We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Eungella Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Eungella Chalet
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Eungella Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2014

This is an old property and is something a bit run down. The view is very good and looks out over the mountain and valley. I guess if you want a simple pub style experience it is fine but for anyone else it will dissapoint. Food was pretty ordinary and service the same. I probably wont go back.

Helpful?
Thank Cybs60
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! Yes The Chalet is an old building that is part of it's character & charm. We have had many compliments about the on going restoration, changes and improvements. We do provide Cabin accommodation which may have been more to your liking. Yes we have a Pub style menu which is cooked to order &... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We stayed in room 15 in the chalet for one night for $115. The room was well presented, clean and functional with a walk in robe and ensuite and the usual amenities (fridge,tea,coffee etc). #15 is right above the stage so i wouldn't recommend it if there is a live band playing. The room has the most amazing views, from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Neata54
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your view, we are glad you enjoyed your stay & the character of The Chalet. The stage down stairs in rarely used. Our musician play at Sunday lunch time either on the deck or outside on the top terrace area. We do try to inform our guests if we have a function booked and are expecting a... More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked a cabin at this chalet sight unseen at $150 per night. It was suggested to us by the staff that the hotel accommodation (at $115 per night) could be noisy on the Friday night because of a weekend function. If we had inspected this accommodation before checking in and paying, with check in time set at 2pm, it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MaryBU1596GE
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff had suggested a cabin to hopefully make your stay quiet and comfortable as on a Friday hotel rooms can be a little noisier. Check in time at most Hotel is 2pm. Eungella has several other accommodation options within walking distance to The Chalet and the... More 

Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Let me preface by saying we had very low expectation for our accommodation; we knew going into it that it was un-renovated. Our only expectation was that it would be outdated but clean and as long as there was a fire we would be happy! We LOVE Eungella, and usually stay at the Broken River Resort but our budget only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emseedubya
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your statement. We always appreciate feedback however you will no longer have to endure a non renovated cabin. This cabin has been repainted, new kitchen equipment and furniture has been purchased. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Quaint cabins with amazing views from the front facing ones (Units 1 and 2 I think), they are older style but have everything you need - wouldn't recommend if your wanting a luxurious stay, but for our short weekend getaway it was perfect. Fireplace was great, as we stayed in winter and it was freezing! They supply a small amount... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly8
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Aside from the view from the restaurant this place has nothing to offer (same view also seen from a lookout down the street). We stayed in the motel type rooms upstairs. Dark musty smelling corridors with pipes running along the walls and rooms with 1960's decor. Mostly unhelpful staff who were unprepared to go out of their way to help.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 650henry123
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Chalet was built in 1934, part of it's character in staying in this lovely old building is enduring and enjoying it's old design. Many clients enjoy staying in The Chalet and the experience of it's old style ambience. Sorry you didn't like it. We do have a high standard of cleaning however in the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently stayed in a cabin at Eungella Chalet. The location could not be faulted, being at the top of the range road. The chalet bar had fabulous views over the Pioneer Valley, and the hang glider launching pad. There were National Park walks beginning right next door. It was also central for a driving tour of the Eungella district.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marie N
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Go for the view but eat before you get there, we had chicken soup which tasted like it was straight out of the can with some extra chicken added. Also watery tasteless pumpkin soup at a cost of $13. The saving item were the wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce.

Helpful?
2 Thank Harperfive
Pomona Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We recently had an overnight stay in the hotel. It was a lovely experience with spectacular views from our window. The hotel is best appreciated when seen in the context of its interesting history. My husband has fond memories of staying there as a child in the 1950s. It is not 5 star and its rates are in keeping with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MaJon80
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The chalet isn't 5 star, but the rooms are acceptable they are older and a bit musty, but we weren't expecting much more. We found the staff friendly and the food on the hotel was good pub food. The location and views were great

Helpful?
2 Thank judeandtrev

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
2.1 km away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
73.7 km away
Potters Oceanside Motel
68.4 km away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.0 km away
Kohuna Beachside Resort
Kohuna Beachside Resort
#1 of 1 in Bucasia
14 reviews
76.0 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
69.8 km away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eungella Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins 1 2 3 4 one bedroom really great view. bit of a walk to carpark is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles VeronicaK557, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins 1 & 2 have unhindered views of the valley but all cabins have lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles 972vickig, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with views out the front.”
  • Dusk view from Eungella Chalet
 of 5 bubbles brightonchris1, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“check it first”
 of 5 bubbles Cybs60, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“In winter, a cabin with a fireplace is a must!”
  • Cabin no. 1
  • Breakfast with a view
  • Landscape view from the Chalet
  • View from outside the cabin, overlooking the Chalet
 of 5 bubbles Tigerlilly8, 26 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5