We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Booking.comUS$53*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here about four weeks while volunteering at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and it's a nice place to meet others. Both travellers, fellow volleys and holiday visum workers (most work in the nearby abatoir, quite the opposite of the volunteers who are protecting lives..). Staff tries to keep the place clean but with a group of about 20 young backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finch3r
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time there they where all kind and happy to help and was walking distance into town they even help you out with looking for work and close to the beach and great breakfast I had there got a pool table

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was really surprised reading some of the previous reviews of this place. A friend and I stopped over in Bunbury on the way back from MR and Wander Inn was a really welcoming hostel with super clean rooms, friendly staff and nice outdoor areas. The only pointer I would give to management is that it's really inconvenient to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine T
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wander inn, what a great stay! Just stayed for two weeks for project work in the area. First of all, my night rest, really perfect. No noise in the evening! The garden of the hostel is big and they even have a bench press with dumbles, every hostel should have this. On Sunday they organize a free bbq for everyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelle N
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had a booking, it was confirmed by e-mail. We gave a call the morning and they confirmed but we arrived at 6 pm no room for 2 was available. Staff was hopeless and they were mentioning an IT problem. Complete SHAME. I had great experience in Pemberton and Margaret river but this one is a shame.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cedricg403
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The staff were very pleasant and there had been some fresh painting and some new pots and pans. This hostel is rather run down and full of permanent residents.I believe, I was the only person visiting whilst on holidays. There were about 10 cardboard boxes in the room (4bed) belonging to one person. They were full of clothes, fresh, dry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lysia M
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have completed renovations in early 2017 and can now provide you with great accommodation at the best prices and only 2 minutes walk to the beach and city centre. We offer free breakfast, Wi-Fi, homemade cake and coffee, parking and more for you to enjoy. Some guests do stay for a longer period because they fall in...

Savona, Italy
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Probably , only a big effort by management on general maintenance is duly requested , in order to come back at ancient splendours! A lot of FREE items are available for guest but , honestly , the level of cleanliness and efficiency , is very poor specially in common spaces and bathrooms!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucianoferro61
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have completed renovations in early 2017 and can now provide you with great accommodation at the best prices and only 2 minutes walk to the beach and city centre. We offer free breakfast, Wi-Fi, homemade cake and coffee, parking and more for you to enjoy. Kind regards Ian

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Even for Australia its very dirty now an seems not not cleant up over the last 12 month! Dusty, betts unsanitary, black mold cover the walls and showers. The actual cleaness and state of the rooms, kitchen and the central room is totally different from the posted internet pictures. We intented to stay some days but we moved out first...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan7724
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are extremely sorry and confused that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not sure why you have given us this low rating. I have personally checked the areas you have mentioned and can not find any evidence of such things. Maybe you stayed during an extremely busy period and time and staff and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Extremely run down . Very small rooms in 4 bed dorms so small nowhere to leave your luggage / belongings .. No air con on rooms only a smell of vommit..very small and dated bathroom much like the kitchen which didn't even have an oven. Would have had more space and comfort if I was in a one man tent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EndaConway
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing a dorm bed for $27 that included free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free home made cake and coffee, free parking, free use kitchen and only 2 minutes walk to the beach and city centre. Thank you for your feedback although I do disagree with you about some points you raise or you may have given...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

The hostel is ok. You have free breakfast - so you can safe a little bit money. I stayed there a few months and it is a good place to meet people. Great area. You have to walk just 200m to the beach and in 2 min you are in the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jul C

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
#8 of 10 in Bunbury
48 reviews
1.1 km away
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
0.1 km away
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
6.2 km away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Address: 16 Clifton St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Price Range: $53 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No suggestions”
lucianoferro61, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“better sleep in the streets”
thegreatestbane, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room where no-one's setting an Alarm clock !”
humanfirst1, 23 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms near to the garden and pool table as the guests might be having party at night during the weekends, unless you are joining them too.”
  • Outside view of our room # 21
CarolCCL, 3 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a single or double room outside to get a better sleep”
zodiac6573, 15 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates