We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Start your review of Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
 Click to rate
Jimboomba QLD
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room had a very musty smell when we opened the door, the kitchen and living space were in fair condition, no dishwasher and small 2 pot cooktop, couch in lounge had no cushions or table lamps. Aircon unit and ceiling fan in bedroom. The tiled floors in both kitchen area and bathroom were damp and slippery all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aneyefordetail
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear aneyefordetail, Thank you for submitting you review. I was concerned to read your comments on the conditions of the unit and would like to discuss your stay with you directly. If the unit you stayed in is an Oaks managed apartment we will seek to rectify these issues immediately. My contact details are listed below. Kind regards, Luke Fitzmaurice...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location of resort is great. Pool is lovely. Our room was very old and dingy. Needs a thorough clean and new furniture. Curtains were absolutely filthy and stained. Bed was terrible you could feel and hear the springs. We booked and paid for two nights how ever as we were so uncomfortable we left after our first night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razaan S
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Razaan S, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant one for you and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. I noticed that the room you had booked was one of our un-refurbished apartments....

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in was easy. Room is clean and big enough got facilities you need. Little shampoo for two pp two days. No clean up during the stay. Location is great across the road from beach and restaurants. Pool look smaller than the photo. We went to pokies and won $550 ($20 i put in) so seem it paid off my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oyadelta
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Oyadelta, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review after your recent stay. Congratulations on your big win, we are in the Lucky part of the Gold Coast so please come back soon. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location is definitely awesome. We look forward to welcoming you back again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Secluded garden/lagoon aspect,at the Calyso Oaks, with many good eateries within walking distance. Movies and shops, and beach also within walking distance. Easy access to another side of the Gold Coast, with the Tweed and all the beachs and towns, heading south. Or just a short diversion to the beautiful Murwillumbah area hinterland. A great spot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anne M, Firstly let me say thanks for taking the time to review our property, we always appreciate receiving valuable feedback We are in a great spot I agree, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location is definitely awesome. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Brett Hohn Hotel Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was fully renovated and it was great. Everything was very clean. The view was good too. The Apartment was equipped with everything we needed. There was even a tv in the bedroom. The pool area is gorgeous, and the grounds and gardens are very lush and well kept. The building is only 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kate O, Thanks for your feed back it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We pride ourselves on the friendly welcome so I hope when you return you can experience the true hospitality of Oaks Hotels and Resorts. We take all...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks again - We continue to see the improvements at Oaks Calypso. Rooms are great, location is really good right in the middle of Coolangatta. But most of all the staff are awesome. The guys on the front desk and the girls all are very welcoming. My wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The kids love it too. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayden53
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hayden, Welcome back, and thanks for your kind comments it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We thank you for taking the time and providing other travellers your view so they can experience the true hospitality of Oaks Hotels and Resorts....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found it to be in a great location. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff where very helpful and open 24 hours. It isn't the most modern building and it does show it's age so I would suggest you look at prices and compare whats available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fongss
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fongss, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am glad you found our rooms to be to your satisfaction and that our team was able to assist in making your stay a memorable one. We are always glad to receive guests feedback as it helps us to understand what areas of our operation may need...

Hammamet, Tunisia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very helpful and happy to accommodate us for just one night which was unusual in a holiday area in peak time, the property has a nice feel, even though it is a large property, some areas a bit tired, but the rooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable, the pool area is fantastic, beach across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davfam8
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dayfam8 Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at the Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I can agree the beds are amazing and the new refurbishments are top quality furnishings. The staff will bend over backwards to assist all our guests anytime of the year. Our...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family has been holidaying at Calypso every New Year for 4 years. We just love it. We have had a different unit each time and have been happy with each one. We love the position, the staff , the pool and just about everything at Coolangatta.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allana A
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Allana Wow!!! Thanks for your feedback, it is always good to receive valuable comments form someone who has stayed time after time. You comments help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. Great to hear we are doing a good job the newly refurbished rooms are great. I hope you booked...

paranaque
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for a week with family and truly enjoyed Coolangatta. Perfect location with nearby restaurants and shops. Right across the beach. Lovely lovely location. Staff are helpful. The negative is the unit itself. It has everything you need but it's filthy, maybe because it's also too old. The place needs to be refurbished. Saw two cockroaches during the stay which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4delta
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Delta, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, I know you weren't staying in one of our refurbished units all our Oaks units will be refurbished by February. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location is definitely awesome. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Brett Hohn...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.1 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
827 reviews
1.3 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
380 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
2,958 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ocean Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $138 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps ask for ocean facing room may be better quality”
 of 5 bubbles aneyefordetail, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose one of the many rooms facing eastward overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles K559JZannem, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for poolside room”
 of 5 bubbles Davfam8, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had rooms 315 and 317 (interconnecting)”
 of 5 bubbles BigM1973, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor for pool access”
 of 5 bubbles 845dis, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5