We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn Accommodation

Visit hotel website
Traveller (316)
Room & Suite (136)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
The Barn Accommodation features generously proportioned suites set amongst five acres of carefully manicured English style gardens. The majority of the accommodation has been constructed from Mount Gambier Limestone since 2009 and offers high quality amenities and a quiet country experience, just 5 mins from the regional capital of Mount Gambier. There are a myriad of stunning attractions for guests to explore in the region and of course the opportunity to dine at the award winning Barn Steakhouse.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 209
  • 55
  • 12
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed one night en-route from the Great Ocean road to Adelaide. The hotel has lovely landscaped gardens. There is a range of room options -we had the most 'basic' unit and it was like a corporate hotel/motel. It was well equipped, modern and very clean. The shower was
Read more
Started off with a - dont care attitude from the 2 ladies on reception.. Damn sure I wouldn't employ them Room was really average for the price we paid and the shower looked like it was from the 90's. Wouldnt recommend this place.
Read more
Response from Kent C, Manager at The Barn Accommodation
Responded 1 week ago
Hi SamboLeeLee, I do apologise that the welcome you received was not of the usual warmth. A 'don't care' attitude is something that we do not accept. The room that you selected our 2 br apartment indeed was erected in the 90s, the bathroom that you reference is slated for a renovation this year, which by chance is one of the last two rooms to be fully refurbished on the property. Best regards, Kent Comley
Read more
We needed three bedrooms as we were travelling as a family so we booked the Farm, which we discovered lay several hundred metres away from the main Barn complex over a fairly busy road. First impressions suggested that we had made a good choice - lovely rural location, good
Read more
Stayed for one night only in a standard Queen room. Didn’t realize that it was in the “older” part of the establishment with no character compared to the rest of the motel. However room nicely decorated but in great need of some decent pillows. Flat and lumpy! Also VERY thin
Read more
Response from Kent C, Manager at The Barn Accommodation
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for your review Harry. Our Deluxe and Premier Kings have all been constructed within the last decade and are extremely quiet due to their double stone walls. Thanks for your comment re the pillows - I will investigate this further. Best regards, Kent Comley
Read more
Extremely quiet (even with Christmas parties and full capacity), and great rooms of a good size. Best accommodation in Mount Gambier and not that far out of town. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Bathroom view
Amenities in room
Many thanks for your enquiry. Can you advise how many people at what time and confirm that it is Friday.
0 votes
Show all answers
I think you meant to contact the restaurant,I am a reviewer.But I can tell you this,you won't get a better steak,absolutely delicious!!!
0 votes
We are 20 minutes from the airport Greg.
0 votes
"be aware that this property is some way from the main complex"
"Get a room with a garden view but in spring or summer for best views"
"Don’t book"
"Get a room away from the road."
"Book early if going to function."
US$95 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the barn hotel mount gambierbarn accommodation mount gambier
AustraliaSouth AustraliaMount Gambier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing