We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Regent

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commodore Regent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Start your review of Commodore Regent
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for one night at the Commodore Regent. When we drove to the reception, I was concerned about my high car fitting under the roof. The gentleman behind the counter came out and said we can drive straight up to the top, but just to watch for cars coming the other way. He was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wogaridginee
Canberra
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff very helpful, room has everything you need and generally clean but bathroom very dated and shower was pretty dirty. Nice views and across the road is the lovely city park. Short walk into town and lots of restaurant options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Amy and thanks for your feedback, I'm glad we were able to assist you during your stay. If you can let me know which room you were in I can have look at the shower - our standard rooms are quite a lot older and it's certainly a lot harder work to keep the small tiles in great shape...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

No service on public holidays Room service only included making the bed No cleaning of cups or dusting No fresh towels available on non-service days Linen not changed at all over the 5 day stay The bathroom has no shelf in the shower

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiiingers
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Good afternoon Fiiingers and thanks for your feedback. I was one of the staff who worked over the Easter Weekend of your stay and I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a great experience. On check-in for the Easter weekend, all guests were provided with a welcome letter indicating that we would not be servicing on Good Friday or...

Pennant Hills, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly atmosphere and a short walk into the centre of town. Rooms are fairly spacious but some are more modern than others. The restaurant is good - The seafood is fresh and well cooked. Wine list good - some good Tasmanian whites on the list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikefor01
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Mike and thanks for your review, We are really lucky to be able to showcase the best Tasmanian food and wine and glad you enjoyed your stay. We have our last 9 rooms being upgraded this winter so we look forward to showing them to you on your return visit! Safe travels Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was easy to book online, with lovely friendly staff, a clean comfy room, necessary amenities and close enough to everything we needed. Staff were very helpful with ideas on things to do both locally and further afield.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynB777
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi LynB777 and thanks for your review We LOVE Launceston and know that the information we impart can make a huge difference to your trip. Glad we were able to help and hope to see you soon. Many thanks Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very welcoming, very knowledgeable in the area. Hotel room was warm, comfortable. If we come back to Launceston we will be booking here again. Close to the town, and had fun at the monkey park. Great home AWAY from home

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks Ben for your review We do try and offer a personalized service and are glad to have made your stay comfortable on this occasion. Looking forward to your next visit, Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying for two nights over the V8 Supercar weekend and on check in found Simon's customer service to be outstanding. Nothing was too hard. Suggestions and directions for local pubs restaurants, he even helped make bookings for the bus trip. Thank you Simon, Well done 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twowok
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hello Twowok and thanks for your review We are really glad you had a great trip in Launceston and that we could use our local knowledge to get you to the event. It was good that Tasmania's Own Redline were running a free bus service in partnership with the V8 Supercars. We will advise our guests for next year as...

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very disappointed. Our coffee mugs were dirty, our coffee spoons were stuck together with old coffee stain. The toilet seat kept sliding off the toilet pedestal. Black chairs were dusty. Air con did not work. A very big hole/dent in the wall. If we had booked a two or three star place I would not have expected better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shevaun L
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Shevaun, As we haven't heard from you directly during your stay or afterwards regarding the comments you've made, I'll request that in order to address these issues you could contact us at the property so we can investigate. With a regular maintenance person and a team of housekeepers, these issues should not happen and I'd like to discuss it...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband had been unwell so we had to skip some of our trip and head for Launceston where we had not planed to spend as long as we did. We are very glad we choose the Commodore Regent. We had a lovely clean renovated room in the middle block of the complex on the second floor and stayed three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Wendy W. We hope that your husband is feeling rested and better. It's important to all our front office staff to try and make a difference to our guests. Our local knowledge is really high and we love sharing it. I'll pass on to reception how this made a difference to your stay and we hope...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights recently and found it to be acceptable without being stunning. It was close to the center of the city and allowed easy access to wherever we wanted to go. We were able to walk to both local eateries and also down to Boags Brewery for a tour we had organised in advance - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Ian and thanks for your review It's great you were able to stay with us in the midst of this great Tasmanian city. When you stay with us next, let me know and I'll make sure we pick a great room for you. Safe travels Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
0.4 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.4 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,285 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $85 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Regent
Launceston Comfort Inn
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Regent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at back have new bathrooms”
Fiiingers, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room number 30 or above for more modern decor.”
Mikefor01, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room, which was at the rear of the complex, was quiet and had a view of sorts over some of the city. Depends what you are looking for”
ianj569, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Recommended ground room”
lillypilly72, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in front row have lovely sky and park views but do have more traffic noise”
alikat19, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5