We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown On Darby Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crown On Darby Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Crown On Darby Newcastle
 Click to rate
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A Stay-3-Pay-2 deal on a "Luxury Studio Spa Apartment" was what attracted us initially. The booking process was easy, they called 3 days prior to our stay to confirm arrival time, bedding and parking ($15 p.n.) requirements. The apartment has a fully equipped kitchen with 4-hotplates and a microwave and full size fridge. It was modern, bright, with flow-through breeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WamJen
Staff O, Reception at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Crown on Darby. Crown on Darby is in the process of getting new updated photos to replace other Pictures we have on our website and other digital marketing. We are glad we enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future. Kind Regards Jade

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A real gem, a modern well equipped studio room with excellent facilities, including microwave, plates, glasses etc. Located in the middle of an up and coming area of Newcastle with plenty of choice of great bars and restaurants. The staff were engaging and helpful - a real pleasure. Try it, you won't be disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileen042
Staff O, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind review Eileen, we certainly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you when you are next in Newcastle. Kate Wynn Front Office Supervisor Crown on Darby

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was very impressed with this apartment, it was probably one of the best places I have stayed. The apartment was lovely & the area was surprisingly quiet considering the location. I travel a lot for business & holidays & I was very impressed. The free wifi was very fast! Only 2 negatives were that there was no phone reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Staff O, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Crown on Darby wishes to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy that your stay was so enjoyable that we have left a lasting impression as one of the best places that you have stayed. I would be most interested to investigate as to why you were billed slightly more...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at Crown on Darby. It is located in a sensational part of Newcastle with multiple great restaurants and cafes in close proximity and is an easy walk to the beach and the centre of town. The reception staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful. The room was very spacious, clean and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus R
Staff O, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed review of Crown on Darby. We are most fortunate to enjoy a special location in the heart of the best cafes and restaurants that Newcastle has to offer. Looking forward to your return when next in Newcastle. Kate Wynn Crown on Darby

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed here numerous times and love it. Close to everything, beautifully appointed, great service. Will be back- fantastic restaurants, close to beaches -15 min walk. Just love it and I can't say anymore about how great it is.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Staff O, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Fiona, we are certainly well positioned to enjoy all of the great aspects that Newcastle has to offer. We look forward to your next trip to Newcastle. Kate Wynn Crown on Darby

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you travel for work, its always important that a good restaurant is nearby. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the best eateries in Newcastle. (good food in Newcastle is few and far between) Good rooms, but don't go for the studio because its small. You really want the 1 bedroom apartment or better. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beebort
Staff O, Public Relations Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, We too agree that we are spoiled for choice of great eateries on Darby Street. We would love to welcome you back next time you are here for business. Please don't hesitate to contact the property direct for exclusive corporate rates on the our bedroom apartments. Regards Reception.

Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a result of flight cancellation, I had the pleasure of staying here. The room was great. Clean plenty of room and the most comfy bed. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Highly recommended. I will be back for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brad K
Staff O, Public Relations Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments Brad, We aim to make last minute reservations an easy process. We further appreciate your comments on cleanliness, staff and overall comfort. Hope to have you back in the near future. Warm regards Crown on Darby Team

Toukley, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last Saturday night and I seriously want to go back again this weekend. This hotel is extremely clean, the staff at check in are so friendly, amazing location and the beds are so comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markstewarttrees
Staff O, Public Relations Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, if we don't see you back this weekend we do hope it is in the near future. You can call us direct for an exclusive VIP rate. Warm regards Reception.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Crown on Derby is in a great location, middle of Darby Street with plenty of food and drinking options right on the doorstep. My room (800a) was clean rooms, comfortable bed. The only flaw for me was a shower over the bath and having to pay $15 for parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MattandStev
Staff O, Public Relations Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you took advantage of the prime location of our apartments. As you booked a spa room, you have the dual option of the spa and shower. If you would prefer just a shower we have that option also. We believe our parking prices are competitive as all...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We spent 2 nights at Crown On Darby last weekend. From booking to check out the stay was hassle free and relaxing. Our first point of contact and concierge Ms B was very obliging and friendly. Our room was spacious, clean quiet and had a lovely view of the spire St Andrews Church from our windows and balcony. Hearing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
Staff O, Public Relations Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this review

Good morning Sandy O, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased we could offer you both a relaxing and nostalgic experience. We too agree that St Andrews church is a very beautiful inner city sight. Furthermore thank you for commenting on our guest services and room features. The team and Ms B hope...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
958 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
813 reviews
1.5 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
348 reviews
0.4 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
378 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Crown On Darby Newcastle

Address: 101 Darby St | Cooks Hill, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $131 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown On Darby Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crown On Darby Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crown On Darby Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go the 1 bedroom apartment with the stairs that go to the top”
Beebort, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear facing the street”
jamesn923, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for unit fronting Derby Street for balcony.”
peter19642016, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take the pay for parking option. No parking on the street.”
Q5174BMmm, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the Darby Street side have more direct access to the foyer.”
Nayaram4750, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5