We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Camden, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Windmill motel for work. The rooms were older but very clean, comfortable and cosy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were a good size. The staff both in the morel reception and the restaurant were super friendly and the whole place had a "family feel' about it. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gatremma
Management response:

Dear gatremma, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We understand when travelling how important it is nice to stay somewhere where you feel welcome and comfortable and I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I certainly hope in the future we might get a chance to welcome you back! Kind...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Very clean, comfortable stay at the Windmill Motel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided exceptional service. Good location, convenient to the main road but far enough away to be quiet. Lovely setting beside the waterway which is nice for a walk. Convenient, undercover parking directly outside. Our room was spotlessly clean and had all the amenities we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 259HappyTraveller
Management response:

Dear 259HappyTraveller, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us, Our staff will be delighted with your feedback! Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the windmill for a friends wedding and loved the place. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was quite large and perfect for our family. All the staff were friendly and the managers were easy to talk to and if there was anything wrong would fix the problem (like our air con that was leaking the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

The room was very nice, clean, tidy, spacious and we'll appointed. Staff were friendly and courteous. The restaurant was very nicely set out and pleasant with an outdoor dining area at the front with a nice water feature/ fountain and gardens. The meals were very nice and fresh. Unfortunately the room only had one small window and the veranda area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
New Zealand
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, very friendly staff which is always great to see. We were pleasantly surprised to have a complimentary room upgrade which had a bed configuration which suited our teenage children better. The motel is near some big department stores such as Harvey Norman, Super A Mart etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Queenslander2013
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2016

My wife and I have stayed in many motels in the past few weeks and would have to rank the Windmill Motel as the best. Our room was spacious, light, clean, well appointed and quiet. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and linens of excellent quality. The bathroom included a large bath. We overlooked the lake and lawn from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BandJNoosa
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Company booked me into this place and now I have advised them never again. All i wanted to do is go to my room and then to the restuarant for a quite drink and nice meal. The older barman couldn't get my order right when ordering a simple drink. Sat a quite table looking into the kitchen saw a cockroach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rochelle b
WindmillMotel, Manager at Windmill Motel & Reception Centre, responded to this review

We appreciate your feed back Rochelle , however, prior to your stay with us our establishment had been fumigated & treated by a licensed Pest controller to comply with the high standards we offer. Strangely enough we can not seem to find your name and your stay with us in the previous 6 months. We hope this review is genuine...

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I really like this motel, I have found the owners & staff to be really friendly, helpful & obliging! The room is very comfortable. The restaurant has a varied menu & the two different meals I've had so far have both been great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We have lived in Mackay for several years and have now moved away. We required accommodation for one night so chose The Windmill for its proximity to the Mater Hospital but we will never stay there again. The room was very tired, TV reception was poor, main light wasn't working, there was no outlook, the room only had one window...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Habana195
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Last night we went to the Windmill for pre-wedding meal tastings. Could not find a fault service was friendly and helpful. We had a 3 course meal, portion size was excellent and the food was amazing. Can't wait for our wedding in April it will be an enjoyable night for everybody Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Windmill

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andym1990

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.0 km away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#25 of 34 in Mackay
40 reviews
7.1 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
6.0 km away
Ocean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Paradise Motel
Paradise Motel
#16 of 34 in Mackay
18 reviews
0.9 km away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
19 reviews
3.2 km away
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#22 of 34 in Mackay
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: $93 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Windmill Motel & Reception Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If challenged by stairs, request a ground floor room on booking”
 of 5 bubbles niknod2, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms at the rear overlook the waterway”
 of 5 bubbles 259HappyTraveller, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Apartments across the road have a good view but a good set of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Vicky4878, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs and downstairs rooms. Downstairs rooms are easier to access”
 of 5 bubbles Henwood1, 7 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Apartments across the road are better but overly expensive. Single rooms near the conference venue could get a bit noisy (weddings, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles jockg2013, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay