We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Villa Del Lago

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$212*
Great Deal
US$215*
US$215*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 523: English reviews
Start your review of Villa Del Lago
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stay here. Walking distance from downtown Queenstown along the lake. 7 star views on he lake and mountains. Rooms are spectacular and Mel was very easy going and pleasant to deal with. I have stayed in larger hotels in town and this place is much better. Kitchen, in-room laundry, living room area and heated floors in he bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanVasya
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful and kind review. We'd love to have you back again any time! Cheers

Oakland, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here the first two nights of our one month trip to New Zealand and I recommend this accommodation enthusiastically. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time and understood that it was not guaranteed that our room be ready; however, it was ready and we were able to settle in right away. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hereishome
About Hotel's Favourite Review
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We would love to have you to stay longer. Maybe next time! Cheers

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights. Shown to our room and everything explained well. Room very clean and comfortable, warm and cosy with small kitchenette.Nicely appointed bathroom with minimal towels, ie 1 each. Did ask for an extra towel. Bed comfortable, quite firm, with good linen. Nil noise heard at night and minimal during the day,good soundproofing. Lovely view out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review. The kitchen is not strictly speaking a kitchenette. It has a full-size four burner gas hob, pull out extractor fan, large sink, small oven, large fridge with freezer, a pantry with microwave and cupboards full of all the kitchen appliances and utensils you may need for cooking - including toaster, kettle, full set of pots...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Happy to pay the high rates here as the views and rooms are absolutely worth it however found it a little rude when we were asked to pay for all 4 nights up front within 5 mins of arriving (first place in NZ that did that and I found the presumption we may not pay on departure a bit rude)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foody741
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you felt we did not give you due respect while you were at Villa del Lago. Unfortunately, because of a recent number of incidents where people have left without paying, we have had to change our policy to pay on arrival instead of pay on departure. While most of our...

nyc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our apartment was located at the lowest level overlooking the lake. The villa was spacious for the 2 of us and having a laundry was such a positive given we had been traveling for weeks. We loved the walk into Queenstown every day - less than a half hour and it was great to walk along the lakefront - always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fourkidsNyc
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay. For clarity, our one bedroom Suites at the lowest level by the lake are down three flights of stairs from the car park. All of our 2 and 3 bedroom Villas have walk in access from the car parking areas. If you require assistance getting heavy luggage...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an incredible stay. Accommodation was beautiful and so well set up for a family. Was great also to be able to use washing machine in our own unit. Incredible, and we were sad to leave. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo A
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward t having you back some day.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's really handy for getting the laundry done if you're travelling around NZ. Views of the lake are lovely. Otherwise, not much to say - rooms are basic. My bed was not comfortable. It's a long walk into queenstown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QQuietroomfan
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The walk into town takes 25 minutes, it's a lovely walk along the lake on the Queenstown trail. All of the beds in the one bedroom Suites were replaced with new beds a year ago. They are high quality beds designed for the hotel industry and are fitted with 1000gsm luxury toppers. Most of our...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Our stay at Villa del Lago was very nice. Decently equipped kitchen, fridge and dishwasher, and a gas fireplace make this a great place to stay. Lots of space and wonderful views of the lake. Receptionist was very enthusiastic when describing the many places to see and eat. Half hour walk to downtown Queenstown along the lake. Parking is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pencoyd
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you will be able to return to stay again some day.

California
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Look no further then the Villa Del Lago if you are going to stay in Queenstown. Beautiful setting where every room has a view of the lake. Each suite has been well thought out and the furnishings are beautiful. They have done everything right here and you won;t be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emptynesters79
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 28 March 2017

we stayed here for 3 nights [2 couples] in March [2017], great unit very well equiped and comfortable amazing views of the mountains...Mel the lady at reception was great.... along with her what to do, eat and drink in and around Queenstown / Arrowtown advice. wifi is slow!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marty B
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback. We are working on the Wifi and hope our efforts will improve the speed. Cheers

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (211)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Suite (66)
Viewed
3 Bedroom Villa (114)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.9 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.6 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.8 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $246 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Del Lago staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Del Lago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has no lift, ask for unit that doesn't have stair access if you have mobility issues.”
GingerRose63, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“The lower villas near the lake have incredible views. But you need to carry your suitcases up and down the stairs.”
fourkidsNyc, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“best views of the lake and the mountains”
  • View from our room
Wutosama, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great, but be aware that there are steps involved to get to certain units (ours #7).”
DJ512, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The lower the better for views of the lake - although there are no bad views from any apartment”
taipan168, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$212* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$215
TripAdvisorUS$215
PricelineUS$215
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates