We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Village Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Village Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Village Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the village inn before our hike in nov 2014, it is a simple but nice hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is also nice and they offered to cook our eggs to our liking. Friendly staff. I would recommend and come back anytime.

Thank Ingrid S
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2014

average room with paid wifi as is usual in nz. breakfast was ok toast and cereal. walking distance to town. its an ok choice. the hotel is a theme hotel with old shops as the front. the doo to your room is a unsecure slidig glass door.

Thank gijadenyc
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2014

This is a rather run down group of buildings designed to resemble an old wild west town. However, it needs to have some money spent on it as it looked very seedy when we we stayed there . Unfortunately we were booked for two nights, in a 'Superior Room' The rooms however were clean and I can't complain about the... More 

1 Thank Bazzalarkin
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unique concept that is 'The Village Inn'. Thankfully you did have a couple of comfortable nights inside your unit. kind regards Anita More 

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2014

This is probably one of those places you either like or hate. We loved it. It looks like it was built in the 70's or 80's. The rooms have a verandah frontage which is in the shape of an old town. Our frontage was for a Saddlery. The main complex has a dining facility and bar, although we didn't use... More 

Thank Stuart W
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your review, you are so correct in saying that guests reactions do differ when they first see 'the village', but I am glad you did enjoy the fun nature of our concept. thank you for your positive comments on the unit you stayed in and please look us up if you are ever back in Te Anau. kind... More 

Kalamunda, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore the area and it was comfortable without being really good. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the heating was efficient and the room's lighting was well thought out. On the down side, the kitchenette was supplied with a toaster, electric frypan & crockery that... More 

2 Thank WoylieLover
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for submitting a review on your stay with us. we do appreciate your negative comments as these are the ones we use to help make our place better for our guests, but we love the positives. kind regards Anita More 

Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks a bit silly on the outside, but the rooms are quite nice. The dinette was nice to have with a couple of burners to use. The room itself was quite spacious. The lakeside is just a short walk away as well as town center. You have to pay for wi-fi, which we found to be very common... More 

2 Thank VeggieScramble
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a nice surprise the Village Inn was, lovely and clean and a massive room that I stayed in, clean facility and nice and close to town. Had a lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Convienent for tour company to pick you up.

Thank Jayne R
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for the great review. More 

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

stayed 3 nights, great location being just one street over from the town center. Good size room, bed & Bathroom. Although the bathroom is a bit dated the shower was excellent. Unfortunately we didn't know the restaurant was closed for the entire easter weekend until we arrived except for breakfast which finished at 9am (bit early for those who like... More 

Thank Julia E
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review The Village Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your easter weekend with us, and yes the proximity to the town centre is always a handy draw card. Alot of people are pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of our units. We would be very pleased to welcome you back on another occasion. kind... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This motel looked a bit quirky from the outside - like a wild west town, but the rooms were spacious and well equipped. The cleaning was fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant. Location is good for Milford Sound and Te Anau lake.

Thank sabingates
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am glad that the hotel had the facilities to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our main purpose was to visit Milord Sound and I really expected this accommodation to be a bit tacky. Perhaps the general old time village theme reminded me of an Orlando theme park! How wrong; after a warm welcome we discovered our truly delightful room. Large, light and airy with a large, very comfortable bed and small kitchenette with microwave,... More 

Thank GeepersP
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your accommodation exceeded your initial expectations. And in Fiordland we know the importance of having electric blankets on our beds, it can get very chilly at times for... More 

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (58)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (17)
View from Room (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
443 reviews
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
328 reviews
0.4 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Village Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travelling in September was perfect. I think we were the only guests and the weather was lovely.”
  • Very quiet, clean spacious room, modern bathroom, comfy bed. Kind, welcoming Manager, great pric
 of 5 bubbles CXBell412, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the area for the bus tours.”
 of 5 bubbles RandR_12, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Specify bed types before hand as they do not believe in common sense.”
 of 5 bubbles Tasmanfever, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a NON smoking room. Ours smelled like someone had smoked in it over the years.”
 of 5 bubbles JanA917, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All rooms quiet”
 of 5 bubbles avoca063, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay