We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Plaza Resort

Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Plaza Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean,tidy and modern Resort. Stayed in a bedroom with ensuite off main bedroom and ensuite off double single bed room. Another bathroom with shower over bath. Fully functional laundry. Large kitchen fully stocked with dinner set and cutlery and all cooking appliances. Views of Coolangatta beach add far as the eye can see. Stayed two days with family from out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just spent three nights at Ocean Plaza Resort at Coolangatta. Very happy with the two bedroom accommodation on the 15th floor. Great view of seafront. The place was well equipped and clean and tidy. The price was especially good, compared with other places in the area. Can highly recommend it. Close to restaurants and cafes and especially supermarkets such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that we met your expectations. We are looking forward to you returning again soon.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a short break at this resort and absolutely loved it. We were on the 9th floor and the view was magic and not obstructed by any trees.We could see all the coastline for miles, sunrise and sunset and plenty of action on the beach area. As noted by other reviewers the lifts were slow but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colleen w
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Colleen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Coolangatta, we agree our location is very special being so close to the beach, all apartments have an ocean view and the convenience of having direct access to The Strand Shopping centre....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed with the whole experience. The corridors are in desperate need of a refurb. The elevators are not all working and the two that were, were painstakingly slow. The Resident Managers are uncaring, unsympathetic and basically rude. Would not recommend staying here to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twojames
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Twojames, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations. We agree and so does the Body Corp Committee that the foyers need a refurb however I am sure you will understand that while we are doing a complete...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent resort clean friendly & helpful staff perfect location opposite the beach & our unit had mountain views spacious unit modern & had all the amenities you needed. We found complex very quite had security parking. On the first floor of the resort was the shopping centre very convenient everything close cafes restaurants perfect location. We loved it & will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynette b
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lynette, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased that you found everything to your liking and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and views. Every apartment has Ocean views and most enjoy hinterland views as well. Our staff work hard to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay, your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom spacious, well appointed apartment with laundry facilities and balcony. Stayed in Room 71, level 14. It was an end room on the floor. Fabulous views of the beach and of the hills. Lots of mirrored walls in this apartment. I guess to give the illusion of being bigger - altho it was spacious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTrajkovic
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We agree the location of Ocean Plaza Resort is special being so close to so many activities and convenience's. We are also pleased you found our staff helpful and courteous, they all do work hard...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really disappointing room, the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. We had a 3 night stay and the state of the unit was appalling, the beds were the most uncomfortable that we have ever encountered. We were always waiting forever for the lifts & one was out of service our entire stay. The corridors need re-painting & re-carpeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dusty1954
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dusty1954 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort. We are sorry in this instance we didn't fully meet your expectations, it is correct that during your stay 1 of the lifts was out of service, that is because we are replacing all 3 lifts with new ones. You will...

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed at Ocean Plaza for School holidays April 2017. Room 84 Level 17 (Style A) was updated & had ocean views north to Kirra, Tugan, Burleigh & Surfers. The main bed room had ocean views while the kids room had views of the Tweed river. The pool and BBQ area were great. Plenty of parking on B2 and great office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Michael k Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including the Ocean views and the convenient location being so close to the Beach and The Strand shopping centre. Our staff are always pleased to hear that they were able to assist you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Wonderful, big apartment with stunning views in a fantastic location. Our family of four had a wonderful mini break in the two bed/two bath apartment. We couldn't have asked for more - the apartment had everything we could want including a stunning view; plus a pool, gym, tennis courts and golf driving range. The complex is above a shopping centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N H
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi N H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to share your good experience for other's looking for a good place to stay in Coolangatta. Until next time, travel safely we look forward to welcoming you again in the...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

The views from this block are very good as are the views from a number of other equally priced blocks along the waterfront. My strongest advice would be to find an apartment in another block. The Management at Ocean Plaza are rude, indeed they are hostile. I listened in near disbelief as the female manager loudly abused a holiday resident...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blip44
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Blip44 Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ocean plaza Resort, we are sorry we never satisfied your expectations on this occasion. We hope we can do better next time you visit. In our opinion your recollection of an event at reception is an exaggeration and defamatory of our staff, to the best of our knowledge...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.0 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
970 reviews
1.2 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
398 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.3 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,527 reviews
0.1 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the beach in the heart of Coolangatta with every apartment boasting ocean views. The facilities include heated pool and spa, gym, two full size tennis courts, games room, BBQ area that over looks the ocean and is attached to the Showcase Mall. We offer spacious self contained units for your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Resort

Address: Showcase on the Beach Shopping 80 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $147 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Plaza Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My personal opinion is that the views from the 9th floor up would be the best. Entry to the swimming pool is by stairs only.”
colleenwillis411, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Look at the room before you pay and stay!”
Twojames, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have ocean views”
771lynetteb, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Better view are higher. Style A, B & C have north views while Style D, E & F are south views.”
U7195CFmichaelk, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Units above level 5 have best views. Ask for a renovated unit. Beware of credit card surcharge.”
timcarmelr, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates