We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 618: English reviews
Encinitas, California
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is beautiful, economical, and located within walking distance to downtown Queenstown. You are first greeted by an impressive lobby. The grounds are extensive and gardenlike. (a little confusing with all the levels, but that's ok.) The rooms are clean and modern. And the view from our room was to die for. The staff was friendly. It took a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruinlover
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review about the Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown, really glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments about the staff that I will pass on.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went to Queenstown for our anniversary and the place was lovely- very clean, beautiful surroundings and the placement of our room was very convenient as it was next door to the spa pool which we really were pleased. it was centrally located- mostly walking distance to everything. only thing was it wasn't that easy to find rooms at the start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese C
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feed back, glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown and we appreciate your time in writing a review

Newcastle
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had 4 nights at the CHRQL, booked online site unseen, and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. In short, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room (1 bedroom suite) was fairly spacious, but not much by way of self containment (but, on reflection, it was booked as a hotel room, not an apartment, so I'm not sure why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LOCKMAC07
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad you seem to have enjoyed your stay. The property is large and well spread out and I take your point on the internet charges. Thanks for your comments much appreciate your feed back.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights at the beginning of a 3 week stay in nz. We were lucky to receive a complementary upgrade to a one bedroom lake view suite,the view was amazing. The hotel is positioned a ten minute walk uphill from Queenstown which was a bit of a hike after a day of action and adventuring but well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galway-gurl
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments especially on the staff, glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown.

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My room got no sun and was as far from the reception as possible , down a flight of stairs.The rate was really high considering no gym. There was a problem with the booking ( of my making) but the staff were extremely unhelpful. I seemed to me they were trying to extract the maximum dollars possible....charge for using a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailf1955
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feed back I will pass these on to my Front Office Manager, we do charge for car parking at $10 a night or $20 a stay, so I will check to see that you have not been overcharged and credit your card accordingly, we do appreciate your feed back and hope you enjoyed Queenstown.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2013

You would think that Lakefront means a view but many rooms face across to other rooms, are dark and hot as there is no air conditioning just a fan. I was orginally told I was unable to change but after many tries I finally upgraded from $170 to $185 per night. I was told I was unable to cancel as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerri S
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back on the hotel, it is a shame that you did not seem to get service that you have paid for and I apologise for that, I hope your conference was a success and you enjoyed what Queenstown had to offer. I will pass on all your comments to department heads for them to review...

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hello, Ben Forrester, Duty Manager - went out of his way to help us. Our rental car was had 4 flats.He called AA on his account, and helped liaise with the rental company the next day as well. He was a big help, as we were at our wits end as to how to go about it late night. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank db19752013
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for the feed back and your comments on Ben I will pass these on to him, glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed at a few Copthorne Hotels and this was the best by far. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with very nice garden views. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and the breakfast exceeded all customers requirements. A very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikewsm
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and staff I will pass these on to them as they are very mindful of all comments they receive.

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The room was comfortable clean and modern and the view from our window was amazing. It's a shame their staff were so rude. When we checked in half way through serving us the guy (who we discovered later was a duty manager!) starting chatting with some friends. When we asked for a recommendation of where to eat in town the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clairesom
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feed back and I will be pointing this out to the staff, thank you again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Copthorne Lakefront hotel has been a good place to stay during my tour of the south island, my room with a large kingsize bed, balcony with a view to Lake Wakatipu, and plenty of room. I've not explored the facilities of the hotel, however I've had room service for breakfast each day which has been very good, and tonight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BryGL
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind feed back on the hotel, your breakfast card should have been replaced and I have taken this comment to housekeeping in order for them to ensure all of the door hangers are checked. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,868 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
807 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,219 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $174 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check if you want a room with views”
 of 5 bubbles ianm658, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and get the Lake view rooms - huge windows where you take in the magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryThied, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a lake view are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quite”
 of 5 bubbles Bubbles10024370, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel if you want a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelers_jg_dm, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay