We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Parks - Dubbo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Dubbo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 292: English reviews
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night with my wife and 6 yr old son in a deluxe safari tent. Very impressed. The park itself is clean and tidy and 5 min from Dubbo Zoo. The waterpark is also great for kids. My son had a ball! I must say we are now hooked on "Glamping" :) Highly recomended. New cabins were also being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BikemanSunshineCoast
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had a ball in the safari tent! Thank you for recommending our park and for sharing your feedback.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a 3 bedroom cabin for a long weekend away so we could visit the Western Plains Zoo. Big 4 discovery park is in close proximity to Dubbo city centre and the Zoo. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the accommodation comprises of a comfortable small 3 bedroom cabin that can sleep up to 6 people. There is air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Dubbo and were comfortable in the cabin, Kathy. Thank you for sharing your review and we do hope you have the opportunity to return to our park!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great 2 nigh stay with 2 young children. The kids used all the activities and had a great time. We were thankful for the barbecue area which was clean and well stocked. The Wifi did not work but that wasnt a major issue. The rooms had everything we needed but were a little dated. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajlk12
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear you would stay here again after your family stayed at our park. Thank you for sharing your review.

Canberra
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a studio cabin for one night. Very impressed. Clean, modern, fully self-contained, comfortable bed, great lighting. Park has a water park for the kids and a heated pool and is a 5 minute walk to the West Dubbo Bowling Club and a few minutes drive to Western Plains Zoo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elca C
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the cabin and the facilities at our park, Elca. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Forster NSW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed in Discovery Park Dubbo (formerly Big4). Grounds are atrocious with cats eyes, bindis and virtually no grass around sites. The pool was very dirty - scum all round sides! The amenities were clean at least. The only good thing about this park is its proximity to Dubbo Zoo and the EXCELLENT STAFF manning the reception desk! Stayed before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret P
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of our park, but happy that you appreciated our customer service and enjoyed our location. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review, Margaret.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Park is very clean and has good facilities, cabin was clean, linen crisp and clean. Upon check in the lady at reception was very good and explained everything. The bathroom had a spa bath ( which I feel is a dated need nowadays ) it is a danger having to climb in and out of this to shower especially with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripii
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your experience with the bathroom tap. Please be assured that we look to maintain our park, and this is not a normal occurrence. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sites are ok however we asked for shady site and got the only site without any shade whatsoever. Water park is good however water was a bit cold for a 2 year old. The poor is way way way too small for the amount of sites, felt like sardines in a jar in the pool. One lady counted 50 people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHeatlie
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed with the site and the facilities at our park. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review.

Lithgow, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cabin was old, smelt of cigarettes when we first opened the door, old style decor, mattress on the bed was so old, an imprint was left which made it very uncomfortable, 'double' bed was small too, just needs a total update.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NY4DM
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your suggestions for our park after your stay, as we look to continue to make improvements. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accommodation in the Park was very good. We had a cabin, with separate bedroom. They are building more glam tents for a different experience. The park appears to cater for all sorts of travellers,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodation, Kris. Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

After searching for a place to house all our wedding guests for our wedding we settled on the big4 at Dubbo based on its proximity to the zoo and the family friendly facilities. Prior to booking we contacted and asked about ovens in the 3bd cabins, they told us they were all equipped with ovens but this turned out to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie R
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the accommodation and level of customer service at our park. We take feedback seriously, and look to further improve our park experience. To discuss your comments further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review, Melanie.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#11 of 30 in Dubbo
409 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
370 reviews
1.4 km away
Dubbo City Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Dubbo Midstate Caravan Park
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Parks - Dubbo covers every reason why people travel for leisure. Looking for some awesome sights to see? Check out Taronga Western Plains Zoo, which plays host to a wide variety of animals or see the Old Dubbo Gaol for a fascinating look at the past. Prefer to relax? Enjoy Discovery Parks - Dubbo's WiFi and heated outdoor swimming pool, while your kids play on the kangaroo jumper and playground. Turn your boring school camp or corporate retreat into something more exciting by using Discovery Parks - Dubbo. We have experience in hosting school trips, work functions and sporting competitions. Are you ready to discover one of New South Wales' best-kept secrets? Whatever your reason for coming to Dubbo, Discovery Parks - Dubbo has you covered! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Dubbo

Address: 154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia (Formerly BIG4 Dubbo Parklands)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Price Range: $73 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Dubbo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Dubbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Dubbo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
22 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Dubbo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had our own van but there are cabins and they look very clean, modern and comfortable with all the trimmings.”
 of 5 bubbles 608CathyC, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid cabins near the highway side if you don't like road noise”
 of 5 bubbles jab050, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Due to the small size of the sites try getting a drive through site to avoid trying to back into the sites.”
 of 5 bubbles Rjs061, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Recommended for families with kids. They would love this park.”
 of 5 bubbles elsie001, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There was a bit of road noise during the night, you probably wouldn't notice it in a cabin but camping you do.”
 of 5 bubbles LynW546, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay