We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
333 St Kilda Rd Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182 Australia
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Certificate of Excellence
Habitat HQ is a Victorian Tourism "Hall Of Fame" and City of Port Phillip Business of the year 2014,budget accommodation and backpacker hostel located in St Kilda, Melbourne. Options available from 4, 6, 8 & 10 bed dorms to private double and triple rooms with en-suites. Free WiFi, large kitchen, lounge, TV room, outdoor courtyard, Cheap and secure car parking with 24 hour reception. We specialize in providing budget accommodation for international and domestic travelers and groups.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Public Wifi
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi the kitchen private room bed dorm common areas trivia night long term guests tram stop cleaned daily tea and coffee we've stayed own bathroom enjoyed my stay location is great st kilda beach acland street public transport
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had to sleep 3 nights in this hostel in saint Kilda. I found it overpriced, and when I arrived to the room, everything was dirty (bathroom, room's floor) with a lot of clothes on the floor as much in the bathroom as in the...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Chantal M
Response from Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQResponded 1 week ago

Hi Chantal, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and review. I am disappointed to read that your experience was not to our usual high standard and completely sympathize with your comment about cloths on the floor. It is continual battle to...More

Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

We checked into Habitat HQ after coming from the airport and were greeted by friendly & helpful receptionist staff. Check in took 10 minutes & we then made our way to our room, we had a private triple room with a bathroom & this included...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Ciara K
Response from Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Ciara, and thank you for your great review and feedback! Next time definitely stay longer and enjoy our nightly free events. Happy and safe travels, Simone and the HHQ team

Reviewed October 30, 2018

I arrived on the evening of July 17th 2018 very tired after a long flight from Perth and a long trip from the city, when I got there I had some difficulties with the keycard to enter the room possibly due to fatigue but the...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Nigel S
Response from Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQResponded November 1, 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your stay Nigel and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Hope to have you back again soon, Simone and the HabitatHQ team

Reviewed October 17, 2018

Great staff/available 24hrs, various activities, professional backpacker environment, very clean. Parking - don't be cheap and get a ticket - just park on site. One thing turned into another and I ended up staying at this hostel for a little over 4 months. Things might...More

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank zfairhealth
Response from Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for your great review and feedback! So pleased you enjoyed it so much and you should definitely come back in Summer...StKilda sparkles then! Happy and safe travels Simone and the HHQ team

Reviewed October 14, 2018

When you’re travelling you sometimes need to find a place where you feel like home. Habitat has been this special place in my heart for over 8 months, and for sure the best hostel I ever stayed in. The beautiful people I met there became...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Emilie M
Response from Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQResponded October 17, 2018

Emilie it was definitely our pleasure to have you as our guest! We loved your beautiful smile and your dedication to the environment that matched ours!! Enjoy all your new adventures and we hope to have you back again one day, Simone and the HHQ...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Phaedra P
November 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simone E | Property representative |
Hi! Firstly Yes you can come and store your bags in our free luggage room. Check in is 2pm. We have free tea and coffee if you need to re boost and you are welcome to relax in our lounge until checkin. The SKYBUS runs from... More
Room Tips
"if you have lower back or knee problems request a bottom bunk or single bed"
Oct. 30, 2018
Read review
"Close to tram, parking, clean"
Oct. 17, 2018
Read review
"Rooms are really untidy and dirty!! Depends on your roommates but it’s disgusting"
Dec. 12, 2017
Read review
"Cheap & best"
Jul. 3, 2017
Read review
Show More 
US$47 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
habitat hq hotel st kilda
AustraliaVictoriaGreater MelbournePort PhillipSt Kilda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing