We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mantra Wollongong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mantra Wollongong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Penrith, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Twin beds pushed together in 2nd bedroom and no room to separate them. 10 minutes for hot water to come through in shower. Overpriced - $420 for a Saturday night. Breakfast was good but this was extra. Not overlooking the beach, not even on a main street. Lift is slow, not enough parking - i had to park on the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cherylmE7768GQ
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spoke to receptionist letting her know the room was dirty.... Instead of being pleasant and maybe apologising for the dirty apartment. I was told I would have to complain in writing... Ridiculous….. she should have said something like ‘terribly sorry – I will let our cleaning staff know’…. Will not be staying at a MANTRA again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 28joyt

Travellers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Badly laid out room configuration, ie master bedroom was in the middle of the apartment rather than being able to utilise the balcony, carpets were badly stained, furniture condition was questionable, no block out curtains....however the water pressure was fantastic and the towels were big and fluffy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emkajomel
Temora
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My cousin and myself were extremely happy with the location and overall perspective of the hotel. Would definitely be staying again if a trip to Wollongong ever pops up in my life again. Central to everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! I am so glad to hear that you had such a nice stay with us at Mantra Wollongong. It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time spent not only at the property but in Wollongong itself. We hope a trip back does pop up for you as we would... More 

Glen Oak, NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy access & parking. Greeted by friendly & knowledgeable staff. Room was huge & inclusions for the self contained long term visitor were fantastic. Cooktop, dishwasher, full size fridge, washer & dryer! Seperate bedroom, spacious lounge & dining area. A simple breakfast was provided by a single chef/waitress in a timely & organised manner. Location does not serve the client... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoanneBriggs
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to our property. I'm so happy to hear that you found the room comfortable and the facilities offered by the property and in the apartment so convenient. The staff are always happy to help, so I'm happy they made you feel welcome and informed. We appreciate your... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needs an upgrade. Very clean. Friendly staff. Great location , easy walking distance to CBD. Television channels needs tuning in again , only a few channels in the bedroom. maybe a change in pay tv ,to get Sky Channels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kylieevans59
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm so glad to hear that the staff were helpful and location was so convenient for you. We're aware the rooms are becoming a bit dated, and are working hard to have the rooms upgraded and are making new improvements every day. Thank you for bringing to our attention... More 

Fishing Point, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a last minute trip yo Wollongong, we picked this place despite the hefty price thinking that it's central location was good and the photos and the price indicated quality. It was clean enough and certainly a large room, but there is only one very slow lift for which you wait for ages. There were some dumb things like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivan P
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I'm very sorry to hear that you were irritated with your visit to our property. Unfortunately, the speed of the elevator is not something we can control. We have spoken with the lift maintenance team and they have re-confirmed that it cannot be made faster. I'm sorry if this... More 

Gungahlin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The professionalism and the courtesy of the staff far out weighed the facilities on the hotel. False advertising was not helpful - there was no stereo and no coffee maker. The choice of Foxtel channels was pathetic (not even having Fox/Sky News)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank markoF5074AQ
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mantra Wollongong. I'm very disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with what the hotel offered. Thank you for bringing to our attention that things listed in your room were missing, we will rectify this immediately. We do have a limited number of foxtel... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is located in walking distance to city centre; 5-10 min. We had a very clean and big one bedroom apartment. Everything functioned correctly, TVs in lounge and bedroom. Very friendly staff, good breakfast buffet. We got free parking in Hotel garage at arrival. I would book again, and recommend Hotel Mantra.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H3998RIpauld
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and found not only our facilities but our staff helpful and convenient. We really appreciate all the positive feedback we recieve and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in... More 

Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rooms are hugely spacious making this a good choice for longer stays and for self-service (fridge, cooking, laundry facilities all in the room). Clean, although the shower door/surrounds was looking in need of a good scrub). The one and only lift is exceptionally slow, although we were staying here when the complex was fully booked meaning a large number of... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mantra Wollongong. We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you found our facilities so convenient including the rooms themselves, garage and available breakfast. We have taken into account your notes about the bathroom and will address this matter with the housekeeping department. We hope to welcome you... More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.2 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.4 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
1,176 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 16 in Wollongong
241 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
1.0 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 16 in Wollongong
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take in your view of Wollongong's spectacular beaches and scenery as you relax in your One or Two Bedroom apartment centrally located in the heart of Wollongong. Mantra Wollongong has everything you need to make your visit pleasurable and successful. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, you'll immediately feel at home in the welcoming atmosphere and the friendly service. Mantra Wollongong is conveniently situated close to the many sights and attractions of the area. Stroll to the city centre and do a little shopping or grab a bite to eat. Nearby there are shopping malls and many local attractions like the Botanical Gardens and Jamberoo Action Park. If you're here on business then our conferencing and meeting facilities are of a very high standard with the latest in facilities and technology in a light and airy setting. Leave your car in your complimentary undercover parking while you explore on foot. Mantra Wollongong is located close to the airport, public transport, sporting and entertainment venues and ocean beaches. ***Mantra Wollongong is a 100% Non-Smoking property*** Please Note: Mantra Wollongong cares for all of it guests, with this in mind we have a strict no party policy. Restrictions are placed on the number of occupants in each room, guests not adhering to these restrictions will be asked to vacate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Wollongong

Address: 6-10 Gladstone Ave, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: $146 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Wollongong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Wollongong staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Wollongong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony have a distant ocean view over adjacent carpark & industry.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneBriggs, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They all seem to be a good size”
 of 5 bubbles gypsy039, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book at the Adina Apartments”
  • Dust over everything
  • Heavily stained chairs
  • If they present their brochure in this manner there is no high standard to be found at this prop
 of 5 bubbles Y6694EDjank, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It's across the road from the railway station so it's easy to by public transport.”
 of 5 bubbles velogiant, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 489emilyj, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay