We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel

Agoda.comUS$76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 454: English reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and were unimpressed. The unit had a queen bed and kitchenette. On arrival we discovered notices that said you weren't allowed to cook in the kitchenette, only 'reheat' cooked food. We have never seen a motel in NZ that provides a facility and then says you can't use it! On looking at our booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal2009
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we’re sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken on your feedback and have now resolved the issue with the shower. We thank you again for raising the issue with us at the time.

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Enjoyed our stay at the Bella Vista. The rooms were nicely appointed and were shiny clean. It is well located , walk to town and restaurants, as well as to the wharf. The owners were very helpful and allowed us to leave our car there while we took the overnight boat on Milford Sound. They also directed us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennardog
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! :-)

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Recently renovated and nice basic accommodations. Friendly owner and good location only 5 min walk to town center and lake shore. Only reason I did not give 5 stars was because hot water was a bit scarce in the mornings. Plan your showers accordingly. Otherwise well worth the stay and good jumping off point to Kepler Track and the Milford...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer43_55
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Great place to stop because it was in a fantastic location with easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The room was clean, but small. Free Wifi. Reception was very friendly and full of local knowledge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank athiview
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! :-)

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Very helpful, knowledgeable folk at the Bella Vista. Easy walk to downtown Te Anau. Nice, reasonably large rooms, clean and pleasant. The only drawback is the internet - which was terrible. If you're on holiday, then this might be no issue, in which case this is a great choice. If you need internet access, buy a NZ sim and tether...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie B
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The stay that I just had at Bellavista was really wonderful! The service advice and assistance provided by Ray (the fella in the office) was soooooo great helpful kind and above and beyond. Well worth going to this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibagel
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! :-)

Biggin Hill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Great location close to Glow Worm Caves and driving on to Milford Sound. Bella Vista Te Anau is very friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and very comfortable. There are some great local restaurants too. Whats not to like, go ahead book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Alyangula, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

My Partner and I were booked into Bella Vista for 2nights to attend Milford Sound Cruise, Staff were lovely, Motel close to the beach and town. Bed was comfortable and rooms are cleaned daily. Guests also have access to Laundry Facilities which always helps. One site parking also available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laviniamaka
Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Bella Vista Motel in Te Anau. The reception staff was very helpful and courteous. Our room was very clean. We appreciated being just a short walk from the lake and a short walk through a park to the main shopping area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTWare1
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Spent two days here. We it was clean, in a great location (minutes to town centre and the lake) and our room (18) had three sides making it well ventilated in the summer. The laundry was clean and efficient and the BBQ spotless. We're definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duncan P

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 km away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $107 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the end, which had an extra bedroom but we didn't need it.”
NorcalGSP, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appeared OK! We had an upstairs room!”
Parkdale-Beach, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“upstairs was nice”
np111, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are quieter. A couple of the ground floor rooms are very handy for the guest laundry.”
gf760, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs, if available; no elevator.”
bradh554, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates