We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Lanterns Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Lanterns Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Lanterns Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2016

A family run motel handy to town and other amenities,the place is seventies but well maintained ( except the exhaust fan in our bathroom and free wifi was only available in corner of room ) with all the room features that suits our travels. The price was most reasonable and being regular visitors to Armidale we will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Douglas R
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review, hope to see you again.

Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We had a standard Aussie motel room from yesterday. Close to town, clean room, comfortable bed and pillows, friendly staff. WiFi was free and very fast. Frig and bathroom clean but tired, I prefer outside air flow in room to air-con if possible but I was concerned - perhaps needlessly - about the security of open no limiting catch windows.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boggle103
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Our motel is a simple and affordable motel. We don't hide this fact and our prices reflect our overall facilities. While we are constantly updating our motel we can only do so much based on the room rates we charge. We have so many happy guests stay here and they let us know comfortable their stay was and in most...

Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

A run of the mill motel but excellent value at $113. Very friendly staff, neat, clean room and bathroom and only a 10 minute walk from center of town. A warning... do not be tempted to eat at the services men's club..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind feedback. I think this is our strong point, our prices are very cheap and we are able to provide simple and comfortable accommodation. Hope to see you again.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This motel is cheap & for the price is very decent. The motel is basic but the beds are very comfortable. The wifi access is excellent, the staff are friendly & it is located relatively close to the centre of town. The air con is quite loud but apart from that, I would absolutely recommend the White Lanterns motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Divabiz
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind feedback! Yes we are a simple motel providing accommodation without breaking the budget. Thanks again for your kind feedback, hope to see you again.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

This motel is average 3 star. It provides basic accommodation but surprisingly a very comfortable bed. Unfortunately sheets are old and thin and so are the towels. The room had a very noisy air con. The check in was friendly. The motel is close to restaurants / take away and RSL

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theleavers_03
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We strive to balance a price point that is under the larger motels and this does mean our resources are sometimes are stretched. But we don't mind because so many people travelling through don't want to waste a lot of money staying at more expensive motels and this is our market. Thanks very much, hope to...

Central Coast
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Stayed for 1 night in a twin room . Good sized room but a bit dated . Can't complain as it was only $113 . Good for a 1 night stay on the way to Brisbane . Would only stay here again if I got the same room .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your truthful review. Our family owned motel works very hard to maintain the property's standards and yet balance a cheap price for our travelers. We hope to see you again too!

Windham, Maine
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I had a few choices to choose from and I am glad that this was my decision. Located in a quiet, primarily residential area it is not far from shops and places to catch a bite; be it for dinner, fast food or just a snack. It is also located within a 35k radius of attractions like the Oxley Rivers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uhaul2015
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

We are excited that you wrote such a nice review of our little motel. We are very grateful and wish you all the best. Hope too see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Fantastic, helpful gentleman at reception. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Easy parking. Pretty gardens and outdoor seating for each room. Will stay again next time I'm in the area and reccomend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HELEN P
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Big thanks for your review, I was probably the person who was at reception (mostly because I am more cooler than the other guys! ha ha ha). Thanks very much for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future.

sydney
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Checking in to the motel we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming receptionist who had lots of knowledge of the local area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and a big plus was the complimentary wifi which works a treat.I would recommend the motel to others visiting Armidale.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydneykat29
WhiteLanterns, Owner at White Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your really nice review. We work hard at our small motel to balance price and facilities. Glad you liked the fast WiFi. Hope to see you again!

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Armidale and after googling the net, I phoned ahead to check availability :-). When we arrived check in was friendly and quick and we found there is free WiFi. Our bed was quite comfortable and although the bathroom was dated it was clean and the water pressure was lovely. Close to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens
2.3 km away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sandstock Motor Inn
Sandstock Motor Inn
#10 of 22 in Armidale
89 reviews
1.2 km away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
White Lanterns is a popular small motel in Armidale. The motel offers clean, comfortable, quality 3.5 Star accommodation at a good price. The White Lanterns Motel is in the main part of town and next door to 2 popular restaurants. The rooms are set back away from the main road providing quiet comfortable nights rest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Lanterns Motel

Address: 22 Marsh St | (cnr Newton St), Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Lanterns Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Lanterns Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Armidale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Lanterns Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms on ground level and easy parking. On Main Street but quiet. Walking distance to town restaurant and bars”
Grandmabrown, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet and well run motel”
Iangtr1400, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own toiletries.”
welchie, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early during Uni Residential Schools”
Alanna211, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Use your own mobile broadband/wifi if you have it,rooms at rear are quiet but wifi hopeless.”
douglasr770, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5