We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I arrived in New Zealand with my mother the Monday before Anzac weekend, to visit my sister and her family. They came across the Kingsgate Hotel, three days before the start of the long weekend, it was one of the only hotels left in Te Anau that still had vacancies for that weekend, and with the best prices! After about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elana_fourie
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Our room was big, comfortable and very clean with a view of the lake. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The food we had from room service was good and the service was quick. Definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie-a-r-7
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive reply regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff. Kind Regards Anita Brown general Manager

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 14 May 2014

At just NZD 89 and given its location right on the shore of Lake Anau, this place is great VFM. Additional pluses are that the city centre is just about 400m away, where one can find cafes and restaurants offering almost all cuisines. The rooms have a large French window and comfortable beds, a bath tub, kettle, refrigerator, tea, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shyamnambiar
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

mosgiel
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed 3 nights. We needed two rooms and they gave us these right across from each other that was good. We did get an okay deal but paying over $500 for this eats into the budget. But overall we all enjoyed it. The only disappointment was how bad the internet is....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pepperkaz
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and pleased that you had a good family weekend away. The internet service and pricing is as per our company policy, and will pass on your comments. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we had a lovely weekend 25th april 26th april 2014 the room was lovely clean and big the bathroom was lovely we enjoyed the dinner at night it was really nice and breaksfast in the morning was great the staff were good and we found it really quite even as it was full it was a nice walk to town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2014

booked into this hotel for 2 nights we had traveled all day and arrived at the Hotel at 1 pm told our room was been serviced and we could not get in until 2 30 When we were taken to our room it was small and like a back packer accommodation i went to the bath room and found hairs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank palmerston57
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was aware of incident regarding your check in to your room and deeply embarrassed of your findings regarding the cleaniness of the room. Housekeeping ahve been spoken to regarding this matter and I do offer my apologies as this should never have happened. Kind Regards Anita...

Egham
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I came to stay here with some trepidation, after reading previous trip advisor reports. I emailed in advance to ask for a ground floor room, they did not respond so I thought they had not got it. They had received it and had acted on my request. We were offered help with our luggage but did not need it. Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hevsy
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that the hotel surpassed your expectations. I will have pleasure in passing on your to Darren & Lyn that you found them particulary helpful. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Vancouver WA
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel and food were good. Room was clean and comfortable. Laundry facilities available. Buffet food was ample and varied. The location was good and the setting was wonderful. Te Anau is a cute little town. A variety of shops to poke around in. Nice walking path along the lake. Another nice stop on our trip through the South Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jocarose
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the meals. It is a lovely walk from the hotel along the lakeside into the town centre. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was conveniently located, and it was a short walking distance to the restaurants and shops in the town center and the lake. It feels like a typical chain hotel. The rooms were average and clean, and you only had wifi at the front desk unless you paid for it in your room. We stayed here for two nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaileAndFred
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and the walk into the town centre along the lakeside. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 March 2014

They give you 20 minutes of free wifi, or 20mb, which may mean you get to stay on the internet for less than 10 minutes. Other motels in New Zealand and in Te Anau give unlimited or almost unlimited wifi. The ground floor rooms face the tour bus pick up area, so you may be awakened at 6 a.m. by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XenophonAnabasis
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. As you mentioned we only offer daily 20 minutes or 20 MB's in the lobby, other properties may offer unlimited Wifi which would be included in a higher room rate. We endeavour to allocate guests away from the coaches leaving early...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $126 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper level has some mountain view rooms. Include brekky with your room booking.”
 of 5 bubbles AlokThapar, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe stay away from rooms directly over the entrance - it's quite busy with coaches arriving and leaving.”
 of 5 bubbles kateb999, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieB2010, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room. We found it very comfortable. It was very sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles daffydolly, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try somewhere else first”
 of 5 bubbles robh982, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay