We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Launceston Backpackers

Agoda.comUS$33*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$39*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$35*
US$35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Launceston Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Launceston Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We all 4 people had great meals we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals staff were great great prices great atmosphere. Great variety. Clean tidy. A must to come and eat. We did not stay here but meals are worrth the mention.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Minnie F
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Minnie, but you may have reviewed the wrong place. We are not a pub and we do not serve meals. If you did stay at Lauceston Backpackers then thank you for staying and safe traveling.

Northern Alberta
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We stayed for almost three weeks at this backpackers and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's within walking distance of the CBD and grocery stores are near by. The room was clean and quiet and everything worked. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the local cat did a great job of meet and greet. The only downside is that it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorri W
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lorri, thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers. We appreciate you noticing that we clean the kitchen regularly throughout the day. Your comment about the WiFi is also worrying us as we have been having far more trouble with it since we have been forced onto the new N.B.N. system. Thank you for letting us know and we will...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 November 2014

Having been to many hostels elsewhere, Tasmania doesn't really have the best standard of backpacking accommodation. Launceston Backpackers was unfortunately still a letdown in spite of lowered expectations. Check-in timings were rather unflexible, and counter staff were generally not helpful or interested at all. Couldn't give food recommendations around the area. Couldn't be bothered to give directions to where our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank detour627
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2014

I had a double room. The place was not that far from the town centre. It was clean and well run. Not far from the supermarket. Facilities clean and well maintained. It had its own car park. WiFi available at small additional cost

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buskerboy
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello buskerboy, thank you for taking your time to give Launceston Backpackers your good review. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities. We have a good cleaner and we work hard at ensuring the backpackers is kept tidy and clean. Safe travelling.

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

I got this backpacker from the tour pick up list. The environment of the backpacker is very spacious and it has a good location. Supermarket is nearby which is a 5-min walk. The rooms are okay with neat and clean linens. It's good that there is a heater top on the ceiling, though it's centrally controlled. The shower room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherrytky
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Cherrytky, thank you for your review. We are not sure what noise you heard. It could have been a noise from one of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed meeting one of our staff who does a lot of cooking. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

I was staying in female dorm, room is huge compare with those i stayed at Hobart before. Bed frames are very sturdy, bed sheet is clean and the heather worked very well. Large shower rooms with very hot water. Kitchen is huge and well equipped but the oven was not working. Need to pay extra money for wifi and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloraMicRicky
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Flora, thanks for your 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms. We have just reduced the price of WiFi to $1:50 per hour. The oven you mentioned is always working it is just a bit tricky to turn on. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on my own whilst on a road trip around Tassie. Got a room with 2 single beds to myself. Room met my needs, good common room and kitchen area. Secure carparking right out the front door. Bathroom clean and showers okay. Walking distance to CBD area, 24 hours convenience store couple blocks away to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRB651
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Ipswich, thank you for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your Tasmanian trip.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This backpackers is huge, but the communal dining room, kitchen and TV room are spacious enough to accommodate most guests (although I wasn't there when the hostel was full!) These communal areas were well heated, however I found my bedroom quite cold. A panel heater was suspended from the ceiling over the bed (very bizarre) but it was connected to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kristen B, I will check which room you were in. You may have been in a room with an old panel heater, if so we will replace it if it is not working efficiently. Yes we do have signs about not using your own heaters, we do this to help minimize the fire risk. After 24 years in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014

went here in late july on a cold wet day. everyone was friendly and rooms were clean, the amenities are good and the place is huge. one tip is bring your own blankets, you can hire blankets from the reception and the price is ok for them, you will need them in winter though. I'm sure in the summer it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt19900
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matt19900 thanks for your review. We are glad you good nights sleep. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night, but I thought the staff was friendly and the place was clean. The only thing I would say is that you have to bring some serious blankets, because the building really retains cold air! Freezing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Evelyn, thanks for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. It is a good idea to grab a few blankets in winter. For 50 cents customers can take as many blankets as they like. All the bedrooms have heaters which come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. Safe travelling.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,299 reviews
0.3 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
346 reviews
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $25 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You need to rent out Blanket and linen for $3.5 as bed is not made”
603fuu_, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“En-suite room”
Steph618, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are cooler in summer.”
GeoffAH, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they put you in a room you paid for :)”
652elienv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For privacey and a peaceful nights sleep, reserve a private room which comes with a queen size bed. Some of the private rooms even have en-suites. These rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth the price. They book up fast, so reseve early.”
nmleo, 24 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$35
Hotels.comUS$35
Booking.comUS$39
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates