We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,306: English reviews
Liverpool
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Basic .Simple and not too clean rooms.Carpet is dirty,Travelodge deserves better.Walking distances are ok. Renovations is in some progress but prices are as everything is ok.I hope next time would be better...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 796ismetk
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are sorry that your stay wasn’t enjoyable, I'll be speaking to the Housekeeping team regarding the feedback you have left, please accept our apologies. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can experience...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The pool is as small as a bath - it is totally oversold on the website. So disappointing. 5th floor hall carpet was badly water stained, bathroom tiles on floor were either dirty or more likely, stained. The rooms were clean, which is why we stayed. The location is central but offers nothing really. Did not eat in the hotel....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlitterbabeNZ
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We apologise that the pool size wasn't as expected and that you found the floor stained. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually...

Connells Point
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Travelodge Newcastle provides great value for money in a convenient central location. Room amenities were great and cater for most needs. House keeping while sufficient can still be improved. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would go back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khabbazeh
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are glad that you liked the room amenities and appreciated our convenient location. We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding Housekeeping. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Travelodge Newcastle on our way through to the Sunshine Coast. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and checked us in with ease. The rooms are basic but nice. Restaurant on site unavailable for dinner so had to get a small taxi ride into the city centre to get dinner ( hotel about 1.5 km from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunQuincyRun
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I am pleased that you liked our friendly staff and rooms. We apologize that our restaurant wasn't open on the night you stayed with us but hopefully our...

Warrawong, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

upgrade your rooms especially bathrooms, old mouldy silastic. get a bigger TV, Get some decent beds. Put some biscuits in the room for your guests this is not a big expense but means a lot to travellers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A9926ATjeffd
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Kind Regards, Lauren Porter Duty Manager Travelodge Newcastle

Sydney
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Not value for money. Advertised as 4 star hotel, no way I say!! Decor from the 80's, same as the staff I think.... $15 per day charge to park car in a non secure car park, really, in 2017!! Expected much better from Travelodge and Newcastle.....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 581hamishm
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We apologize that you weren't happy with our value for money and car parking costs. Unfortunately in the city centre it is standard to pay for parking and although our car park isn't underground it is still under surveillance and only accessible to guests...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This motel is basic , but it also has everything you would need for a getaway. WALKING DISTANCE TO MOST PLACES. You don't have the best view from your window, and it is an old motel, BUT THE STAFF WILL HELP YOU OUT IN ANYWAY and THE ROOMS WERE CLEAN AND QUIET.The swimming pool is extremely small, but once again,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are glad to read that you found our hotel good value for money, our team offered a high level of service and that our location was suitable for your needs. We hope to welcome you back to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this cesspool for 2 nights. 30th December room 416 and had cockroaches in the room and the air conditioner was leaking, the bathroom was disgusting. Complained at the front desk and was moved to room 621 on the 31st only to find more cockroaches in that room as well. Also the swimming pool looked as though it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle, it is much appreciated. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. I apologise that you had issues with your air conditioning and that...

Port Macquarie
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Very run down. Cob webs in rooms, old air con that didnt work. Room service dirty plates from other guests were left outside their rooms for over 12 hours.window over looked a pile of rubbish in the neighbouring property.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank courtneya994
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We apologize that the cleanliness of the room wasn't to the standard we hope for. I hope we were able to assist you with the air conditioning,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Bad shower. Bad breakfast (little variety and low food quality). Good bed and room. Good location in Newcastle, near restaurants, supermarket, mc Donald's, bottle shop, KFC but it is not near the beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q4065LDgiovannam
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are glad that you found your room and bed comfortable and appreciated our convenient location. We appreciate your overall positive comments about your stay and will take the time to review our breakfast offering to ensure is continues to...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
953 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
663 reviews
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
336 reviews
1.2 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel.”
Tangalooma2000, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask to see the rooms and feel the carpet”
garyrY5552RA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 101. Car parking is free on the street after 12pm Sat and all day Sun”
arkanite, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less traffic noise”
Nayaram4750, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very short walk to the shopping centre and take away.”
344suzanned, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5