We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,779: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Renovations were ongoing while we were there. Disruptions kept to a minimum. Rooms are tired but they are being renovated so can't hold that against them. Wifi is free and fast. View makes up for any other downfalls!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The lobby was large and welcoming. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The view was fantastic, and it is only a short walk to all the restaurants and shops in town. I would stay here again. The pillows could be a bit more comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArmyAimz
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

do no go before March 2017 renovations all year we were told part of the hotel is under renos...well let me tell you...the whole place was noisy lifts not working everything was just breaking down...time outages that they couldn't be bothered telling you about like lights and tv not working due to maintenance...that's all we heard for 6 nights we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Effie V
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Effie V, Thank you for your feedback, I was deeply disappointed to read overall we failed to meet your expectations and I am very concerned with the issues you highlighted, please feel free to contact myself should you wish to discuss further. As you can appreciate, our notices of refurbishment have been communicated across all our booking agents, online...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really liked our stay at Rydges. It is a short walk from the centre of Queenstown, which makes for a quieter stay, and our room had great views over the water and towards the mountains . The reception staff member who checked us in also offered us helpful local advice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2Aussies1442
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi 2Aussies1442, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality and the hotels stunning location. I will definitely pass on your comments to the entire team We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, VS

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told that certain facilities were not available to us due to renovations which is fine but no reduction in room charge was offered to us and we were not able to go elsewhere as most of the accommodation in the town was booked out due to an event. After arriving in our room it was obvious to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveonz44
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Steveonz44, Thanks for your post....Great efforts are being made to manage the redevelopment and detailed planning with the project contractors is being carried out on a regular basis to ensure minimum disruption to guests. Rest assured, we value your feedback and we are confident that our guests will appreciate the benefits of the new and enhanced facilities when this...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception staff were friendly enough but the room was tiny, stuffy and out dated. Over priced for what you get! The only accommodation on our whole trip that didn't provide real milk for a cuppa! View and location are good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Kerry H, Thank you for your review, Great to read you enjoyed our stunning views and convenient location... I am sorry to hear certain aspects and the condition of the hotel did not meet your approval. Regards, Vince

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Good: The staff on the front office /desk are five star, we had an issue with plant room noise keeping us awake and they had no issue with moving us to an identical room on a higher floor away from the noise. They organised the whole shift while we were out, fantastic! The huge king sized bed was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerMelbourne
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi TravellerMelbourne, Thanks for your review, I do appreciate you listing the pros and cons during your stay with us and have taken your comments on board for review with our management team to avoid the highlighted issues from happening again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused Regards, VS

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay. Fantastic views. The staff were able to change the room my friend and I were staying in as she was in a wheelchair and our first room would of been inaccessible. Big thank-you to Cathy - very helpful with moving park cars so we could get a park for my friend while the wheelchair park was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belindasloan
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Belindasloan, Thanking you for your excellent feedback, Happy to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and in particular Cathy who was able to assist.... I will certainly pass on your comments to Cathy and our entire team Regards, VS

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are very small and balconies the same, just enough for two to sit and enjoy the lake views. Only one lift means long waits when large groups arrive. Parking.....well that is another thing. We booked knowing there was parking on the roof, but ha ha, park wherever you can on the street. That can be klms away! Rooms need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Sandra B, Thanking you for your honest feedback, Pleased to read you enjoyed the stunning views from our hotel. We do apologise for the limited parking spaces available as we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the hotel. Regards, VS

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

actually we stayed just one night, because bad weather. Our flight was canceled, because we feel comfortable and cool location. so we went back again to stay at Rydges. when we check in and tell our planes canceled condition. the staff at the front desk gave free up grade room. friendly staff, close to where.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reza S
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Reza S, Thanks for sharing your experience with us and great to hear your stay was overall a positive one. I have passed on your positive comments to our front desk team! Hope to see back in Queenstown! Regards, VS

576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (563)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,867 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#16 of 57 in Queenstown
1,316 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $165 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the lake view rooms have a great of the mountains and the lake, but higher level rooms give you a better view”
 of 5 bubbles steveonz44, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lakeview room maybe in a newer part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles travellerMelbourne, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“take the lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles RezaS38, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King-size suite with views”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have a view which is great.”
 of 5 bubbles 678amberw, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay