We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillview House

Orbitz.comUS$66*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillview House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Start your review of Hillview House
 Click to rate
Oyster Cove, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Jenny the manager of the place was delightful and friendly which was the one nice thing about the stay. We felt we did not get good value for money. Our room was small and the shower clean but stained, the water ran hot and cold the whole time we both tried to shower. The room had peeling wall paper and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mmaxine
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Maxine Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hillview House. I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your room size and condition. The heritage property was built in the mid nineteenth century and of course such buildings require on-going maintenance and repairs and we are constantly looking to improve our property...

Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful house, well situated, near the center of the town. My room was cosy, quiet and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Good continental breakfast, but from 7:30AM to 8:30AM, amybe it's a little soon during holidays. Staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel3192
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Isabel I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Hillview House. We are committed to providing guests with the best possible experience coupled with the old world charm of a nineteenth century B&B. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and have noted your suggestion about extended breakfast times. Thank you...

Bellerive
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Reading some of the reviews I wonder if I stayed at the same place. We were met on arrival by Jenny, who was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean, the bed very comfortable. Sure the bathroom is small, but it was clean and the shower was lovely and hot and shampoo and conditioner were provided. The continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas C
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Dallas Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It is always satisfying to hear from guests who have clearly enjoyed their experience with us. We pride ourselves on creating a welcoming and warm atmosphere in a traditional B&B setting. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Jackie Reservations Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I chose this place purely on the photographs and memory of years ago when it used to be one of my favourite buildings in Launceston. Well, traveller beware !!!!! This place is a health hazard and is so run down and uncared for it is a disgrace and why the B&B inspectors have not closed it down is a mystery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willow17knight
Katherine
Reviewed 24 March 2017

From first appearances this looks like a lovely old building. The service was average at best a bit unprofessional. The room was very well presented but there was dust and dirt in lots of places could use a spring clean from top to bottom. My bed was the comfiest of all the places I slept in the week I spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hillview House Colin. I was pleased to hear that you had a great night's rest which is so important when travelling. We recently fitted all rooms with new mattresses and the general feedback has been extremely positive. I have noted your comments regarding both the condition of the...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I was somewhat concerned about this booking given the reviews. However for the price and location it was all ok. Was met by a friendly young girl and she wasned o around also at breakfast. I only stayone night. The hall carpet appeared to be newish and the carpet in my room was also new/clean. On my departure day the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your stay and thank you for your time to write this review. We are trying our best to make Hillview House a better place for people to stay.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was an average stay. Not the best B&B experience. Positives Nice size room for the three of us staying in one room. Good location close to city centre and Cataract Gorge (if you are driving) Parking free on the nearby streets. Clean sheets and linen. Good continental breakfast. Negatives The bedhead was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your time to write the review. We will try to rectify the points that you had in this review and hope your next with us is a much better one.

Invermay, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the accommodation in early January and must say that the property is very run down and in need of many safety issues, would not recommend anyone to stay here In the future as there are a lot more adequate places to stay in the Launceston area. Please stay well clear of this accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tastrav
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. We will try our best to improve our service.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Due to a long drive we arrived at 8.15pm, the key was in the letterbox. When we got up in the morning and went to the dining room, the breakfast was all laid out. Still no one to greet us, breakfast was very basic. Our front room was very stuffy and the window had not been open for a while....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob B
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Rob Thanks very much for your review and feedback. I am sorry for your bad experience here with us. I apologize I wasn't here in House as I have been away. We will try our best to make Hillview House a better place for our dear guests to stay. Jenny

Yrrawonga
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is a very poor example of Tasmanian B&B's, lovely old property very poorly maintained. Although is a great location it offers little else. Their promotions states car parking is available, however there are only 3 very tight spaces for the 10 rooms. All in all a very disappointing experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion/Barry P

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
494 reviews
0.9 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#13 of 30 in Launceston
231 reviews
1.1 km away
TRC Hotel
TRC Hotel
#21 of 31 in Launceston
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Mews Motel
The Mews Motel
#9 of 31 in Launceston
51 reviews
0.6 km away
Hi George
Hi George
#6 of 31 in Launceston
105 reviews
0.3 km away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#7 of 31 in Launceston
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hillview House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you get the ground floor if you have luggage very steep stairs”
  • tv very small and ensuite
  • bedroom
Mmaxine, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room. Steep steps up to the second level.”
MelissaW41, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not use this property”
marionbarryp, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor. The room walls are thin, so any noise made, is shared throughout the floor.”
jeffmY148NL, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor for best views”
possumtan981, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$68
TripAdvisorUS$66
Booking.comUS$68
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates