We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avon House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Avon House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Avon House Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights with Aloma and John, they were recommended by Ray from Fiordland Tours. We were welcomed with a nice cup of tea and home made biscuits. We were in a twin room with exclusive use of the bathroom. We had an early start on the first day and our hosts reassured us this was no problem. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie2807
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed at Avon House for 3 nights and Aloma and John could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay. We were offered a choice of rooms and we chose the upstairs room was lovely and spacious and the bed was nice and comfy. There was another couple staying at the same time as us downstairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackleys
Indre, France
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Avon House was everything we hoped it would be and so much more. Warm, welcoming and thoughtful hosts. Comfortable, spacious accommodation set in a beautiful, well tended garden. Breakfasts are generous and offer much variety. The loaded afternoon tea tray, what an unexpected treat! Thanks also Aloma and John for all your travel tips and advice and for helping to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilramsay
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We appreciate you have made the time to do a review for us as we now know Roy had serious health issues to deal with during your visit to N Z. So pleased to know his recovery is going well. it was such a pleasure hosting you in our home and we hope one day you will do a return...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 December 2016

It was much nicer to stay at Avon than in the crowded hotels where tour groups go. There isn't too much to do in the town, but the hosts are lovely and took care to offer helpful tips for the drive to Milford Sound. Not much more you'd want.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 502Dave
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. We always like to know our guests get the opportunity to see as much of Fiordland as their time with us allows. It's always a pleasure for us to host guests from different country's and share our knowledge with them. Thank you again. Aloma and John

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Warmly welcomed by the hosts, Aloma and John, and treated like an old friend throughout my four nite stay. Accommodations were very comfortable and clean and breakfast was served no matter what time you needed it, always with a side of engaging conversation. From the moment I reached out to them about a possible reservation, Aloma was extremely helpful with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. We very much enjoyed hosting you for the four days you had with us and sharing our knowledge of Fiordland with you. It was great you were able to achieve all you wanted to do on our local tracks during your visit. Many thanks...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. Generous, kind, entertaining and thoughtful hosts - who provided an ideal "home from home " experience. Comfortable, quite rooms and a continental style breakfast. Highly recommended particularly if you like motorcycling, Lord of the Rings or the outdoors in general. A great location in the Fiordland. Such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura k
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We hope the rest of your motorcycle adventure going North up to Nelson went well for you and you did not get disrupted by the earthquake in Kaikoura, we wondered how your progress went for you. We hope your honeymoon in N Z was memorable. It was our pleasure hosting you in...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with Aloma for one night on our way between Queenstown and Milford Sound. We had an absolutely lovely stay. We are huge Lord of the Rings fans and started our stay on a personalized tour arranged by John for some filming locations near by. Aloma welcomed us like family and treated us as such. True...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiglioreM
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet and host you both in our home. John was very disappointed he was away working on a cruise ship at the time of your visit but we know our friend Carol was able to pass his knowledge of Lord of the Rings on to you very well. Our very best wishes to you both...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We absolutely loved our stay with John & Aloma at Avon House. We were greeted so warmly on arrival and from that moment on were treated just like family. The B&B is in a very good location, within walking distance of the local FreshChoice supermarket and town, as well as the beautiful lake. Will definitely look up Avon House again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyabc90
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Tanya and Nicholas, We so much appreciated you taking the time to do a review for us. It was nice to hear you had arrived home safely. We very much enjoyed hosting you also John was very happy sharing his experience of working with Sir Peter Jackson and the locations of Lord of the Rings with you. We hope...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a night at Avon House as a stop over between Oamaru and Milford Sound and we are so happy we did. Aloma looked after us so well, and helped us with our travel plans to Milford Sound which had to be altered due to weather. My husband and I will always remember her care and concern for us!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimimiu
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Siew Pheng and Chong, Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. It is very much appreciated. I enjoyed your company and hosting you for the night. I hope the weather cleared for you and you had the opportunity to visit Mount Cook. Warmest best wishes and safe travel. Aloma

Reviewed 29 August 2016

My sister and I have wanted to tour New Zealand for 43 years, and we finally did it in 2016. After spending many nights in B & B's over the years, we were delighted to see that Te Anau, one of our destinations, had a B & B. The Avon House B & B was such a treat. Not only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol S
Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Carol for taking the time to do a review for us. It is so very much appreciated. John really enjoys sharing his experience of working with Sir Peter Jackson on the Lord of the Rings sites around Fiordland with our guests. We also enjoyed sharing our home with you and your sister and maybe you will get back...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.3 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.8 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.9 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
246 reviews
1.2 km away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Avon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Melland Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Avon House Bed & Breakfast Te Anau, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avon House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avon House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in a two-single bedroom, it was very spacious, ideal for people traveling solo or for friends.”
 of 5 bubbles dimmp86, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go for exclusive use so that you don't have to share a bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 886michaelv, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Both rooms are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles F5448WKwendyg, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
“For the upstairs loft room, the toilet is downstairs.”
  • fancy zebra roomcoat
  • spacious loft room
 of 5 bubbles huys25, 6 May 2013 | Read review
“Doesn't matter. Just a nice place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 821LizM821, 7 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5