We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 635: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ground floor room overlooking lake was a good size with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. Unfortunately the room got very warm with the sun in the afternoon and had no air conditioning so needed to open the outside door for air. Staff very friendly, service good and food in restaurant was reasonable. The buffet breakfast was very good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollynz2017
Venice, Italy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room is a long walk from reception and disappointing to find the safe did not function due to lack of batteries. Basic household checks didn't seem to happen before we arrived. Nice selection of teas and coffees in the room but no biscuits to go with them. As soon as we arrived we had let them know one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thanks for taking the time to review us and please accept my sincere apologies the safe in you room was not working due to needing more batteries. We take all our guests comments on board to ensure we are benchmarking ourselves and I am equally disappointed to hear that the request for vegetarian meals proved frustrating due to...

Bath
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel facilities are great & the service exceptional. When we needed anything, the manager sent someone to the room immediately to help us. The room is well equipped with a lovely view of the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swtravel
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear swtravel Thanks for taking the time to review us, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities and found our southern hospitality exceptional. We sincerely hope to see you back again. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had just come in from hiking the Routeburn and were heading back out to hike the Kepler track so a bit of R&R was in order and Distinctions TeAnau was perfect. That looked after us with helpful things, they were polite and friendly, the restaurant had wonderful food and wines. The spa was perfect for easing sore muscles. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InnesLarkin
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear InnesLarkin Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed a bit of R&R with us and enjoyed the food and wine. I sincerely hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic meal, quite pricy but food, wines and service were excellent. Best meal we have had since leaving UK a month ago :-) They even provided a shuttlebus to drop us at our accommodation as it was raining.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Norman Thanks for coming to dine in our Restaurant and I am delighted you enjoyed your meal and service. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Toronto
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights to explore the Sounds. The accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable. The staff are amazing. They cannot do enough for their guests. The breakfasts are adequate and consistent with this class of hotel. This is not luxury but one is not paying for luxury. I think this hotel offers good value for money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tokalosh
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Tokalosh Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for a night, and loved it. Staff were amazing, The room was very large/clean/modern. Bathroom was fantastic. Breakfast was good. More then just a stop over hotel. I'd love to go back and enjoy it again. It's the best in town!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKNY74
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear DKNY74 Thanks fro your glowing review, I am humbled to hear our team made a lasting impression on you and you enjoyed our southern breakfast, we sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here recently. Staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. However hotel looks in need of a coat of paint and seemed quite tired. There's no lift to 2nd floor, and we were in room 201 so could hear people traipsing up and down. Can't remember last hotel we stayed at where we were given a key for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieinOz
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear JulieinOz Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am delighted to hear you found our team friendly, helpful and welcoming and we have taken your comments on board to improve ourselves. I sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ and have a safe trip home. Regards Brent Stander

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Distinction Te Anau is a very well located property right in front of the lake with superb views. The check-in was done smoothly and bags transferred to our rooms. The staff was very helpful and always ready to assist with a smile. The room did get a bit warm during late afternoon since it was summer, but the pedestal fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndiConnect
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Indiconnect Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I apologise the room got warm but am happy to hear the fan assisted. We hope to see you back again in the future. Brent Stander

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed two nights with my wife at the Distinction Hotel & Villas. After a two-hour car drive from queenstown in drizzling rain, we were greeted at the hotel entrance by the warm and friendly smile of Nakul. He quickly found us a spot to park our car despite the hotel being full. He was also quick to help us with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Jamie Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am humbled to hear Nakul made a lasting impression and you enjoyed our warm southern hospitality. We hope to see you back in the future. Regards Brent Stander

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
454 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $176 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas New Zealand
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the reception on the ground floor as there is no lift !”
 of 5 bubbles 732karenf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor quiet”
 of 5 bubbles swtravel, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Villa gives you privacy and plenty of space with lounge area”
 of 5 bubbles HelenS731, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles janineb0, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a villa without windows and ask for normal sized mirrors!”
 of 5 bubbles fooodandthings, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay