We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Booking.comUS$113*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,878: English reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

I think the rydges is going through menopause it's it's getting a bit old and dated might need a bit of a makeover soon. In saying that the rooms were turned over daily and they were clean which is the most important thing. Staff were nice enough you could hear the Chains moving in the lift which creeped me out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katey R
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Katey R, Thank you for your honest evaluation of our hotel, I apologise for the minor issues you experienced and we hope you stay with us on your next visit to queenstown. Regards, Vince

New York
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I just checked in today for a five day stay and I am absolutely disappointed. My "Deluxe" room overlooks a parking lot and has so much noise from the street, it's nearly unbearable. When I asked to be switched at the front desk, the manager was rude and said that I was in the fault. I am delighted to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agatha K
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Agatha K, Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I was disappointed to read that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is important as it allows us to work on improvements in the areas you have highlighted. Regards, Vince

Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in superior partial lake view room. Good value for money. we had a great view and a very large bed. Short walk to the centre. Only bad point is the shower: my partner is 6ft4in and I'm 5ft9in we both had to crouch down to get under the shower! The shower head only moved left to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beccadeca
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Beccadeca, I was pleased to read your stay with us was an overall positive one, I do apologise for the discomfort you and your partner experienced and have passed on your comments to our maintenance team Regards, Vince

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Sadly this hotel has seen its best, the staff were very un-attentive and our luggage did not arrive to our rooms until 5 minutes before we were due to leave for dinner. Not happy to go out with the same clothes we had been in all day. The rooms were the smallest in town and the bathroom practically non existent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Heather D, I thank you for your honest feedback, and my apologies for the standard of hotel and services not meeting your expectations, I have taken your comments on board for discussion with our team to further improve our product. Regards, Vince

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We recently stayed at the Rydges hotel in Queenstown and experienced both positives and negatives. The location and views from the room and the restaurant are excellent. The rooms and most public areas are tired, and the rooms lack air-conditioning with the hotel providing a fan on request. The standard of housekeeping and outside maintenance was not great. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller195
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear avidtraveller195, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for the housekeeping detail our team failed to pickup, please note I have passed on your comments to our team and to ensure our standards are kept consistently high. Regards, Vince

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We stayed here for one night on arrival from the UK just to crash and get some sleep. The reception was business like and we were pointed in the direction of our room. It was on the third floor. Quiet it was not, noise from the corridor, room service staff knocking on the door, noise from the road outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dbonners
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Dbonners, Thank for your feedback and for highlighting the issues you experienced during your stay which I have passed on to our team for action, in regards to CC surcharge, unfortunately most hotels in NZ apply the charge. Regards, Vince

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 February 2015

The decor and furniture are a little jaded but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, we were on the 10th floor and had a great view of the lake. The staff were very friendly and helpful and parking on the 7th floor wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was very good and we had a table by the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0mmygirl
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear p0mmygirl, Thanks for posting you review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed the stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains, also happy to hear our hospitality met with your approval. Regards, Vince

Bangalore
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Rooms are spacious and have a jaded look. It seems like a big hotel and very inviting. Be careful - Google Maps leads you to a parking lot that is on the 7th floor and not the front of the hotel. Of course, their staff are not caring as mentioned by others and they did not help with luggage. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNPRAHLAD
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear DNPRAHLAD, Thanking you for your feedback and I was pleased to read you enjoyed the fantastic views from your room, I do apologise for the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations in relation to the age and condition of the hotel and the rooms which are not self contained units, However we have taken your...

Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Reviewed 8 February 2015

The hotel looks very inviting from the outside so you expect a minimum of good service,the housekeeping is friendly and helpful unfortunately the same can not be said about the breakfast staff,when asked on the behalf of a fellow traveller who happens to be a vegatarian if there was some cheese available for breakfast the reply was not a simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ledoute
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear ledoute, Thanks for your review of our hotel, I apologise for the issues you highlighted and I have passed on your comments to our food & beverage manager and our maintenance manager to follow up. Regards, Vince

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We stayed here twice during our recent trip to NZ. The first time in the cheaper back rooms (perfectly functional) and the second time in one of their superior suites, overlooking the lake. The staff were consistently helpful. Our plans were changed last minute before we arrived due to a tour cancelling, and the staff were incredibly helpful - storing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taezar
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Taezar, Thanking you for taking the time out to post your positive review, I was delighted to read our concierge team were more than happy to assist and that your stay was overall perfect! I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team! We hope to see you back in stunning Queenstown Regards, Vince

634 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (621)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
3,033 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,333 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,402 reviews
6.0 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $132 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This place really isn't value for money”
Peter_Beth, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the lake.”
519frankj, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better for views of the lake. Ask for one with a balcony.”
DJOswald, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room on the upper floors so you don't miss out on the view like we did”
70gillw, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms high up will get amazing sunrise over the mountains”
JohnandKayla, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$113* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$127
Hotels.comUS$113
Expedia.comUS$113
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates