We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alpha Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alpha Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed with my teenage daughter and they surpassed my expectations. Spotlessly clean, super friendly and welcoming and generally a great, comfortable stay. Beds were lovely and comfortable and shower fantastic. Thankyou very much!

Helpful?
Thank JulieHeathcote
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Our team work very hard to make our guests as comfortable as they can be. We look forward to welcoming you again. Take care! Cheers, Brenda More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The owners were lovely, friendly people who made us very welcome. We had a nice clean room and there is a unique NZ theme for each room. It is in a very quiet location away from traffic, street noise.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, we enjoyed hosting you! Our team work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us, with clean and comfortable accommodation. See you next time you visit Palmy! Cheers More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Found the motel owners friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable with great beds. The bathroom left room for improvement. Having to stand in a plastic bath to have a shower was a bit uncomfortable especially as it did not have a rail to hold on to and was too scared to put any pressure on the hand basin. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank geelong_oldies
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the beds to be comfortable. We aim to give clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation. Next time you visit, please advise us that you would like a walk-in shower and we will do our best to arrange that for you. Take care. Cheers, Brenda More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I used Alpha Motor Inn as a base whilst my son attended a three day tournament at the Arena. It is wonderfully located and the hosts were very hospitable and happy to point us in the right direction for food, etc. A bonus is Columbus Coffee right on the premises. Rooms are simple but clean with all the usual extras... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Katherine, we were very happy to host you! And we are also very excited about the Columbus coffee on our premises .... great coffee, Hot Chocolate and lots of yummy food!!! Hope to see you again next year. Cheers, B. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Hi Brenda! Miss Briar here, the crew with myself Bree and our wonderful banter girlfriend Caleb! What a wonderful adventure from the get go! The phone call at 8pm three days before we came down to the 8pm arrival that Saturday night! We loved our meet and greet, you were so accompanying Brenda, smiles banter and laughs! Great room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Briar M
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Miss Briar, B and C, we did so enjoy you! I was very grateful that you did not have to see my pyjamas .... Haha!! We look forward to hosting you again! Cheers, B. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed here over the weekend. What an awesome place, Brenda the owner was out of this world "awesome" .. I loved the location and the retro vibes this place had. Right up my alley and it's safe to say the only place I will stay in Palmerston North. It's nice and clean and very well priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank calebh551
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

We did enjoy hosting you. We can see that you have a lot of fun together! We aim for our guests to have a comfortable stay and to find the units very clean. I'm impressed that you noticed!! See you next time .... when you come shopping at KMart!! More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in the family unit for one night which caters up to 6 people. They had everything we needed, a good location close to town, and the beds were probably one of the more comfortable motel beds I'd slept in. The hosts were extremely hospitable and welcoming. The only less satisfactory thing was the shower head water pressure... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaytee15
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, we are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay. That is what we try to achieve. The shower pressure .... there seems to be a problem with that shower head. We have changed it now, thank you for bringing that to our attention. Under normal circumstances, we have good shower pressure. Hope to see you next time... More 

Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016

A modestly sized 'motor inn' or motel over two floors with associated off road parking. Within easy walking distance of Palmerston's Town Centre and but a short hop to a delightful little cafe for breakfast. As I've implied, there are no'on site' dining facilities: each 'studio' IS equipped with a kitchenette and refrigerator and milk is supplied at check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank keith m
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, yes, as you have stated, we are very conveniently located. Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay. Look forward to hosing you when next you visit Palmy! Cheers, B. More 

Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We were a group of 24, one boys and one girls volleyball team that had travelled down from Auckland to stay 6 nights at the Alpha Motor Inn for the NZ Secondary Volleyball champs. Our boys stayed on one side of the motor Inn and the girls on the other. The boys stayed near the entrance of the motel in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy A
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed hosting you! We like teams who are respectful of our housekeeping ladies and our other guests. Your teams did both. Well done. And well done on winning your divisions. See you next year. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I stayed for one night, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and kitted out with everything I needed. There are beautiful bespoke murals in each room and the owner was was so nice she took me to a few of the empty rooms to share them with me. The Motel is very well... More 

Helpful?
Thank adventuress16
Brenda515, Owner at Alpha Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you! It was so good to be able to show the murals to someone who really appreciates art. Yes, the Alpha Motor Inn is very well located and an easy walk to town, a perfect stay for anyone travelling through Palmy. See you next time you are passing through! More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.2 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
303 reviews
0.1 km away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#2 of 37 in Palmerston North
110 reviews
1.1 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
0.9 km away
Quest Palmerston North Serviced Apartments
Quest Palmerston North Serviced ...
#12 of 37 in Palmerston North
83 reviews
1.0 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is friendly, well established, clean and affordable accommodation in central Palmerston North. Our accommodation includes Weka studios, with kitchenettes. Tui studios, with full cooking facilities (stoves and two plate cookers). Fantail family one bedroom, awesome kitchens (stoves) for large groups and teams. Fantail family two bedroom units, full cooing facilities (stoves) suitable for families, large groups and teams. Free Wi-Fi is available in all the units. Plenty parking available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpha Motor Inn

Address: 31 A Victoria Avenue | Behind the barber shop, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $99 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alpha Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Motor Inn Palmerston North, North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpha Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to view rooms(bathroom as well) before choosing.”
 of 5 bubbles SherylT124, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“higher floors have less unit noise”
 of 5 bubbles TaiAmosa, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for downstairs so that you don't have to carry your bags upstairs; and get rooms away from the construction site.”
 of 5 bubbles Seafergie, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay