We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frankton Motor Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of Frankton Motor Camp
 Click to rate
Montacute
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night in our campervan - nice view of the lake - very basic park and agree with other reviews on amenities etc...a little TLC could make this camp come from basic to good. If you need a hot shower and a spot to park the van it has both.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeni W
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in tent while visiting the area. Handy to the airport walking distance away. Right by the lake and you can pitch your tent really close if you want. Kitchen and shower block all okay but always busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I called few times until get the information about availability. When we arrived it didn't look like a camping. The place is very simple and cleaning, we got a cabin for one night and it was pleasant. The view to the lake is awesome! The kitchen and toilet were ok. Would be great if was possible book online and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alzira33
Leeston
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a standard cabin for 5 nights as we had a wedding in Arrowtown to go to. It was a good place to stay, you get what you pay for. Showers were the best powerful and warm. Rooms were clean,hire or bring your own bedding (if hiring it's barely anything so worth it $5 for entire stay ),we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Reviewed 3 April 2016

On arrival, the receptionist was quite rude and impatient. We stayed in a cabin beside a kitchen which was super handy. You need to bring your own blankets, but pillows and bottom sheets are provided. A bonus was the tv in the room, so you could hook up electronics. Also fridge and tea making facilities. The bathrooms were average but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Peekaboo19
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two days when we arrived in Queenstown, stayed on the lakefront. Sounds lovely, though in tent isn't a good idea, Got battered and blown about a bit. Second night we had to stay in a cabin as our flight got cancelled. One cabin left, reasonable price, good bed, pretty bog standard. The lady in reception also pre booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fr13ndly
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Found it difficult to get any closer to Queenstown. Happy with the site. W e were parked right down at the back overlooking the water and had a beautiful view. Empty spaces filled up very quickly but everyone was friendly. Only problem was the trail of young people heading through the campsite to a party in a flat overlooking us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladybrr
Singapore
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

The most expensive motor camp we've been to during our stay in NZ for the poorest service. A complete disappointment : dirt everywhere, horrible view on rusty caravans, and super crowded. The management clearly made the choice to extract as much money as they could from each m² with no consideration whatsoever to quality. My sincerest advise: drive elsewhere, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ka M
Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

When you 1st arrive at the Frakton Motor Camp you might think your in a trailer park. You kind of are I think. Get a spot down by the water for a nice view of the lake. They pack you in pretty well but luckily was quiet by 10pm. The facilities were clean and more than adequate. Easy 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Upnorthtransplant1
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Yes, our camping ground has got a spread of nightly campers, semi permanent traveler's and permanent residents. This has been the case for a number of years and especially at present due to the accommodation crisis Queenstown is experiencing. We are pleased you didn't find this a problem. Thank you for your positive comments regarding...

Halkett, Canterbury
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We were a family group of 2 couples in Queenstown to attend a wedding. We had a cabin with ensuite and kitchen. Had a picnic table outside the door well positioned for breakfast in the sun and a fantastic view of Lake Whakatipu as the camp is right on the waterfront. Some buildings look a little tired, but generally the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renicarl
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It's lovely when guests who have enjoyed there stay take the time to comment, although we receive a huge amount of positive feedback in person. We generally find that guests who have been less than impressed with their stay for whatever reason prefer to air it on the tripadvisor instead of bringing it to our...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
1.7 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
5.3 km away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
5.6 km away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#79 of 89 in Queenstown
471 reviews
35.7 km away
Kingston Holiday Park
Kingston Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Kingston
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Frankton Motor Camp

Address: 17 Yewlett Crescent | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frankton Motor Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Frankton Motor Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a spot down at the lakefront. Very relaxing”
  • View from our lakeside powered site
  • Peaceful outlook
 of 5 bubbles Tootone56, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Check the rooms cleanness before paying, and what is in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles CJ1H, 22 Feb 2014 | Read review
2 of 2