QT Queenstown
Traveller (674)
Remarkable King
Room & Suite (188)
QT Queenstown
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#17 of 66 hotels in Queenstown
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This is the dreaming island, South of South. QT Queenstown is a bedtime story that turned out to be true, amidst painted mountains all the more remarkable for being real. A reflection in Lake Wakatipu, where the sky is down and the fun is up. Discover cosy marketplace dining at the peak. Sample après-ski for the avant garde. Surprise yourself with the impossible, and risk it all for the beautiful moment. Come stay with us in an artwork that invites you to step through the frame. A touch of Twin Peaks style greets you at Reds Bar. Eyes cast out to sunsets in a mountainous cocktail haze. An experience that zigzags your dreams. Top it off with an all-corners journey at Bazaar Queenstown – refined dining basking in shadowy alpine splendour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:15% Off QT Value Sale. Book Direct, Indulge In Extras.

Location

30 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles795 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

QT Queenstown secures high marks for its impeccable cleanliness and stylish atmosphere, with guests consistently lauding the spotless and modern rooms that boast breathtaking views. The service is often celebrated for its friendliness and personal touches, although some guests have encountered service inconsistencies. While the hotel's location is praised for its serene yet central setting, some guests feel the experience doesn't fully justify the premium price, citing concerns such as room size and the effectiveness of the curtains. Amenities, particularly the luxurious bathroom accessories and thoughtful turn-down service, are popular among visitors.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Modern
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
795Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 588
  • 121
  • 47
  • 28
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Audrey W wrote a review Jun 2020
Nelson, New Zealand32 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
QT is atop Rydges Hotel. QT is best accessed from Brunswick Street on arrival, then walkable down through 6th floor to ground level on the Lake Esplanade to an easy, flat walk into town.
We are Rydges Club members and this and by becoming QT member offers discounts on accom. and food/drinks.
We were on the 8th Floor in a massive lakeview suite, very luxurious and contemporary with the comfiest bed imaginable, great amenities and great sofa to lounge on and admire the view. No road traffic noise at all, just a faint hum of the KJet and Shark in the distance :) Extraordinary good value at the moment, would advise getting down there if you can while the town is relatively quiet these days but enough to keep you occupied and busy, without the queues. Staff were excellent and the bar has one of the largest stocks you will see. Thanks all at QT
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Must have a lakeview room, views to die for and very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Guest Services / Front Office at QT Queenstown
Responded Jul 8, 2020
Hello Audrey W, Thanks for for your awesome review! We are stoked that you had a great experience ant QT Queenstown! Reds bar definitely has the most extensive stock in Queenstown! We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coralkiwi wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand154 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved this hotel having booked a romantic getaway for 3 nights, got a good deal online and were upgraded further when we arrived. Lovely lake view that we enjoyed day and night.

The decor is stylish with clever use of lighting quite a trademark of QT. Felt like an older property that had been renovated. Nice facilities in the room with a good free selection of movies, pod machine, very nice bathroom, lounge etc, large bed although if you are like us you might want to request firmer pillows.

One of the reception staff brought up a handful of goodies for us, having learned it was a special occasion, which was a nice and unexpected touch.

Be aware that the hotel is located above Rydges, and is adjoining. The easiest way to access QT is through the front Rydges entrance, take lift to level 6 then you can take a nearby lift to QT's reception on L8, or your room floor, from there. Using the Rydges entrance also means a $12 shuttle from the airport rather than $15 for the top QT entrance up the hill on a different road, and it is a much easier walk to town from there also.

It is about a 7 minute leisurely walk to the town centre along the lakefront.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The upper floor lake view rooms are worth it, we think!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Other at QT Queenstown
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Hello coralkiwi, Than you very much for your 5/5 review! We love that you enjoyed all the hotel features and yes you are right it's only 7 mins from town! Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Paul T wrote a review Mar 2020
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom268 contributions225 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are of high quality and stylish and the lake views stupendous. To reach street level you need to access through another rather downmarket hotel, odd! The swimming pool is shared by that hotel and feels very downmarket! The staff are professional and friendly. Surprised a cappuccino is a charged for option at breakfast-Nickel and diming in the extreme given room rate and poor look for a supposed 5 star boutique hotel. Room lacked usb points, why? All in all if in Queenstown would stay again as seems best option at moment......
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AntonelaCo, Operations Manager at QT Queenstown
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Hi highlandspring! Thanks for your review, it's good to read that you enjoyed your stay at QT Queenstown! We had made notes regarding the swimming pool and the coffee charges. We look forward to having you anytime soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian S wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom552 contributions178 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The big pluses for this hotel are its location (5 min walk to centre of town) and the quality of the rooms, which are very comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast was a buffet style affair offering a good range of quality foods. However whilst our breakfast was included in our room rate we were asked to pay extra for coffee!
Also we found that the attitude of reception staff when checking in, and out, somewhat surly as if we were inconveniencing their social chit chat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeremy_Black_QT, General Manager at QT Queenstown
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Thanks for the feedback. We are looking into and addressing your concerns as that's definitely not the service style we're aiming for. The team are normally outstanding with their service. Cheers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OEtraveller wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean rooms, Responsive and helpful staff, Close location and 5min walk to town.
Our room had a view across Lake Wakatipu and the rooms are set back from the road that traffic or noise is not an issue.
Access through to the ground level via the elevators and route through the Ridges hotel is awesome and convenient.
Car parking is not included in accommodation and chargeable per day, or free parking is available out the front via first in first served.
Overall, enjoyed this accommodation for a husband and wife short break away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Other at QT Queenstown
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Thanks for the kind words OEtraveller, and awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robby lee wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, what a hotel. Beautiful big Lake King room with a stunning view of the Lake and snow capped mountain range. Comfortable bed. Gorgeous buffet breakfast so nicely cooked. It was Peter's birthday and they surprised him with a bottle of Cinzano Prosecco, balloons and a cute tiny chocolate cake. They were late making our room up a couple of times as they were very busy cleaning other rooms when the school holidays finished so they apologised with a voucher for two cocktails. That was so nice of them, well done QT Queenstown, highly recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lake King recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Other at QT Queenstown
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Hi Bowler175! Thank you for your 5/5review! Sorry about the delay on service. We really appreciate your recommendation and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wagyutravels wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good: the lobby and rooms are indeed a 5 star, as compared to other 5 star hotels that look like 4 or 3 star. the rooms are big and luxurious. we had an infant and a baby crib/cot could easily fit with enough space for 3 large suitcases. lake view room is a must, otherwise, no point in staying in such expensive hotel. fortunately they gave us an upgrade to the top floor rooms with lake view, and according to the receptionist, it is the rooms with the best view of the lake/town. The hotel is 5min walk to the real journey center/town proper. Although the entrance to the hotel is in an up climb hill, the hotel is connected to rydges below which can be used to get down to the main road level. 1-5 floors are rydges. 6th is resto and bar. 6-10th are qt queenstown. Rydges looked good and are priced cheaper..

One of the main reason for choosing qt is location as other hotels in consideration such as rees are located at a distance away and we wanted the convenience to walk to/fro hotel and town center.

another reason for choosing qt is the size and choices of food in resto for bfast. other hotels have small dining rooms with limited options (quality im sure). for qt, since it is presumably shared with rydges, the resto is big and have larger options for bfast. bfast for me was medium, at best, but plenty of options. the bar had its own room with stunning view of the lake, unlike other hotels where the bar is shared with the resto and/or lobby.

as for services the staff of QT, i was fully satisfied and couldnt complain, especially considering we had alot of requests due to our 1 yr old daughter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: lake view is a must get bfast included in the booking, if possible use rydges access to get to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AntonelaCo, Operations Manager at QT Queenstown
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Hello JaewooC1, Thank you so much for the 5* review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved our beautiful rooms. Lovely to hear our restaurant and bar rival other hotels, we love the views and the food choices too. We hope to have you and your daughter stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aly54 wrote a review Jun 2020
Brisbane, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We did stay over the Queens long weekend after lockdown, so understandably, things were always going to be different. Although, we did pay for a 'Remarkable Lake View Room' and were left disappointed... The view from the beautiful big comfy bed was amazing, but as soon as you got closer to the balcony, you can see the carpark below, which can also see you! We often saw people in their rooms in the carpark and it wasn't great for privacy... Being on the highest floor is a little better, but I don't recommend paying the extra money for those rooms. The Lake view would be fine. Parking was an issue in itself, after 4/5pm getting a park was impossible. We had to park on the main road, which was also packed.

The hotel itself is nice, and the view from the bar and restaurant is incredible. I also love that you can get an elevator down to street level before walking to town (instead of walking up and down the big hill). Overall, not the worst place to stay in Queenstown, but probably not the best either.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AntonelaCo, Operations Manager at QT Queenstown
Responded Jun 25, 2020
Hi aly54, Thanks for the feedback and your comments have been taken on board. We are very sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KiwiTraveller69 wrote a review Jul 2020
Wellington14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like most people, my trip to Queenstown was to replace lost plans due to the pandemic. I booked this trip during lockdown, and having never been to Queenstown before, I wanted to ensure I picked a location that was walkable and safe. Well the QT fit the bill.
From arrival through to checkout I was made to feel like a valued guest. When checking in I made comment that I was moving to Rydges in the same building part way through my visit, and to my surprise they arranged for me to remain at QT, and made the room change seamless.
The Front desk team were fabulous, and one in particular demonstrated great customer service continually throughout, even remembering my name. Sorry I did not get his name, but he was british. While all staff I dealt with were great, he really went above and beyond and is a real credit to the brand.
The rooms were a great size, the bed amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was a nice big space, with a deep bath to soak after a big day out doing adventure activities was a perfect addition.
Lighting in the room was good, and there was plenty of space to sit and relax.
The views from the Remarkable rooms were, well, Remarkable.
Location wise, it’s a short 10 min walk from the township, but I never felt unsafe walking in the dark especially as it was on a busy road. External sound wasn’t an issue as the hotel sits higher and is further back from the road due to Rydges being in front. Access was easy as you could walk through Rydges to get to QT, so did not need to navigate the hill to get to the hotel.
Even the 3am wake up call from an alarm did not impact my opinion, these things happen.
Due to cancelled activities I need to return to Queenstown in a few weeks and once I confirm dates I will be looking to stay here again, as once you find a good place you want to keep giving them your custom, and the QT met, and exceeded my expectations.
Cheers, Nicki
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Other at QT Queenstown
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Hi Nicki! Thank you for the Remarkable review and for and sharing your experience! We really appreciate your kind words ! We will pass the comments to our super star Anthony! We are very excited to hear that you are coming back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ben10Bath wrote a review Jun 2020
Bath21 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Like McDonalds is a five star restaurant. The humour and intellect used in this hotel offerring is what truly stands it apart. Often hotels fail by making their guests feel like a mere commodity in the function of their business; offering the minimum possible, while demanding the maximum reward. This hotel however is a little different; at 5 stars all the touches are offered with a deft touch of intellectual irony that those familiar with other four or five star properties will appreciate the sophistication of. The curtains that don’t fit to cover the window. The “Alpine view” outside of a street above you. Only one staff member on duty much of the time. Shared restaurant and bar with the cheaper and better designed and appointed Rydges hotel downstairs. A family friendly hotel that will provide a cot, but no mattress; rendering it useless for all but a newborn, and failing to provide a fitted sheet for the childs safety. Motorway service station quality food in the restaurant; right down to hollandaise (which I fail to believe is not from a packet) that is more like warm salad cream. A hotel built with no guest lounge to relax in as you wait for others, and the smallest reception area in a hotel I have ever been in. This is an experience like no other five, four, or three star hotel you will ever stay in. You will remember it for a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonela Comuzio, Other at QT Queenstown
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Hi ben10Bath, Thanks for your your review. We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We have taken note of your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany T asked a question Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia45 contributions5 helpful votes
Hello What floors are the Remarkable King rooms situated on?
Answer from KiwisInOzGC
Gold Coast, Australia28 contributions7 helpful votes
Apologies for delay in responding. I'm unsure from which level these rooms are (noting we were upgraded on check-in)
shonamarym asked a question Nov 2020
Wellington, New Zealand184 contributions28 helpful votes
Hi do you have parking available
Answer from Max_yoker
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Antonela Comuzio
Queenstown, New Zealand1 helpful vote
Hello, Thanks fro your message. Yes, the swimming pool is outdoors and heated. Unfortunately we don't have a Gym but we can organise a day pass in Queenstown GYM (10 minutes away) for $20.00 per day. At the moment we are offering a la carte breakfast but possibly changing to a full buffet in July. Normally full breakfast will have cooked and cold options too. We look forward to having you at QT Queenstown!
Answer from Denys A
34 contributions56 helpful votes
Hi there, I had that room and view is street view. But since the room is big and confortable did not really matter. The room with lake view cost double which I think is not worth it because you have views to the lake all day while outside and at hotel restaurant. The hotel is great so I highly recommend it
Answer from Ian S
London, United Kingdom552 contributions178 helpful votes
We could see the pool from our room, but didn’t use it. Not full size , good selection of chairs/loungers. Doubt you’d get a view of the lake if you were in it.
Adventure65165159029 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room. "
Read full review
Abbey wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"use the elevator from rydges hotel to avoid having to walk up the hill"
Read full review
SteveandTan wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sydney, Australia102 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a view"
Read full review
shellysilbs wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get rooms overlooking looking the lake and not the carpark."
Read full review
Brigette wrote a tip Dec 2023
Hong Kong, China402 contributions101 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better options next door or at crowne plaza with valet parking and self laundry facilities. Charge less as well"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
C$253 - C$461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QT Queenstown - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about QT Queenstown
Which popular attractions are close to QT Queenstown?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (0.8 km), iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (0.7 km), and Escape Quest Queenstown (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at QT Queenstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at QT Queenstown?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at QT Queenstown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at QT Queenstown?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to QT Queenstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo South American Bbq Experience, Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown, and The Taj Indian Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at QT Queenstown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is QT Queenstown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at QT Queenstown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does QT Queenstown offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at QT Queenstown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near QT Queenstown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars