We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Geelong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Geelong
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,186: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Presented at a client seminar and it was ok but not amazing. Only had one lapel microphone but we had 4 different presenters so this meant some shuffling. The 'AV' guy was not an 'IT' guy which was his reason for not being able to provide the assistance we needed, although he was the only help we had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy954
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

From the archaic elevators, the tired lobbies, cracks in walls, on again off again air conditioning, driveways with cars blocking most entrances and absolutely abysmal service levels in the restaurant this is so far removed from what you expect at an Accor hotel you shouldn't even bother.... They are more interested in functions than paying guests... And whenever I complained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woftam66
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear woftam66. Thank you for your recent stay at the Mercure Geelong. Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was not a positive one. We care very much about our guest and the team and it is certainly very disappointing to read that you feel this is not the case. We will continue to work diligently to provide the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we had a really bad experience at the Mercure in Geelong. Generally the place is tired, but it is in a great position, and very close to the party we were going to. I however don't usually complain about tired, as long as the place is clean and has basic working amenities. Not the case with this place! Firstly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gep67
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear gep67. Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We strive to ensure all guests have a positive time with us and I sincerely apologise that it was not the case in your experience. I was very disappointed to read of the issues you encountered. There are a number of concerns you noted that are well below an...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room worn and tired, carpet stained, pillows old and dirty. A very annoying rattle in the A/C vent kept me awake. I asked for this to be fixed but it wasn't. Slept with ear plugs. Bathroom great. Ideally situated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle P
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Gayle. Thank you for your recent visit and your review. We aim to ensure all guests have a great stay and I sincerely apologise that we fell short of the mark in a number of areas. Most certainly we should have responded to your concerns in a more effective way. Rest assured that I will work diligently with the...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is old, dull and outdated, The carpet is stained and the decor is just depressing .The bar should be on the 6th/7th floor overlooking beautiful Corio Bay. Coffee machine in rooms ok, beds great, staff fabulous, parking efficient and vicinity is perfect. More negatives than positives . Please save this hotel someone. Its my ecsape town I love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliekI4093HN
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Juliekl4093HN. Many thanks for your recent stay and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to read of the positive aspects of your stay and very nice to note your fondness of our region. We aim to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and I sincerely apologise for the areas where we...

Ararat, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed here last week during a family members hospital stay. It is within easy walking distance of the major hospitals in Geelong CBD. The hotel was once a gem but is now looking very tired. The room was spacious and lovely but the carpet was very stained and dirty and did not look like it had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samandon1408
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Samandon1408. Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and your review. While it’s pleasing to note you enjoyed some aspects of your stay I sincerely apologise that there are also some concerns you noted. We are constantly evaluating our guest feedback for areas requiring focus and your review will very much assist the process. Thank you...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 479geoffh
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 717 a very nice clean room and a good bed the staff very friendly and the evening meal in the restaurant was good but the breakfast was only fair the bacon was that tough you could not eat it that was the only fault we had Will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chubby
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here on a mystery booking, helpful staff on check in and had a nice dip in the spa the pool had not been checked for a long time. Went out for tea and got engaged. Over all a good night stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda V
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda. Congratulations on your engagement. It’s lovely to read that we were involved in a small way on your big night. Very best wishes for the future. Kind regards Phil O’Brien General Manager

Wollongong
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Mercure Geelong for work and found it a good basic hotel. More importantly, staff were very friendly. It's fairly central, good secure onsite parking and the view from my room was great. I didn't use onsite facilities like the restaurant but their in house bar was very pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodandTravel007
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear FoodandTravel007 Thank you for your recent visit and review. It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay and your time in Geelong We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Phil O’Brien General Manager

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 24 in Geelong
643 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 24 in Geelong
102 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
1.5 km away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#12 of 24 in Geelong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Price Range: $132 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Geelong staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Perth, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Geelong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the Air-Conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles WW_Traveller023, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms weren't the problem it was the dining experience or lack of.”
 of 5 bubbles _erniemck, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“In room 713 you only get partial water views”
 of 5 bubbles JasonT305, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We've used this hotel a few times now - so far each room has been good so hard to suggest anything specific to request.”
 of 5 bubbles 488KellyH, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't be put off by the dreary exterior, rooms are large and bathrooms modern”
 of 5 bubbles themagstar, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay