge Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed here as I ended up needing a nights accommodation in Invercargill and had to make a last minute booking on a busy weekend. I got the last room (a 'luxury' suite) and was offered a special rate which I really appreciated. It certainly perked up my otherwise rubbish day! The room was really nice and extremely comfortable. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chief-leask
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I stayed here in the middle of winter, the room was warm and comfortable. Guest laundry facilities and handy to the center of town. I was able to self cater and also had good in room wifi. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lbwno
Jo-anne H, Front Office Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it is good to hear that you had a good wifi connection. We have put many measures in place to ensure our wifi connection is strong. Kind Regards, Janine

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The very spacious and comfortable studio had all the amenities that we needed. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and provided good advice on Invercargill and our further destinations. The accommodation was great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timjayn
Jo-anne H, Front Office Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the rest of your travel. Kind Regards, Janine

Waikaia, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business. I think the room I was in used to have an upstairs but not any more. Only complaints are a noisy fan heater and a dribbly shower. Nice big room, full kitchen facilities (I could cook dinner from scratch) and lots of tea and coffee options. Warm and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sthrnchick
Jo-anne H, Front Office Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry you had some issues with the room. We appreciate you telling us any little problems with the rooms so that we are aware of them and can have them repaired - if we are made aware of these while you are...

Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable place. Friendly service, all requirements met and exceeded expectations. Must have policy of keeping rooms renovated and contemporary as looked relatively new or in very good condition. Room at comfy temperature on arrival - most welcomed.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jadedog
Jo-anne H, Front Office Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again sometime. Kind Regards, Janine

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We found this place through the i-site in Invercargill. Only $99 for the night was excellent value. The room was great. As well as been clean and tidy, it was large and had king size bed. They had not added to many blankets to the bed and the room was warm, so there was no need. The room also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Janine

Dalby, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Our family was surprised to enter a huge room with loft. The room was warm and homely and had everything we needed including kitchenette. We enjoyed our time here and the value for money for a family on a budget was excellent. I can't recommend Balmoral Lodge enough. The only downside (no fault of Balmoral Lodge) was the flat tyre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BPukallus
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that we met your accommodation needs and you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again, Janine

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 March 2015

I am never sure about staying in motels. Some are not so good, however this studio unit was spacious and very clean. It was a bit dark so we had to put the light on during the afternoon, but that was fine. I think maybe having lighter coloured bedspreads would help brighten it up. Apart from that it was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbalwaystravel
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Janine

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Two nights here in a ground floor studio. We got the disabled room which was ok. Park at front if room. Spacious with a couple of armchairs and adequate kitchen but do wish motels would realise how nice it would be not yo have just two of everything. Bed comfy and good linen and towels. Shampoo not replenished for second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DameB2013
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Friendly receptionist. Motel room was clean, and the kitchen was well equipped with the usual appliances and cutlery. The bathroom was large with lots of towels including a dark coloured facecloth that had makeup embroided on it.(saves the nice white towels). The bedrooms were massive with a queen and single bed in each room. They also had a TV. in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dallasbaird
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for mentioning where standards had slipped i.e. the bathroom cleaning. We are sorry that you had to come across this which appears to have been overlooked but we can assure you it...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.7 km away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
266 reviews
2.5 km away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
306 reviews
1.1 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
84 reviews
0.5 km away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Address: 265 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Price Range: $115 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New Delhi, India
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have heavy bags ask for a ground floor level room.”
  • Fully equiped kitchen.
  • Our lounge didn't have a sofa but the chairs were comfortable
  • The bedroom also had a wardrobe, TV and electric blanket
 of 5 bubbles TerriS387, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid apartment 11 if you have a large car.”
 of 5 bubbles 964David, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have the bedroom on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ggabi, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well located off the roads”
 of 5 bubbles 47532015, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great for family or those that want to self cater plenty of room. Good strength wifi”
 of 5 bubbles Emma1963, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay