We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,808: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Location is great, lovely spot near the beach. When we checked in, we though the lobby looked like a lovely place to sit and have a quiet drink in the evening (as there isn't much else in the area). Unfortunately the entire lounge area was fully occupied by a wedding reception from mid afternoon until well after we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremyCharles
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear JeremyCharles, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hold many weddings at the hotel and at times our wedding guests choose to make use of the Lobby Bar area between the ceremony and reception. I am sorry that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2014

I stayed here recently and had a great time. Right opposite the beach and close to cafes. The rooms were a decent size and clean plus the beds were comfortable. I found the staff to be very accommodating. The only downside was breakfast was a bit pricey at over $30 pp.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manns16
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Manns16, Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. It's lovely to know that our staff provided you with great service. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find our breakfast offerings acceptable but am glad that this did not affect your overall stay with us. We are very...

Reviewed 5 September 2014 via mobile

Just over a 3 hour drive from our home in the Hunter Valley, we decided to stop at Wollongong. Novotel Northbeach looked appealing so checked in for a night. Room big, clean and comfortable. Cockatoos ate our complimentary biscuits while we enjoyed a glass of wine on our private balcony overlooking the ocean. A good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Klaus E
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Klaus E, Thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your special getaway. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here in Wollongong. It's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with your room and view and didn't mind the company of our friendly neighbourhood cockatoos. We hope you will...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2014

I have stayed here once or twice a year for a long time. The staff continue to be very friendly and helpful. The room size is great, beds are comfy, but as other reviewers have said, the rooms are quite dated. Black residues in shower, chipped furniture etc take away from potentially a great hotel. However, watching storm clouds roll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliyore
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Aliyore, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that at times the hotel does show its age but we do our best to keep it clean, tidy and well maintained. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. It is...

Narromine NSW
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wow what a bathroom! Great facilities and the breakfast was awesome. A little on the pricey side for winter but with inclusive parking and breakfast it was worth it. The beds were comfy and with the added bonus of a lounge and coffee table it was a great way to relax with a coffee looking out over the beautiful beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn S
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Aliyore, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that at times the hotel does show its age but we do our best to keep it clean, tidy and well maintained. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. It is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Room temperature was uncomfortable and needed to keep door open with chair to feel comfortable. Breakfast next day was below standard and could not even eat much of the food, most of everything was unavailable besides bread for toast and cereal.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Karen P, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I apologise that your room was not at a comfortable temperature. This can usually be controlled by the in room air conditioning. I will address this with our maintenance department...

Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wizzfizz4
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was the first time i stayed here, and i have to say, i was very surprised at how dated the rooms and the overall hotel is. I found it overpriced, however the position and view was nice. disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do appreciate that the hotel may show its age at times but we do our best to keep it clean, tidy and well maintained. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and views. If you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole3005
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review

297 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.6 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,217 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
1.8 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
211 reviews
1.1 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach
Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: $180 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Wollongong Northbeach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Wollongong Northbeach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ocean view rooms are fantastic, especially those facing north.”
 of 5 bubbles sjhumphreys14, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“BEach views are a must and many of the rooms have this, request on booking”
 of 5 bubbles De_Chook, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For quieter rooms ask for a room towards the beach and on the north side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nessams, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth getting a balcony room if you aren't so keen on A/C all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles 536annettem, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles kingster2206, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5