We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I booked online at one price but that was increased upon arrival. The front door for check in is unstaffed and there is nobody to call for assistance, I was just lucky somebody heard me knock to let me in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenniffer C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The staff were very pleasant and there had been some fresh painting and some new pots and pans. This hostel is rather run down and full of permanent residents.I believe, I was the only person visiting whilst on holidays. There were about 10 cardboard boxes in the room (4bed) belonging to one person. They were full of clothes, fresh, dry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lysia M
Savona, Italy
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Probably , only a big effort by management on general maintenance is duly requested , in order to come back at ancient splendours! A lot of FREE items are available for guest but , honestly , the level of cleanliness and efficiency , is very poor specially in common spaces and bathrooms!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucianoferro61
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Even for Australia its very dirty now an seems not not cleant up over the last 12 month! Dusty, betts unsanitary, black mold cover the walls and showers. The actual cleaness and state of the rooms, kitchen and the central room is totally different from the posted internet pictures. We intented to stay some days but we moved out first...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan7724
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are extremely sorry and confused that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not sure why you have given us this low rating. I have personally checked the areas you have mentioned and can not find any evidence of such things. Maybe you stayed during an extremely busy period and time and staff and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Extremely run down . Very small rooms in 4 bed dorms so small nowhere to leave your luggage / belongings .. No air con on rooms only a smell of vommit..very small and dated bathroom much like the kitchen which didn't even have an oven. Would have had more space and comfort if I was in a one man tent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EndaConway
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing a dorm bed for $27 that included free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free home made cake and coffee, free parking, free use kitchen and only 2 minutes walk to the beach and city centre. Thank you for your feedback although I do disagree with you about some points you raise or you may have given...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

The hostel is ok. You have free breakfast - so you can safe a little bit money. I stayed there a few months and it is a good place to meet people. Great area. You have to walk just 200m to the beach and in 2 min you are in the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jul C
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

I found the room (sole use) room was comfortable but besides the lack of a sink was fully functional; they had even put a heater inside to counter the cool evenings. One thing I will mention is the hostel began to shut down around 6 or 7 with a duty caretaker coming on who could only be contacting in case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seasonedaveler
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear David, It was a pleasure to meet and speak with you recently. Thank you for staying with us recently and choosing us for our great location and value offered. We are so glad you enjoyed the free upgrade to our Queen room that we offered to you at check-in as you siad you were very tired from your travels....

Reviewed 15 May 2015

Very warm welcome from really friendly and helpful staff. Didn't find any of the problems that some of the other reviews mention. Free WiFi voucher for booking online, towel, lollipop, cake and bread. Plenty of space in the dorm with lots of shelves. It was quiet at night and a super comfy bed, I did not want to get up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xrean
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We found the inn when we decided to go see the dolphins in Bunbury. My boyfriend and I had our own room and it was pretty interesting. I feel when you go to a hostile, it;s much more about the experience, not the amenities. We paid $60, had nothing stolen and were left alone. It wasn't bad at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britt J
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we came to stay at this hostel. We read a couple of negative reviews but didn't find any of the problems mentioned. The staff were really friendly and helpful when we arrived, and we immediately felt welcome. The room and the bathrooms were clean and there were two shelves per bed to keep your things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alice, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes we have had a few not so good reviews and I am glad this did not put you off from staying with us. We have many many happy guests who stay with us and it is unfortunate that it is only the very few dissatisied guests make a...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.4 km away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
604 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
350 reviews
1.2 km away
Bunbury Welcome Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
#7 of 9 in Bunbury
42 reviews
8.6 km away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
1.4 km away
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Address: 16 Clifton St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No suggestions”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“better sleep in the streets”
 of 5 bubbles thegreatestbane, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room where no-one's setting an Alarm clock !”
 of 5 bubbles humanfirst1, 23 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms near to the garden and pool table as the guests might be having party at night during the weekends, unless you are joining them too.”
  • Outside view of our room # 21
 of 5 bubbles CarolCCL, 3 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a single or double room outside to get a better sleep”
 of 5 bubbles zodiac6573, 15 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay