We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The B & B on the Hill

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The B & B on the Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of The B & B on the Hill
 Click to rate
Cornwall, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in the Lake Bedroom for three nights, which was superb. Sue was very welcoming, and gave us lots of information about interesting things in the local area. Exceptionally clean accommodation, comfortable bed, fantastic room and ensuite bathroom. If you're planning on visiting Queenstown, we'd highly recommend you book this accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoffTrevarthen
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. Kind regards, Sue

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed in February in the 2-bed flat, which is spacious, well equipped and comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. When the weather was unseasonally cold and wet, it was lovely to be able to sit in comfort and enjoy the fantastic views down both arms of the lake, which constantly change if the weather is less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Midge_ma
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am glad you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. Unfortunately this summer weather has been up and down, you were unlucky to be for one of the 'downs'.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at B&B on the Hill for 4 nights in mid March. It is an excellent B&B. Our host, Sue, welcomed us with tea and biscuits and we just stood on the balcony gaping at the amazing views! Our room was very well presented with tea/coffee making facilities and a mini fridge with fresh milk. Breakfast was delicious, the toasted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T S
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Sue

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Pro: Clean room, great toiletries, comfortable bed, great balcony view. Con : Felt like we were staying at someone's house, a bit strange. Our room was close to the hostess', we were not used to this kind of accommodation. Limited breakfast choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelinss
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - with hosted b & b accommodation you are staying in someone's house! My breakfasts are well detailed on the internet - I am sorry if you were disappointed.

Colorful Colorado
Reviewed 15 December 2016

B&B on the Hill understates the stunning view of Lake Wakatipu offered by the extended balcony and fully glassed living room. These common areas are open for all guests, all the time, and Sue also presents a generous breakfast here each morning. One room apparently sits off the left end of the balcony so it has a private window offering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhotoCouple
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Wow! What a lengthy review - thank you for taking the time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is so much more than a B and B it's very homely. Sue makes you feel very welcome. Met with a cup of tea and biscuits. The breakfast selection is great. The location and views are fantastic, 15 minutes walk into town and probably 20 mins back up the hill but no hurry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 67jennifer
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodation here suited you.

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A wonderful B&B at the outskirts of Queenstown, however only 15 minutes by foot from downtown. The room I stayed had big corner windows with unhindered view over the stunning lake, very comfy bed and nice bathroom. The hostess is very kind and helpful, and eager to accommodate very early breakfast for me during the whole duration of my stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am always happy to help as much as possible and early breakfast are not a problem. The living room is always available for guest to use.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The Lakeview bedroom provides a breathtaking view of the snow-capped mountains and Lake Wakatipu. Guests can also view from the balcony as the B & B is strategically located on the hill. It takes between 15-20 mins to walk to the town ctr but coming back suggest take a taxi due to the steep uphill. Cost abt NZD$10. The host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noor39
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. The name b and b on the hill rather explains the location, hopefully guests understand there is a bit of an uphill walk back from town, many do not find it a problem and enjoy the exercise. You had a very, very rare and most unfortunate driving experience. Fortunately you seemed to enjoy the...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Stayed a week, very clean accommodation, breakfast great and plenty to eat. Owner extremely helpful throughout stay, with useful local information on places to visit and eat. Above all the views from this B&B are awesome..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaflood40
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Sue

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

The view from the terrace and the dining room is extraordinary. The room was nicely furbished and clean. There is a choice of food for breakfast (lovely homemade granola). The walk to town centre takes about 10-15 min a bit longer on the way back as one has to walk mostly uphill (probably better to take the taxi).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kia_brs
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, even today the view struck me as amazing and I see it every day! Kind regards, Sue

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,068 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,368 reviews
2.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,349 reviews
1.3 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished in 2010 this home offers well equipped accommodation where you have two options:- - The Lake and Earnslaw double bedrooms offer bed and continental breakfast accommodation at 1 Earnslaw Terrace. These bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, safe, small fridge, tea/coffee making facility, Sky TV, the Earnslaw has a Queen double bed, the Lake a superking double bed which converts into twin beds if required. There is a comfortable sitting room for guests to use, from which the wonderful views can be seen, in winter cosy by the log burner (the Lake bedroom also has the panoramic views). Maximum occupancy 5 people in total. Minimum stay 2 nights. - The Self catering apartment at 1A Earnslaw Terrace. This accommodation offers two double bedrooms (with superking double beds which convert into twin beds if required), a spacious sitting room, large, well equipped kitchen/diner, large shower room, separate laundry. Maximum occupancy 4. Mininimum stay 3 nights. Access is down a flight of stone steps. There is off street parking, free Wi-Fi, 100% cotton linen and towels, Manuka Honey Body/Hand wash Shampoo/Conditioner. The walk into the centre of Queenstown takes about 20 minutes, so all the many activities the area offers are close at hand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The B & B on the Hill

Address: 1 Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $111 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The B & B on the Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The B & B on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The B & B on the Hill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The B & B on the Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the Lake View Room. Sitting with a drink and looking across the lake to the mountains was wonderful !”
GeoffTrevarthen, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view room”
Angelinss, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the room with the lake view but the common areas offer the same.”
PhotoCouple, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lovely location with brilliant views.”
67jennifer, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the Lakeview Bedroom for the excellent view.”
noor39, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates