We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,878: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
 Click to rate
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I naively assumed that when I booked a Lakeview Junior Suite I would be able to see the lake! As my husband was working while we were here I thought I could sit in my room admiring the beautiful Lake! However the view from our room was of a concrete balcony with a concrete wall! Not at all stunning. Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SweetChocolate65
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms poorly planned, two large double beds for only a couple when one queen or king bed would have been adequate for most guests. Yet, the bathroom size is ridiculously small. Also, the shower in the bath is dangerous (slip and fall injuries). When are Kiwi planners going to start installing stand alone showers in hotels as is the trend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpellis68
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hello mpellis68, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are concerned by your recent experience and appreciate you bringing your feedback to our attention. I do apologise for the noise issue you highlighted and our team are currently reviewing the issues you have highlighted. Overall I am disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Regards, VS

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Incompetent service, real lack of care factor. Staff struggle to realise its actually the customer who pays their wages. Room outdated, shower over bath, no remote, 2 single beds pushed together, no fan in bathroom, inadequate heating for Queenstown, facilities inadequate and overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regan C
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Regan C, Thank you for your feedback, I was deeply disappointed to read overall we failed to meet your expectations and I am very concerned with the issues you highlighted, please feel free to contact myself should you wish to discuss further. Regards, VS

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of all although the room is tired, the paint work chipped, stained carpet, black marks on the ceiling, bathroom needs a refresh, poor signal on the tv- the bed was comfortable, hence the one star. From the beginning...... The car park is tiny, we got in just in time but the queue of cars behind us had to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nothappy87
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hello nothappy87, Thank you for your feedback, I was disappointed to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations, please feel free to contact myself should you wish to discuss further. Regards, VS

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The positives are the location, and a nice bar on the top floor. The room was dated but of a good size, clean, with a phenomenal view. Service was fine and friendly. But, it felt overpriced for a hotel of this standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenelm75
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Kenelm75 Thanking you for pointing out the positives and negatives during your stay with us which are equally important, happy to read you enjoyed the stunning views and our friendly service.. Regards, VS

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had just returned from walking the Milford Track, and we decided to book the Rydges in Queenstown to finish off our South Island experience. After staying at the Rydges in Auckland, we had high expectations. To say we were disappointed when we arrived would be an understatement. After exiting the elevator, we walked down the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Beth
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Peter_Beth, Thanks for your review, I do appreciate your feedback as this allows us the chance to work on the areas that require attention. It is important to us that all our guests enjoy their stay with us, however it was clear that on this occasion we let you down. I would therefore welcome the opportunity to discuss this...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never been compelled to leave a review on a hotel until now, such is our disappointment. We have traveled a lot and paid similar prices to this hotel elsewhere in NZ and overseas, and frankly, we've had miles better hotels for a lot less. The room is dated, the lake view that was promised I'd mostly of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottishkiwilass
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Scottishkiwilass, Thank you for your feedback, I was deeply disappointed to read overall we failed to meet your expectations and I am very concerned with the issues you highlighted, please feel free to contact myself should you wish to discuss further. Regards, VS

Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, but not "world class". Probably one of the better places in Queenstown however. We had a large room with lots of luggage space. Our room faced the lake, which I would recommend, and had a great view of the lake and mountains. The bathroom was quite functional, but nothing special. Main drawback was that the hotel is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank J
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Frank J, Thanking you for your positive words, I was pleased to read we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed our hospitality and our hotels stunning location only a 5 minute flat walk into the town centre Regards VS

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst this is clearly one of the more impressive looking hotels, it leaves quite a bit of room for Improvement. The hotel is a large building set on the lakefront a short walk from Queenstown centre. It's a pleasant walk along the lake, and with (limited) parking available onsite or free on the road outside it's worth leaving the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smurf4568
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi smurf4568, Thanks for taking the time to post your honest review, I was disappointed to read that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is important as it allows us to work on improvements in the areas you have highlighted Regards, VS

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Rydges Lakeland for 4 nights. The lobby area is smart and well presented, but the rest of the hotel though looks dated and worn. It looks like it is undergoing a refurbishment or soon will be. If this is the case, it will be spectacular. The views across the lake are great, and it is about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJOswald
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi DJOswald, Thanks for your review, I was pleased to read the location of our hotel provided you with those fantastic moments, our direct views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains are truly remarkable! We hope to see you back in Queenstown Regards, VS

634 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (621)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
3,033 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,333 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,402 reviews
6.0 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $132 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This place really isn't value for money”
Peter_Beth, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the lake.”
519frankj, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better for views of the lake. Ask for one with a balcony.”
DJOswald, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room on the upper floors so you don't miss out on the view like we did”
70gillw, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms high up will get amazing sunrise over the mountains”
JohnandKayla, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5