We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Coolangatta

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Coolangatta
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 324: English reviews
Start your review of The Sebel Coolangatta
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietter250
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Keybarbin Via Tabulam
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at very short notice in Coolangatta as the stormy weather on the NE coast of NSW / QLD made driving difficult if not dangerous . We were en route to Dubai / Helsinki . Danae Hanger on reception was truly outstanding , nothing was a problem and found us a great 2 bedroom apartment , on the 10'th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoderickW001
sebelcoolangatta, Owner at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us at short notice, and thank you for your kind feedback. Danae is certainly a credit to herself and our business. Great place for that reunion!!! Safe travels in Finland Regards William & Danae

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly I would like to say that the hotel room we were given at this hotel was absolutely filthy with disgusting furniture that was so dirty and outdated. The bathrooms were still dirty as was the kitchen. The lounge was so old and filthy it stuck to you when you sat on it or tried to get up. Anyway we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celestemadden73
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

I sent an email reply to Flight Centre about your behaviour while staying with us. 1. Your called about a smoking issue which i responded to straight away 2. I knocked on your door and apologized for the behaviour of the guests next door for smoking as we are a non smoking building as you point out 3. Then you...

Gosford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was well located just across from the beach and within easy walk to a range of restaurants and a large supermarket. The unit was a two bedroom design with a large kitchen, dining room and lounge room. There were great views over the beach and out to sea. The unit was very clean and tidy and well furnished...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodger M
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

On the surface was so much to love about this place that I thought it would be a fantastic stay, unfortunately I was left disappointed. I'll list pros and cons as the best way to balance. Pros: Location Staff Pool Type of accommodation (self serviced) Free carpark with room Views Balcony Cons: Bathroom was not cleaned properly before I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brooke-KiwiTraveller
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest feedback.....yes you are right about the rubbish being outside the 04's. Sometimes the odours from there are unpleasant dependent on many factors. We have our chutes power cleaned, we have ozone purifiers in the garbage room itself located in the basement and the council washers the garbage bins every 2 weeks. But just now and then...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Great view, Manager & staff very friendly and helpful. Little disappointed with the room though- didnt feel like a Sebel. Well appointed kitchen area - bed was very comfortable - couldnt find a fan in the bathroom and towels were not as fluffy as I like. Nice pool but was due for a clean (which it was on day 2)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katy A
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Pros- great location, across from beach & walking distance to restaurants and shops. Cons- grubby & damp feel about the place. Little things added up for us: No plug in kitchen - had to use a glass cup as a replacement to wash up dishes. Told management along with other little issues & unresolved. TV remotes didn't work for both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happyhuzz
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Our apologies for the issues in your apartment. We should've done a far better job in responding to your requirements. Appreciate the honest feedback Regards William

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We've visited here several times over the years but this visit has not been as good. We rang to confirm booking and informed we could check in at any time. Given code for key safe as reception closed at 12. Collected keys and went to unit at 1.30pm. On arrival the room had not been cleaned. Phoned after hours manager...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate C
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Weekends we are open from 9 am - 12 Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately we were late that day to complete all our house keeping duties and apologies for the delay in your apartment not being ready. 90% of the time we have all apartments ready by 2 pm for check in. Thanks for your review Regards William

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

These wonderful apartments were recommended by my travel agency and did not fail to disappoint. The service provided by the owners and staff was exemplary. Meals can be ordered in or takeaway from wide variety of cuisine within a easy walking distance. Rooms are very clean, spacious with full facilities including a dishwasher, oven, washing machine and even a cloths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hi Janet.......thank you for choosing to stay with us.......was a pleasure Regards William

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here December 2016. Started in Apartment 1001 which had no working blinds in 2 of the three bedrooms rooms. This was a 3 bedroom apartment. After complaining about this we were moved to Apartment 907. This apartment had curtains in the bedrooms however 2 of these we inadequate and falling off the tracks. Furniture in this apartment was filthy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie591

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.7 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
385 reviews
0.5 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
881 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
87 reviews
0.8 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,197 reviews
0.6 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $223 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles RoderickW001, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just Dont book at the Sebal Coolangatta choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles celestemadden73, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors would have less traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles 686katya, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Debbie591, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get as high as possible”
 of 5 bubbles donw336, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5