We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hideaway on George

Save
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (11)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cooked breakfast”(15 reviews)
“usual place”(2 reviews)
“centre of town”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hideaway on George
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
79
74
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
79
74
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastusual placecentre of townoff street parkingexcellent showerhot and cold breakfaststeep drivebacon and eggsbreakfast room isfollowing morningstaff were welcomingground floorupstairs roomtown clockbig bathroomnice breakfastdecent size
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

We arrived mid afternoon to find reception closed, however a key and contract was left in an envelope. All tourist information was in reception so impossible to get to and there was none in our room either. The room, number 5, was in the loft...More

1  Thank Patrick N
Response from Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded March 16, 2018

Good morning Patrick, First of all, we are SO SORRY you experienced such service. Second of all, you may be happy to know Fiona's on George changed hands in July 2017 and we are now Hideaway on George, run by Clare & Bart. All of...More

Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

This is more hotel than b&b. We stayed in one of the suites...room 4, which was large and spacious. There was a hot breakfast option of bacon and eggs alongside cereal and toast. The beds were comfy, shower powerful, and beautifully clean.

Thank Garden_Design_By_JC
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, hot cooked breakfast, frig in the room, views over the city from our spacious second floor unit, well fluffed pillows, and private entrance. Location was good. Colors in the room and furnishings were tasteful. Breakfast staff was efficient and accommodating. Missed...More

Thank Feenixwest
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Ok the bed was clean and comfortable. That's the end of the positives. We arrived to find the key in an envelope with a terse note explaining the regulations and the fines for not complying. No welcome note. Found the room, the carpets were dirty...More

1  Thank Julie R
Response from Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded March 16, 2018

Good morning Julie, First of all, we are extremely sorry on behalf of the old owners, that you experienced such service and that the property was in such a poor state when you chose to stay. Second of all, you may be happy to know...More

Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Arrived at Fiona's at 5.15, reception was closed and keys were left in envelope outside reception. We unlocked the room to find the room had not been cleaned, bed was in disarray and left the way the previous occupants left it, rubbish, strong smell of...More

1  Thank tassiedevil69
Response from Clare F, Manager at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded April 18, 2018

Hi tassiedevil69, We are so sorry to hear that you had such an experience and that not only did you receive such poor hospitality, but were threatened with homelessness when asking for a refund, instead of having your issues addressed. In July 2017, my partner...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Launceston
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SusanFan
January 21, 2018|
Answer
Response from Clare F | Property representative |
Hi Susanfan, Both of our 2 bedroom townhouses have been renovated in the last 6 months. They have undergone a very modern transformation with a full refurbishment. Thanks for the enquiry. We look forward to welcoming you... More
1
Vote
Tutti04
September 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clare F | Property representative |
Hi Tutti04, We have indeed undergone a management change and subsequent name update too! There is no minimum stay as a rule, although this may change during peak times. If you have any further questions, we would love to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"With single glazed windows. The Launceston "clock tower" could impact your sleep."
Read review
"choose the newly renovated two bedroom apartment if you are a family for four to five."
Read review
"go on top floor where we stayed bottom floor sounded like an elephant walking across the room"
Read review
"It is lovely area and close enough to walk into the shopping areas."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing