We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sebel Coolangatta

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Coolangatta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of The Sebel Coolangatta
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On the surface was so much to love about this place that I thought it would be a fantastic stay, unfortunately I was left disappointed. I'll list pros and cons as the best way to balance. Pros: Location Staff Pool Type of accommodation (self serviced) Free carpark with room Views Balcony Cons: Bathroom was not cleaned properly before I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke-KiwiTraveller
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest feedback.....yes you are right about the rubbish being outside the 04's. Sometimes the odours from there are unpleasant dependent on many factors. We have our chutes power cleaned, we have ozone purifiers in the garbage room itself located in the basement and the council washers the garbage bins every 2 weeks. But just now and then...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great view, Manager & staff very friendly and helpful. Little disappointed with the room though- didnt feel like a Sebel. Well appointed kitchen area - bed was very comfortable - couldnt find a fan in the bathroom and towels were not as fluffy as I like. Nice pool but was due for a clean (which it was on day 2)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy A
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pros- great location, across from beach & walking distance to restaurants and shops. Cons- grubby & damp feel about the place. Little things added up for us: No plug in kitchen - had to use a glass cup as a replacement to wash up dishes. Told management along with other little issues & unresolved. TV remotes didn't work for both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyhuzz
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Our apologies for the issues in your apartment. We should've done a far better job in responding to your requirements. Appreciate the honest feedback Regards William

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited here several times over the years but this visit has not been as good. We rang to confirm booking and informed we could check in at any time. Given code for key safe as reception closed at 12. Collected keys and went to unit at 1.30pm. On arrival the room had not been cleaned. Phoned after hours manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate C
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Weekends we are open from 9 am - 12 Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately we were late that day to complete all our house keeping duties and apologies for the delay in your apartment not being ready. 90% of the time we have all apartments ready by 2 pm for check in. Thanks for your review Regards William

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These wonderful apartments were recommended by my travel agency and did not fail to disappoint. The service provided by the owners and staff was exemplary. Meals can be ordered in or takeaway from wide variety of cuisine within a easy walking distance. Rooms are very clean, spacious with full facilities including a dishwasher, oven, washing machine and even a cloths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hi Janet.......thank you for choosing to stay with us.......was a pleasure Regards William

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here December 2016. Started in Apartment 1001 which had no working blinds in 2 of the three bedrooms rooms. This was a 3 bedroom apartment. After complaining about this we were moved to Apartment 907. This apartment had curtains in the bedrooms however 2 of these we inadequate and falling off the tracks. Furniture in this apartment was filthy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie591
Hazelwood North
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sebel is the best apartment I have stayed at. It was spacious, clean, modern facilities and we were lucky we had fantastic views. On our stay we were able to whale watch from the balcony, it has a great swimming pool and bbq area and ths staff were very friendly. We were able to get a good price and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don W
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and more importantly choosing us to stay with. Glad we have met your expectations William

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a 2-bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment is facing the beach (as I believe all apartments are in this building) so has a pretty nice view. Big open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area, rooms are on the smaller side but good enough for sleeping. Good size balcony with outdoor dining table. Washing machine/dryer in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthj
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing some of the issues you experienced to our attention as we do try hard to respond and rectify as quick as we can. Thanks for choosing the Sebel to stay at while in Coolangatta Regards William

Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A great location & friendly service, our start to our beach holiday for the last week of school holidays was excellent. Our 7th floor unit was perfectly located with ocean views that don't disappoint. The unit was clean & well equipped for our 5 night stay. A great pool, very family friendly. A fantastic spot to holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
sebelcoolangatta, General Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your comments, much appreciated Regards William

Auburn, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Comfortable amenities, casual, relaxed ambience with convenient location beside the ocean. Spectacular 180 degree views from extensive balcony, perfect for whale spotting! Family vacation with four generations, was a most memorable long weekend with evening cocktails and music on the balcony. Watch the wind; it whipped up and whistled round us, so were unable to enjoy the balcony as much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howard_ahno

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.7 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
380 reviews
0.5 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
840 reviews
1.0 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.8 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,002 reviews
0.6 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $218 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors would have less traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles 686katya, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Debbie591, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get as high as possible”
 of 5 bubbles donw336, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for level 6 or higher to get a better beach/ocean view.”
  • View from the balcony on a level 6 apartment
 of 5 bubbles anthj, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check prevailing wind, as it gets blustery on the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles howard_ahno, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5