We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ritz for Backpackers

    169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    US$93
    US$46
    SAVE US$47
    US$93
    Traveller (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent37%
    • Very good11%
    • Average11%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible25%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Internet
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (136)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 126 reviews

    Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

    Stayed at the ritz for backpackers in both dorms and a private. Had a great time, but have to say that asking $585 for a week in a private room is extortion and taking advantage of backpackers who have little money and no where else...More

    Thank laura1892
    Reviewed 15 October 2017

    Rooms, good value but noise is constant with slamming of doors all night particularly by cleaners in the morning. If you want sleep forget it. As previously mentioned manager showed queer behaviour by pretending to be a cleaner when he was in fact the manager...More

    Thank craigcyclist869
    Reviewed 14 September 2017

    The lady at reception was lovely and friendly. The hostel was big, and in an old building, which gave it a nice ambiance. The room itself was as expected, the bed was comfy, the room was large enough for the two of us, and it...More

    Thank arq16
    Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

    Thanks for the review. We are sorry about the fire alarm. Unfortunately one of the sensors was damaged but we have fix it already. The alarm stopped cause there was a staff member in house that after doing the security check to make sure no...More

    Reviewed 24 August 2017

    The first couple of days we had an amazing time at Ritz. They had no bar so it was okey to drink at the hostel, it was self-served pancakes in the mornings etc. The room was good and we had free, but limited Wifi. Then...More

    1  Thank ellen j
    Management response:Responded 5 September 2017

    Dear Ellen, Thanks for leaving us some feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear about then noise you experienced during your stay here. The response of the person on duty when you went to complain is completely unacceptable and does not reflect...More

    Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

    Great location and best value. Basics are there plus more freebies than I've ever seen at a hostel. (Really like how the lounge gets packed away during quiet hours so people can't party in the common area- it would be hard to sleep in some...More

    Thank Valley84
    Management response:Responded 5 September 2017

    Cheers for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all our freebies and got a good night of sleep, all out common areas are emptied at 23.00 to guarantee a good night...More

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$42 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 44
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Victoria >
    • Greater Melbourne >
    • Port Phillip >
    • St Kilda
    • Also Known As
    • Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda ,
    • Ritz St Kilda ,
    • St Kilda Ritz-Carlton ,
    • Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in St Kilda
    Art Series - The Cullen
    1,165 reviews
    1.60 km away
     
    Melbourne Parkview Hotel
    3,028 reviews
    1.35 km away
     
    Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
    670 reviews
    1.00 km away
     
    Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
    1,312 reviews
    .14 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Fitzrovia
    524 reviews
    .15 km away
    Milk the Cow
    228 reviews
    .13 km away
    Banff
    277 reviews
    .23 km away
    Mahjong Restaurant
    115 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Windsor Siding
    6 reviews
    .67 km away
    Jewish Museum of Australia
    75 reviews
    .49 km away
    Windsor Castle
    6 reviews
    .71 km away
    Linden New Art
    11 reviews
    .84 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Cold hostel but easy to live in, perfect location"
    Read review
    "If you can, avoid room 101, as it is the nosiest room of them all there. I also stayed in room 217 and it was..."
    Read review
    "Upper floors are probably a little quieter"
    Read review
    "Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing