We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (1)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“private hotel”(14 reviews)
“former convent”(12 reviews)
“cataract gorge”(53 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Wheelchair Access
Private Balcony
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Auldington
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
192
145
41
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
192
145
41
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hotelformer conventcataract gorgemanager jamescommunal balconynice cafelovely old buildinglarge bathguest loungeboutique hotelpriced mini barthird floorspa roomcity view roomexecutive suitetop floorgreat bathroom
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Soooooo disappointed. Booked a spa room as I have a crappy bath at home. First night away from children with my husband in 2-3years. Checked in and discovered no spa. Mentioned it more than once and the guy said he would look into it. Never...More

1  Thank jestar85
Response from James M, General Manager at AuldingtonResponded 1 January 2018

Hello Jetstsr85. I'm very disappointed to read your review and I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, especially because we had discussed this over the phone yesterday and you did not indicate that there were any ongoing issues. As we stated,...More

Reviewed 16 December 2017

Stayed at The Auldington for two nights, as something different and in a different location around Launceston. A very quiet refitted older building, very quaint but with modern amenities. The staff were helpful and had time to assist with your queries. There is also a...More

Thank Craigp0017
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Greeted with friendly service and relaxed in a spacious two room accommodation. Very functional set up. Views over town from the balcony and large bay windows. Reception willing to help with requests. Will be back and recommend to others.

Thank jack s
Reviewed 13 December 2017

After a stressful year we needed a bit of R and R and decided to go to Launceston as we had never visited that part of Tasmania before. We chose the Auldington Hotel and what a good choice it was! It was like staying in...More

Thank cherobert
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

The Auldington is a very comfortable hotel as it has recently been refurbished. The clientele are older which is why it is suitable as a quieter hotel. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The only issue we had was that the breakfast was slightly...More

Thank Julie C
View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Launceston, Australia
See all 30 hotels in LauncestonSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Auldington staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't worry about the hot tub. They are ancient and not worth the extra cost."
Read review
"Request a room with a city view"
Read review
"A room facing over the city"
Read review
"With asking for a city view room, lovely view to enjoy with a glass of wine!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing