We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radfords on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radfords on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radfords on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 562: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2015

My partner and I went to Te Anau for two nights. Our main aim was to see the Milford Sound, as it is closer to Te Anau than Queenstown and it meant we wouldn't spend most of the day on a bus and could see more of the area. Radfords on the Lake was great. We had an executive room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana C
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ana C, Thank you very much for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay at Radford's, we really do hope that you are able to come back and stay again as you were both such lovely people to host, so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here and you loved the area - it really...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Radford's was a nice surprise, we arrived late afternoon and the manager asked what we had planned for the evening and made some suggestions and where to have dinner we had a great night, the room was clean and nice separate living area and cooking facilities. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Leonie S, Thank you for your wonderful feedback - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found it a nice surprise! Thank you for choosing to stay at Radford's and we hope you have a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2016. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Had the pleasure of spending the last 2 nights of my 17-day New Zealand adventure at Radfords on the Lake. I couldn't have asked for a better place to end my trip. The location was fabulous, the views from my room (and seemingly every room) even better, and Kerri -- the innkeeper/owner -- was absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kettil
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Kettil, Thank you kindly for your glowing feedback, it really does make my day when I hear that we have helped to end your holiday on a high note. It was my absolute pleasure to share my local knowledge and advise to you. I trust that your trip home went well and you are settling in ready for the...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Excellent location across the road from the lake, close to restaurants, fantastic host and the BEST bed ever! The views of the mountains across the other side of the lake are outstanding - there was a fresh coating of snow overnight. Everything about this motel is first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bessie333
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Bessie333, Thank you its always so lovely to hear such positive feedback about our guests experience here at Radford's, you were such a delight to host and yes that fresh lot of snow on the mountains cooled things down a little! Thanks again for staying and we wish you all the very best. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Great spot on the lake, very friendly service with lots of recommendations for local activities and food. Easy walking distance to the main street and free onsite parking. Excellent bed to sleep in after a long day driving!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M, Thank you for taking the time to place your valued feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and also found our recommendations to be helpful whilst you were visiting Fiordland. We hope you take away many fond memories of your time spent here. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The Radfords on the Lake was a 5 star motel, right across the road to the lake with lovely views of the lake (our room was on the second floor, think it was number 13), the rooms were modern, stylish, bright, very clean and beds very comfortable, I recommend it highly and would stay there again as first choice. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JurisBuss
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear JurisBuss, We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay here at Radfords. The room you stayed in is one of my favourites as in my opinion it has one of the best views of the lake with a large spacious room to relax in. We have the ideal location being so close to the Lake and...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2015

I had a downstairs room with a king bed and amazing view of the lake. The room was modern, new and well furnished. Lovely bathroom and kitchenette. Sky TV and free wifi were also included. Kerri the owner could not have been more lovely and helpful. Certainly not the cheapest accommodation in Te Anau, however if you want to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_Mew_Mew
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Kitty_Mew_Mew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are wrapt that you enjoyed your time here at Radfords and found everything to be of a high standard. We do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while exploring Fiordland, host was very helpful explaining the area. Place has recently updated with a modern decor, couches, linen etc. a big thing for us was how clean and tidy it was - was exceptionally tidy. The view from our 2nd floor room was wonderful, made for a great relaxing evening. The only detractor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 711duncanw
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear 711duncanw, Thank you for taking the time to place your valued feedback. We take great pride in the presentation of our complex so we are pleased that we have met with your expectation. With regards to the price Te Anau is a seasonal town so our prices reflect this. We do hope you enjoy the next leg of your...

Reviewed 6 November 2015

Radfords has an excellent location, right across the road from the lake, so the views are spectacular. The room itself was extremely well furnished - we live in the UK, and my wife coped better with the jet lag than I did, so having a separate living room, for the inevitable times when I woke up at 3am was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ID576207
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear ID576207, Wow thank you for your kind words, we are always pleased to hear our guests have loved staying here, we have a pretty special view that we never tire of and this is always something our guests are amazed by. It was our pleasure to host you both and to offer our local knowledge of the area so...

Reviewed 4 November 2015

I was nervous about booking this place because in the states Motels have a stereotype of being a bit sketchy - but this place was fabulous. I stayed here for a night after visiting Milford and before driving to Wanaka - so I was happy to have a place to go at the end of the day. The receptionist was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Jackie D, We are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations of "motels" we are Qualmark 5 star rated, Qualmark is NZ's official quality assurance organisation which in turn provides a trusted guide to quality travel experiences, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and we do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your...

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $208 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs has most privacy and best views.”
 of 5 bubbles Spdmoore01, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms had best views.”
 of 5 bubbles MoyraF, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhA6897NQ, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We loved being on the ground floor and being able to open the big sliding glass doors right to the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles O4685OIalexandrag, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles tinas225, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5