We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Zoofari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Zoofari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 273: English reviews
Start your review of Zoofari Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed over night with the savanna view it was fantastic. The accommodation 5 star. The food delicious. Our evening guide Anna was the best. I'm not going to go on about the Zoo because you have to see it for yourself. Worth every cent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are so glad that you had a fantastic stay and that our guide Anna was friendly and informative during your time with us. We hope that you can come back to visit and stay with us again in the future.

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed on Valentine's Day as a surprise Birthday present for my partner. I wasn't too sure what to expect but we both love animals so this made sense. My expectations were blown out of the water. Our first day Zoo visit was just a taste. After spending the day at the Zoo we checked in at 2pm. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theonlyCBC
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of your recent overnight stay at Zoofari Lodge on Valentines Day. We are so delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed all parts of your experience, especially the exclusive behind the scenes tours. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would recommend this to everybody, dinner and breakfast included, first class accomodation looking out across the fields with lots of animals. Night and morning tours and even feeding an animal ( I won't ruin the surprise on that one) great for couples but would also recommend for young family's. will be going again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are very glad to hear that you had a unique and memorable overnight stay and that you would recommend that others experience Zoofari Lodge for themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment of check in the customer service was of a high standard and the whole experience was well worth the money. Our Zoofari cabin took our breath away with lovely little touches throughout e.g. fresh fruit, binoculars, variety of wines, rubber ducky in the bath. Sit outside on the veranda or watch the animals from your queen size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene M
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a special experience during your recent stay at Zoofari Lodge for many reasons including the luxury accommodation, meals and tours to name a few. We hope that you can come back and stay overnight with us again soon.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just got back from Zoofari Lodge at Taronga Western Plains Zoo - it was an amazing experience. The lodges are very luxurious with a huge bed and elegant bathroom all designed in an African tent safari style, which is appropriate given that the lodge we stayed in had African animals roaming at will in front of it! Giraffes ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoMumReviews
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a unique and memorable experience, viewing our animals from your luxurious lodge along with enjoying the other delights of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night late January, the entire experience did not disappoint and is well worth adding to the bucket list. Reading through some negative trip advisor reviews before we went, I found myself noting the things that had been negatives for some people and wondering what else they could possibly complain about. From the check in process...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fencesitter63
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of your recent Zoofari Lodge stay. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent experience and that you found your stay to be good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit and stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hard to fault the experience. Whilst it is expensive once you include the breakfast, dinner, bike hire, two day zoo pass, two behind the scenes zoo tours and accommodation it's not too bad. The pool on a hot January day was appreciated by the family and so to the lodge which is the centerpiece of the stay and where all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mng75
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of your recent overnight experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable time during your stay for many reasons, however we are sorry that you were disappointed that you were staying in a Bushland View Lodge. These lodges are sold at a cheaper rate and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 1 night in the Zoofari lodge, absolutely worth every cent. Great staff, nothing was too much trouble. They were all very informative and passionate about there jobs. The food was fabulous, the accomodation was excellent. The behind the scenes night tour was excellent. The early morning tour was very informative. Wonderfull way to spend a couple of days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your overnight stay at Zoofari Lodge and that our staff were friendly and informative during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an awesome stay at Zoofari lodge. Our main highlights such as the incredible views of the animals from our room and the tours which included feeding the giraffes and bongos. We could not fault the food served, it was clearly of high quality and was delicious. However, the dining experience was designed in a way that left us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pollyhogarth
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of your overnight experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you had an awesome time during your stay for many reasons. However we are sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience due to the allocated seating arrangements. All of our guests are suppose to be given the option...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

BRILLIANT experience Fantastic guides. The Savanna tent and behind the scenes tours were terrific. Guides brilliant and funny. Chef and food AMAZING. Be aware...pre book the up close ENCOUNTERS . BEFORE you arrive. Numbers sell out fast for up close experiences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie N
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review following your brilliant experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, tours and our friendly and informative guides. Thank you for also providing some useful advice for future guests. We hope that you can come back and stay with us again in the future.

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
3.7 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#14 of 30 in Dubbo
427 reviews
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
#26 of 30 in Dubbo
26 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Savannah Cabins
Savannah Cabins
#3 of 15 in Dubbo
58 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
3.8 km away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zoofari Lodge is a unique safari-style retreat located in the grounds of Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo, recently expanded to include 10 luxury lodges overlooking a savannah area where Giraffe and Zebra roam. The Zoofari Lodge package is inclusive of tours, accommodation, meals, Zoo admission and bike hire. It is, in essence, a private safari experience in the heart of NSW. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zoofari Lodge

Address: Obley Road | Taronga Western Plain Zoo, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Hotel Class:4 star — Zoofari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Zoofari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zoofari Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Zoofari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an Animal View Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles theonlyCBC, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Savannah views are best, lodges no. 4 and up have great girraffe views as the feed boxes are very close. Having said that all are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 265kaylenem, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Animal view lodges are the best by far! We stayed in "Giraffe", which was right in the middle facing the Savannah”
 of 5 bubbles LetsGoMumReviews, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ZooSafari has two types of room; get the Animal View one.”
 of 5 bubbles Luxtraveller77_12, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“choose the animal view, definitely the animal view lodge. no problem with animal noises at night.”
  • view from the lodge verandah - dinnertime for the neighbours
 of 5 bubbles donnacQ4067CF, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5