We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Expedia.comUS$85*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 494: English reviews
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

This hotel needs some refurbishment, but it's location is great for exploring Te Anau and the trips to Milford and Doubtful Sounds. The rooms are spacious and there is plenty of parking. The restaurant was closed when we we there but there are plenty of places to eat in Te Anau including the wonderful pie shop near ireal office.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found our central location conductive to your needs. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Narrawallee, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Big hotel but in no way impersonal. Big rooms, big comfy beds with all the little things covered. It's central location makes shopping for essentials easy. The restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly. If in Te Anau seek this place out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found your room spacious and comfortable. Our central locations is definitely a BIG plus. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The...

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Our boat trip was cancelled due to bad weather we got a full refund from I-site but because we booked our accomodation through I-site an not direct with Distinction Luxmore Te Anau nothing was offered to help us...... Spent a very wet day in Te Anau when could have been on the next leg of our journey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionae360
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We do understand your frustration not being able to go to Milford Sound due to road closure and bad weather having traveled a long way. With regard to your booking, we did inform you that since the booking was pre-paid and booked through i-Site, the cancellation would need...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Ranked 4 stars but definitely more like a 3 star hotel. Very dated, dark hallways and the Air ventilation System kept buzzing every 15 minutes even when we dialed it off. Kept us up the whole night. Eh...that's all I have to say. Nothing to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowglobish
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am disappointed to read we didn't meet your expectations and my sincerest apologies about the ventilation system. Should we have been notified about the issue, we would have rectified it as the earliest. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The view of snow capped mountains from the room was a bonus on top of plenty of space and a clean room. Found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. The food and service at the Hilights Restaurant was very good too.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ZinamonKveen
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Hong Kong
Reviewed 12 September 2015

The hotel is nicely located with 3 minutes walking distance from Te Anau, with centre to a quiet neighbourhood. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Staffs are also very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ernestse
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conductive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Gore, N
Reviewed 21 August 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Luxmore for a weekend to attend a function there. The staff were great. They were very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. They also had free Wi-Fi which was great. I would highly recommend the Luxmore for a lovely weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy451
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad all your expectations were met and you enjoyed the beautiful food on offer and friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Like others barred from Milford Sound by snow and avalanches we found our spirits uplifted by the friendly and helpful service we received at Distinction, Te Anau - along with a gratis upgrade to a deluxe room (239). The spa bath, spacious room and large comfortable bed made for the stay that our tired state required. Beforehand the hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickcooper186414
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in beautiful Fiordland. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in your hotel mid July, room was as mentioned and spacious, not as clean as I was hoping for, especially the spa bath was dirty, definitely not been properly cleaned in a long time. Breakfast was served in a room wat was not much warmer then the temperature outside. Overall opinion was to much money for wat it was!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southern-dutchman
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am disappointed to read we didn't meet your expectations on this instance. I have taken note of your comments and will discuss it with the relevant departments. I assure you that this is not consistent to what we strive towards. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Easy parking, free wifi and very large 4 bed room made this a great stop after spending the day on the ferry. Really nice selection of shopping and dinner places surround this hotel, so your car can stay parked. Abundant towels and supplies in the room with lots of furniture. Would return over the congestion of Queenstown and hassle parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron22212
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted you experienced our warm southern hospitality and found your room spacious and comfortable. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in beautiful Fiordland. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
489 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $105 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for luxury,,,get a spa room. Its worth it”
astrids296, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“I elderly get a room with a shower, not a shower over bath.”
  • Shower over bath NO GOOD !!
  • Very clean and modern
4x4wheelers, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor facing away from the main street have views of the distant mountains.”
thereichinger, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not book 102-112 due to loud music from neighbouring bar”
nzrev, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the family room were very spacious”
Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$176
Hotwire.comUS$85
TravelocityUS$85
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates